WHAT WE'VE DECIDED FOR OUR PERIMETER FENCE

in #vlog6 years ago

Hopefully we can built this once and have it last.


For our perimeter fence, we wanted something tough and secure, but that would also look pleasant. After a lot of thought and contemplation, along with evaluating our resources and checking our options, we've made our decision. I started it so we could get a look at it, and so far, we like what we see.

GENERAL CONCEPT VIDEO

BEAUTIFUL AND INDUSTRIAL STRENGTH

IMG_6720.JPG

The basics of this fence are cattle panels and t-posts. Both of these materials are pretty tough and durable. Then, to toughen things up even more, we've added rock, because not only do we have a lot of rock, but it too is built to last. I've begun to make wire cages to put around each t-post. When these cages are filled with rocks, the result is a pleasant-looking rock column. Additionally, along the bottom of the fence, where the cattle panel meets the ground, I've added a long line of larger rocks, which will help secure the bottom.

IMG_6723.JPG

When I put up the the sixteen foot cattle panels, I put a t-post at each end and one in the center, making each t-post approximately eight feet apart. By adding the rock column, there is now about a seven foot space between each support. The goal is to make sure that no animals are digging under the fence to get in and to make sure that the fence stays put.

Once we are done with this stage, I will be adding a single line of barbed wire at the top of each t-post. This will help deter certain animals from trying to jump the fence. If the barbed wire was lower, it would not work well because it wood get tangled in the thick wool of our sheep.

I know that this seems like a lot of work, but I've come to the conclusion that just about everything in life is work. Moreover, this should last a very long time, so it's kind of one of those projects that I hope to basically deal with once. After the perimeter fence is up and secure, we can be at peace that our animals will not only be safer, but that they will hopefully be staying where we put them as well. So, what do you think?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-a-fence-in-the-making

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I was told stuff about you and obviously it was said well. I am new here,
Really enjoyed it thanks sir

Wow! Glad to hear it. Mind you, I'm just a guy in the middle of nowhere trying to live life, so don't let them tell you too many things about me. Also, let's bump you up off of that 25 reputation with an upvote.

always a nice guy

Wow That's very generous of you sir?

Thank you so much

Wow.. That's generous of you sir

Cool, now you are a 30!

Edit: Now a 32!

Thank you so much... I appreciate

Thank's for the post.This is very useful information for me.I also have a goat farm.I am also worried about safety of my firm.Thank's to you I am gonna try this for my farm.This is my farm27710662_1792205644123362_704765961_o.jpg

Cool! it is nice to have a goat farm!

Thank's for your reply.This is my first activities on steemit.

Nice work and durable as well. Hope the best for all the goats and lambs.

Keep on steemin'

that looks strong enough for me, my friend. Great job!

this is very nice @papa-pepper, it's a very good idea and brings very perfect results.
it looks like it will last long @papa-pepper.

We hope that it will last long. Thank you!

I also expect that.

Well, a cemented rock wall would be more durable, but also a lot more money and a lot more work.

The life of this fence I would guess will be between 30 and 50 years.
It will be interesting to see if anything knocks it down, as is wont to happen from time to time.

Yeah, that was what I was thinking for a lifespan. I was shooting for over 20 years. Considering planting Osage Orange along it in some years and letting a living fence swallow it up near the end of its lifespan to replace it.

I was worried that the rock would need a binder/cement to help it to stand the test of time. But I think your ides of a living fence is a great one too.

Lovely post sir really motivated with this thanks for this Thanks for bringing this to steemit

Thank you @pearlvickky! I appreciate the encouragement!

Thanks for the motivational post.... It'll be great protection for animals... although it's a more expensive work but nothing is impossible ..
I believe that " make it possible.."

I'd rather buy and build a good one once than have to redo a cheap one frequently.

Oh That's good

the fence look good it will protect and camp the animal for proper caring great job you are doing over there papa-pepper

We hope it'll work!

daaaaayum!
That IS a lot of work.. and expensive....but I like it.
two things to thing about in addittion.
Hedge..
solar powered electric wire on top.

I was considering solar powered electric wire along the inside, since I plan on dividing it up a bit anyway to rotate the animals. Also, as I mentioned to another reply: Considering planting Osage Orange along it in some years and letting a living fence swallow it up near the end of its lifespan to replace it.

Thanks for the input (as always, honestly - some days I need all the advice that I can get) and for the encouragement!

That fence looks really cool, I like how most of the people who uses permaculture principles are creative with their surrounding cause you want to be efficient and use everything what is around you!

