Volunteering at Makesense

Loads of things in life do not make sense, right? And during the lockdown we had lots of time to think about that, and to make some changes.

One change that I was trying to make already for quite a while was to become more active in the movement towards change. I wanted to volunteer, but found it challenging to find an opportunity that went beyond the occasionally organised beach or forest clean-ups, which stopped completely during lockdown.

Then during this time of reclusion I caught sight of Makesense. They organized online meetings in which they introduced some great companies and organisations active in Lisbon and with a social and/or environmental core.

And...they were looking for volunteers! I applied, got hired and now am a proud Core-Team Contributor of the Makesense Lisbon Hotspot.

What do we do? We support social and environmental entrepreneurs in Lisbon by helping them address challenges they face and by connecting them with the Lisbon community, making an effort to spread their word and work.

In these last 3 months I've come to know that there is a lot more good stuff going on in my community than I thought. Many people are making serious effort to bring about positive change and I am very grateful to be a force of strenght for them!

Besides that I am part of the most amazing team! It really makes you feel more sane to connect with more people that have the same values as you! I learn a lot from my Makesensers, receive lots of love and inspiration!

If you are looking for some volunteering to do, why not take a look if you have a Makesense Hotspot near you!? If not, you can always start one! Find out how at: www.makesense.org

Copy_of_Copy_of_Untitled_2___2_-removebg-preview.png