Mini Vlog // Is Overthinking Masquerading as Productivity?

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


Hello Friends!

Today I present you with my first “Mini-Vlog”! What is this? It’s basically a shorter video where I am hoping to offer some small dose of motivation, or maybe ask a thought provoking question that encourages discussion. You will likely see these pop up from time to time when I have a thought or idea bouncing around my head that could benefit the community – but maybe doesn’t warrant an entire long-form blog/vlog post.

I’ve been getting some feedback that some people actually prefer shorter, more bite sized pieces of content. So I thought I’d try this format out to see how it goes. 😊

Today’s Topic: Is Overthinking Masquerading as Productivity?


It can be easy to get caught in a cycle of spending too much time thinking or worrying about something – which is really not helping you to move forward. The brain can sometimes trick you into thinking this behavior is productive, but it’s important to look at that time and see if you actually made any progress on your project or task – or if you just let your brain spin in circles for a while.

Now don’t get me wrong, there is a lot of value in intentional planning and thinking… and even in letting an idea ruminate over time before working on it. For me, I can spend too much time thinking about something – when I could actually have it halfway done by now if I had just gotten started!

This can often creep up in the little cracks and moments of our day and can add to the emotional and mental load we are carrying.

I would just encourage you to take a moment and reflect in your own life. Are you spending too much time overthinking something when you could be doing something else that is value adding?

What are your thoughts on this… do you spend too much time overthinking things before taking action? We all have different personalities and character traits, so I’m sure everyone has a slightly different approach to this kind of topic.

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

Xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg

This video is approximately 3 minutes in length


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations on your "mini vlog" @coruscate. Overthinking things is both good and bad. Good because you can be sure of what you're doing and bad because instead of doing actions already, you keep thinking and thinking which could delay the process. I think I would love to see more of these mini vlog.

Thank you so much for the feedback! I’m glad to hear you liked this mini vlog format.

I definitely agree that there is a yin and a yang for this topic. It is helpful to a certain point, and then it starts holding you back.

Thanks for the thoughtful response!

I have heard this before referred to as "analysis paralysis" because we often spend so much time overthinking something instead of taking action that we may talk ourselves out of taking action at all. I am guilty of this, as I think we all are. We fear what people may think of us if we fail or what we may even think of ourselves if we are not successful. But, failing teaches us valuable lessons so it is worth the risk. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
Ivy

Thank you for the mini-vlog!
I, sometimes, fall into the trap of overthinking things... Really, especially when thing is out of our control but affect us so deeply... I'm still learning and trying to avoid thinking about it... Instead, I will find other things to keep my mind off that topic...
Keep posting the small dosage of motivation! A lot of us need a bit of reminder from time to time 😍

Nice Post dear. Looking forward to read your next post

I have followed you, follow me back to be getting up votes from me on your future posts. https://steemit.com/@chokomenia

Thank you

Mam #coruscate your post is learnable for me.i can get help from your this post.i like vlog.thanks.keep it up

nice video :)

As a long time "sufferer" of overthinking, I have grown quite familiar with it lol. There is a time and place for Thinking, and it can produce amazing ideas and creativity, such as in writing: thinking is a key component of development. But as with everything, its benefits are not absolute :/ when you pass that threshold into OVERthinking, and sacrifice productivity, it truly can become a problem. I find that for me if I notice I'm falling into that problem mode, one way I fix it is to get away from the physical area(99% of time it's my room). Once I have been away from the area for a while, it somehow resets something and the thoughts don't consume me.

I have no idea why this works for me but it does, so I hope it can help someone else too

Loading...