Govember: game development sprint! Day 1 -or- I should have thought things through a little more.

in #vimmtv2 years ago

Screenshot from 2021-11-01 23-11-51.png

Whinging

What a way to start the month! Not only did I leave work late, but I had every minor inconvenience a person could have when attempting to both create a game and stream the process. I mean it ran the gambit: updates were needed to get OBS to record, the microphone was unplugged, webcam was missing, and I still don't know who put all this gin in my tonic. Ugh, sip actually the last part isn't so bad.

First step, long road

As stated before (I think) this month's goal is to create an MVP of the game Allonian Seed based on feedback and suggestions by members of this and other communities. I fell short on my goal today to have a Menu for both VR and Standard game modes, but I believe I can push the VR mode through on another day. Tomorrow I'll be creating the setup menus which features the things we're accustomed to seeing in games. Hopefully this will go quickly and I can return to the VR tasks.

Progress shots

When I first started working on the new menu (some may recall the old room menu) I wanted to start with something simple, but recognizable. So of course my first instinct was to use the Allonian Seed logo that I've used in other works. That was okay, but was missing something.

Screenshot from 2021-11-01 22-16-15.png
Logo and menu, just didn't seem right.

My next inclination was to use one of the countdown images from when I was trying to kick start the game, but instead of using a flat image I imported the scene as is from blender giving a fully 3D scene to work with. The effect was closer to what I wanted, but maybe a little too ominous.

Screenshot from 2021-11-01 22-37-47.png
spoopy isn't it?

So I turned up the lights, turn down the glow (who really likes that affect anyway?), moved the camera to our old buddy Phil, and wallah!

Screenshot from 2021-11-01 23-02-17.png
That is some good menu right there

After that I tweaked the menu to give it a little more contrast and called it good.

Future work on the Menu.

Between the Logo and the glowing eyes I played around with turning the menu in to a 3D object for use in VR, but it didn't feel quite right. Now that the Series 1 bots are all in the scene I think I'll move them around to make the VR environment more alive which I think was what was lacking in the first attempt. Also I think it would be amazing if what you see isn't a generic group picture of the bots, but only the ones the player has created. This way every players loading screen is a personal as the world within the game.

I'm excited to continue my work tomorrow and hopefully things will go more smoothly as I have dealt with a good number of issues today, and if all goes well we'll be in game play territory by Thursday!

Sort:  

Oh shoot, I forgot that the first tag is how it sorts things. Oh well.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.