Sort:  

I have the other potential NFT that was featured in my application. Due to the "NC" of the BY-NC-SA Creative Commons license that the VYB logo is under I've posted a reply to the latest @vyb.vyb post asking for permission to mint that art with the VYB logo in it as a Limited Production Rights NFT. I haven't got a reply back yet.

Thanks for asking!

@calumam is the originator of the VYB logo and related artwork, and he is the one who chose which CC license(s) to employ.

I will defer to him regarding usage of the artwork in an NFT. My non-expert perspective is that the "NC" (non-commercial) designation would preclude minting NFTs for sale, just as it would preclude putting the image on T-shirts and offering them for sale (see this, this, and this).

With that said, I don't think anything would preclude the granting of such rights to specific individuals on a case-by-case basis. In other words, the "NC" designation restricts the CC licensee from commercial uses, but would not preclude the original author from commercial use. Similarly, the original author could confer specific commercial-use rights to any other individual, under whatever terms he/she deems appropriate.


That is also my understanding. Minting NFTs is "commercial use" as creativecommons.org defines the term and under U.S. law where I live the original creator retains the exclusive rights to the work and can license reproduction rights to different parties with different terms if the creator wishes to.

I just made a request in a reply to @calumam's latest post. Thanks for your help.

Ah. Let's ask @trostparadox for permission. I think that was originally his creation and I can't speak for him but I think his intention was to allow the logo to be reproduced in a Limited Production Rights NFT.