Part II of the VOICES OF THE UNDERGROUND discussing Bots and Incentives on the STEEM blockchain πŸ”Š

in #votu β€’ 6 years ago (edited)

"When I delegate my SP to high value people who are social cultivators, with the bulk of their energy extending outwards to others, building both valuable projects, and investing in humans, I gain a certain amount of loyalty from these people. Their loyalty extends into all kinds of areas, including but not limited to them being supportive of me. [...] This knowledge came as a side effect, rather [than] a reason I decided to delegate my SP. It became a residual positive effect."
~ @Stellabelle (Source)

Bots vs Communities

Click here for Part I

Next part of the podcast we'll have witness @aggroed sharing his views so stay tuned for that!

Join us on discord

VO.TU.discord

Become a patron and get special perks in our growing discord community such as your own promotional channels

We accept crypto and upvotes ;)


bitshares.openledger

Sort: Β 
Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

What you have to understand is that not everyone has the time or desire to be part of a community inside of a community.

Steemit is already a community and I personally don't want to spend my time interacting with other people in discord chats (PAL, VOTU etc.) just to be noticed. The worst thing in my opinion about these groups is that 90% of what is happening in there is smallstalk. Something very unproductive - in my opinion. (I don't like smalltalk in general - outside of steem - time waster)

Yes, it is a personal preference, but there are a lot of people like me right now on steemit and this number will grow even higher, the more mainstream steem becomes.

I believe this is a flaw that you, @stellabelle, @aggroed and the other leaders of the communities don't see - not everybody is interested in participating in communities just to get rewarded for the content they create.

Still - don't want you guys to think that I'm taking a sh*t on the work you're doing - I'm not and I respect the work you've done - just giving another point of view :)

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

OK but this post isn't really about any specific community...

And I'm not a fan of small talk either but I'm pretty sure that's not what we had here.

@beanz you're right - should have mentioned that I was talking about the whole situation in general. Listening to the podcast right now - btw could you make the music next time lower? It's too loud :/

@beanz alright - just finished. Have to say - it is actually really valuable! I guess I will go over my comfort-zone and join the next one..

Glad to hear it! We'd very much appreciate your input

I think that I am drawn into circlejerking because of the money.
You are just influenced to engage to a user if they could give me a sizeable upvote, unless you are a selfless loving person like some people here are to me.
But I have friends that have not much SP that I do have the time to visit and engage with.

Thank goodness for actual decent human beings. Pretty annoyed that part 1 has been flagged. Anyway , you're all amazing. Thank you <3

The post is still above $70. I think some recent statements about "Not Taking Flags Personal" is pretty good advice. (I forget who all have said it, but more than one wise steemians have)

While Part 1(and this one too) is probably worth more than $70 because it involves discussions that could hugely benefit the Steemit platform, The flags issued did not do harm to the Poster, or to the message in the Post.

And whatever rewards were removed, were returned to the reward pool to be shared with everyone. And the flagger cannot use those rewards, that he gave up, to upvote or reward himself.

So, in this instance, while I too disagree with the flags.... I don't think we should stress about them too much.

Some flags are pretty obviously personal.

And I didn't mean that they weren't. I was just glad when I looked back and saw that the post was still 'up there' pretty good. But having someone flag for no other reason than...... you posted... is not cool.

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

"While Part 1(and this one too) is probably worth more than $70"

True :)

Great words from the one and only @stellabelle

https://discord.gg/UPVNcKs !

bots are annoying and I hate them, but since Steemit dose not have any control over them or any rules to stop them we have live with it.
But luckily the Steemit community is great and they appreciates good contents. Steemit have long way to go, may be with time everything will change.
Nice to hear your podcast
Cheers!

bots can be used in helpful ways. Like a tool. But when bots start to outnumber active Steemians... that is a Joke that just isn't funny!! Hopefully we will stem the tide before we screwup the platform.

I made you a winter hat ...

2017-11-30_1323.png

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜πŸ€ 

stay warm my friend

Thank you! This is awesome that you are sharing it since I missed it on Sunday.
Sunday's are usually busy for me with family. But I am going to try and make it to one coming up....this or the next Sunday.
Thx

Well join the server and we can remind you before it starts 😊

.....I am putting off Discord as long as possible. But I will. As for reminder... that isn't a problem. Working it in to our Sunday Family time.... that will be the challenge. But I will on the next time or two.

I don't care if you follow me or not.

I ❀️ this post followed you upvoted and resteemed because I feel πŸ’― x πŸ’― % what you said AND your profile statement. πŸ˜‰ @beanz

Bots do not have a chance, if People have such leaders.

Hello @beanz

You are really doing a great job towards keeping this community growing.

I love your insight as regards delegating of SP.

When I delegate my SP to high value people who are social cultivators, with the bulk of their energy extending outwards to others, building both valuable projects, and investing in humans, I gain a certain amount of loyalty from these people.

Keep up with the good work

Regards @maintain4real-eu

Thanks for sharing your podcast on 'Pimp Your Post Thursday'
https://discord.gg/KP2tNq4

Good jop friend

hahaha the meme is great jajaja

This rather reminds me of the words of Robert A Heinlen from "Time enough for Love"

"Never appeal to a man's 'better nature.' He may not have one. Invoking his self-interest gives you more leverage."