Funny signs around the town

in #vietnam4 years ago

If you are looking for precise English in Vietnam you aren't very likely to find it. Even the places that advertise that they teach English in them normally will have at least one part of their sign that is at minimum slightly wrong. In other instances the mistakes are just humorous and you still understand what they are trying to say. Other times I think they picked the most unnecessarily flowery word from a google translate and chucked that in there.

I'm not judging as I speak almost no Vietnamese and I am happy that they simply try to have signs in English at all because they certainly are not obligated to do so.

101272584_579431506020360_3830124166669926400_n.jpg

Careful only has one "L" in it but that is ok. I just think it is funny the image that they use for it. "The camera" is obviously indicating that they have CCTV but it doesn't mean that I can't still laugh at it.

101038854_248042856533918_7472714384565862400_n.jpg

This one is actually correct but still amusing the stick figure that they chose to use. These are both from my fitness center and if you want to use the pool, there are a LOT of rules. Fair enough since it is $3 for a daily pass at this full-service gym.

100090629_188072772365232_535792918158376960_n.jpg

Homemade signs are even more fun than ones that are printed out and while it was rather evident that they were saying to stay off of the plants and remain on the footpath, their very vague wording kind of made me feel like maybe i was not meant to be in the garden at all. I already paid admission and there were loads of other people around so I presumed it was ok.

99430267_692019894675547_7884992083470057472_n.jpg

I don't think I have ever seen a sign in USA that used the word "protrude" when asking you to keep your arms inside of an area. Let's think about it though, what one word synonym makes more sense?

OgWL1zR.jpg
src

I can't take credit for this last one but it still made me laugh a bit.

Once again I want everyone to know that I am not making fun of people trying to use another language. I barely speak one of them so I'm not trying to shame anyone that tries.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabe.radke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

please litter thoughtfully! well, that's a good point actually!

I used to take pictures of bad english signs in Thailand all the time, then i just kind of got used to it. The ones that crack me up now have to have the word "crap" in them instead of crab.

ah, i remember seeing that in Thailand but have not noticed it here. Perhaps the Vietnamese are less likely to make mistakes with individual letters because they use the same alphabet as we have in English (with a ton of accent marks of course) and most of the letters even sound the same-ish.