Artakush jumps back to the bush...

Thank you! Glad to hear that you like it!

Whao, nice decision, I trust your sense of judgement, I wish you could see my profile and compliment my work too. You've been inspiring me to do well and I've learnt from you that

whatever is worth doing at all is worth doing well

I love you so much sir
I'm @youngajii-pepper

You are right, if we are doing it, let us do it well!

Wow.That's a whole lot of work. But it's definitely worth it. The columns look Rigid and strong. Also, a very smart initiative using the rocks at the lower part of the fence. Rocks are really beautiful and the effect of weathering is minimal. But how can the fence impede snakes?
The video even shows more of hard work you put into it...... Am just wondering how many hours you put into the work....
But the work is a real beauty

But how can the fence impede snakes?

We aren't worried about those, because we like them!

Wow.. Nice concept you have there. Keep it up

the animals will be better protected.

Yes they will! Thank you @melvadg!

I liked the video more. Thank you for sharing this with us

great info and videos...
thanks a lot for sharing...

You are welcome!

Lovely post really enjoyed it sir the video is interesting

Thanks @lashbank! Glad to hear it!

Lovely construction papa.it looks durable.

Thanks. It seems pretty tough. I've seen some really old ones like this, so it should last a while.

Sure, it should

The fence look more like livestock fence and modern in nature. Great thinking @papa-pepper. Thank you for sharing. It gives me an idea of what to use for my land. Bless you sir.

@stevenmosoes

Thank you for checking it out!

My pleasure.

That is a beautiful way to incorporate your fence line into your property. I love the mini gabions to each T-post, and the running rocks along the bottom really make the fence line took great! What did you do for weed control along the bottom or will you let that grow wild?

I think that the sheep and goats will tend to the border weeds just fine, although I may eventually grow some plants there to make a living fence along with it!

Your work has always been fantastic, the last time mama-pepper researched about milking and you posted it was educative. I tried it but I failed in my attempt but I hope to do better next time as I've read the post again and also read some stuff about it online too. thanks for inspiring me to do new things and thanks to mummy too, @mama-pepper
this post as well is great, nice construction, Good job sir.

I am glad to hear that you are inspired!

yes, greatly inspired. the word "inspired" is even an understatement, how I wish I find the right word that will plainly speak my mind. I'm going to be a great farmer and a better homesteader. I am pretty sure that decision will be among the best I've made this year.

The design looks fantastic, we have a similar problem as we have a farm and quite a lot of land, some poachers etc, though we have wild dear that use our apple orchards as home every day, so can not fence it all off, plus the poachers are allowed to hunt within 100 meters of our buildings by law which sucks big time. And they would probably cut through any fence we put up, or start using our drive to walk down instead. Poland is not perfect by any standard at times. Thank you for popping by my posts last night. Most welcome.

Interesting. That is unfortunate to be sure.

Thank you @papa-pepper, you are very creative in Steemit, I salute you, art always be your crown, you always share experience in post, sometimes thought by me, mangapa you can achieve good result, i want to learn many things from you ,continue to work @papa-pepper people will always support you,Peaceful greetings from Me @deltasteem

Papa-pepper, you are such a nice man, full of wisdom, and hard working man. Very nice post, it's good prevent our animal and keep them safe. Great job sir. please help to check on my blog

Yeah, I was looking at those Nigerian meetup posts! So cool for you guys!

thank you sir......it was an awesome time, Wish could join us one day .

I cannot but say that the work You did is awesome. nice fencing sir. .the material quality is one will nice strength and durability. what a high sense of judgement and choice in material usage. I've never for once been disappointed in your post. this today is telling me the importance of security as a homesteader. please sir, I wish this update and education about homesteading doesn't stop.

Thank you very much!

Evening sir. Just came back from tutoring some kids in physics. (though I'm a microbiologist, deep huh?).
Well the fence looks real hard core like the fourth guy in 'Fantastic four '. Smiles.
It's work but its worth it, I'm happy for you.
The animals and you will sleep safer from today.
And yes it looks awesome, different from the normal fence types.

I do have my work cut out for me, but it's going well. Thanks!

Wow! It looks GREAT! Those cattle panels are awesome. I have a hoop greenhouse that uses three of them side by side, looped over into a wooden frame with a clear tarp over them - it measures about 8' x 12'. They are strong and lightweight and easy to maneuver. Nice work!

Very cool, I think I've seen similar.

Love the creativity brother. I enjoy using the things I have around me to create

Me too, I love to work with what we've got! Thanks.

Thank's to all of you who voted me.This will help me to do some good job here.Thank's from deep end of my heart.

Lol, you are welcome.

A great way to recycle rock looks modern and does its job.

If I ever get the chance to have a Homestead after seeing this I think this would be the rout I would go down.
Looks fab @papa-pepper

@artonmysleeve

Cool, thanks man!

Wow... I saw your post about the fence the other day and I commented, it's really nice that you eventually went with this ... I hope it meets the functionality in which it was built, actually mere looking at the fence, I can see it meets the functional requirements of aesthetic, durability etc ...really nice work!!!

It is durable and sure looks nice!

Wish I could help in building though.... I am a builder

Wow, this is a cool idea! Thanks for sharing it!
I agree, from experience, putting more work into a good fence is definitely worth it in the long run...

Yeah, I'd rather do the work up front!

It look great. But like you say a lot of work. If I were you I would install your stone fence posts where it would be most visible only. What does a T post look like?

that's a really cool design never seen that before, how long did it take you on average to do each post like that?

may start a new trend on hobbie farms across the country

Looking nice! They make fences that way in eastern Washington and Oregon, too (they have a fare amount of rocks, and little tree in that area).

This is a really cool look, a nice alternative to the plain T posts, creative and hopefully long lasting :)

Nice fence.

For myself, I made it much easier - only metal poles and grid. The fence turned out to be completely invisible. This is plus and minus simultaneously

A couple of times the cows were stuck with horns. There is a grid on this photo, but it can not seen it at all

2016-07-07 05-56-13.JPG

That's very impressive, the line of rocks at the bottom should do an excellent job of preventing any sort of digging.

This is actually looking nice Papa. I love the idea and they look really strong and tough. Safety for lives and livestock is paramount. Are you leaving the rocks in it like that, or some part would be plastered, like the top or the base? Really love this style and wish to learn.

Best use for these rocks, Hmmm gets me to thinking, might just follow your example...

This is an idea that never would have occurred to me, it is pleasing to the eye and very resistant, congratulations dear friend @ papa-pepper for the great work you are doing on your farm
have a great night

That is one handsome fence, @papa-pepper. I like they you used the rocks to cover the t-posts and put more rocks along the bottom of the fence. It is a secure fence as well as being aesthetically pleasing. And it won't need repairs for many years down the road.

I have never seen that post idea with a round fence loop and filled with rocks. They look like they are possibly concrete columns faced with rocks from a distance. So cool and good looking. We have a road like that next to one perimeter. Not anywhere near as nice. But there are about 10 motorcycles per day traffic and lots of kids playing in that area. We decided not to put barbed wire because of safety. If someone wrecked and landed on the barbed wire that would be painful. Also the kids playing near it. One strand on the top would work!
Our goal is to keep our livestock in! Here most people let their cows, water buffalo, and goats run free. They come through the yard and ruin almost everything! Plus there are a large number of wild dogs with no shots. Trying to keep them all out, but still keep our place people friendly!
Love the posts in this post! STEEM ACRES IS THE PLACE TO BE!

As you say, a lot of work, but as my Grannie taught me, "Do it once, Do it right". and "There is nothing as permanant as a tempory fix"
The T posts look quite grand with their surrounding stones and the rocks should help keep the bottom secure.
The little-peppers can now see the advantage of all the piles of stones they were making a while ago.
For the future, you will be able to train fruit trees/vines along the fence adding to the beauty and freeing up usable land.

I can say I like the idea. You have more or less flat ground which works well for the panels. I like the rock at the base too, if you were making fields for plowing it gets more rock off the land and away from your plow blade. As usual, I have a question too. Are you doing this all the way around the property or only over a select area? If so what are you doing everywhere else?

Wow! That is a stought fence! I love the use of resources. But picking up all those rocks......

It has the medieval times look.

The mesh is a good idea .. in my area we have wild swines raiding the property all the time. We have some oil palm trees and its nuts are oily-sweetish and the whole crop is now the dinner place for the animals. Day time we have wild monkeys. Neither can be hurt in any way as per the law and the land is now completely allotted for the animals. I may have to do something this to begin with ... right now we are using nylon nets. Which were useful initially but now they have learned to get rid of them!

Hi. I'm sorry for spamming. We are at the moment planing out our garden and we are searching for some gardeners / homesteaders who could give us some advice.It would be nice if you took a look at our plan and give us your thoughts. It would mean a lot for us.
SILIŅI. I need gardeners advice. Planing out our territory.
sil.jpg