Community Update - Applications of the MUTE Function 1/25/22

in #vyb2 years ago (edited)

Vybrainium Moderation

VYB.png

Purpose

The purpose of this article is to report and justify application of the mute function in VYB upon authors found violating Hive and VYB community guidelines.

Divider.png

Muted Authors

Authors get muted for at least 1-week, IF they have responded to this article.

  • State the reason for your mute as you understand it.
  • State the reason why the tribe should remove the mute.
  • State what you will do to prevent future acts of fraud.

Once the author responds and depending upon the response, a 1-week timer will start for that author. Once the time expires, the mute on the author gets removed.

In Closing

Thank you for your time in reviewing this update. As always, please keep commentary professional.

Divider.png

Sort:  

Love that unlike some community you notify people, give a reason and length of time. Well done !PIZZA !LUV !HIVEBITS

It's the engagement and transparency part that I need to remain on VYB. I don't want to be here without it because you can't find ways to improve it otherwise.

This is a good way to go, thank you @scholaris.vyb for giving people the chance for a good explanation for their misconduct and proving themselves, that they deserve or not to be in this community.

Your work is appreciated. I'd lose my mind looking through all the articles to check for plagiarism. And then the hubris from the copycats, my god.

Thank you. I've been doing this for almost a year now. If there's one thing that is consistent is the lack of consistency and transparency in the process. In the experiment called VYB, we're trying to bridge those gaps and create a process that comes full circle. I hope we're successful.

Insofar as hubris is concerned, I hear you. Some people have it, some don't. Sometimes, it's just a mistake.

Great job!

We're working towards making the this community a better place and to get rid of fraud and miscreants...

Keep up the good work @scholaris.vyb and team..❤️✅

Thanks. All I want is the transparency promised, opportunities for redemption when applicable, and a smooth process.

Thanks for looking out for us and bringing the mute function to the attention of the community and giving authors clear notice and opportunity to defend their actions.

What a wonderful Kat

!LUV

That's awesome, glad to see the offenders can interact here and now at L1. This is really good moderation mechanics. 👍

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@failingforwards(1/5) tipped @vyb.vyb (x1)

Join us in Discord!

This is a very good use of the mute function. It is not a life sentence...

Hmmm! I know this is an old post, but most refreshing to read to be honest ~ I'm still slowly learning about the main differences between VYB & POB

I do find VYB a bit confusing at times!

I have nothing to say, guilty as charged. It is your call on how long you mute me. I don't like being treated like a child.

Damn! I just realized that you are on the list above after pressing the upvote button...lol..btw whatever your problem here, it's better to solve it in a good way by contacting them and speaking honestly.

Is there a tag for just memes here? #memes?

I think it is solved for the time being but open to discussion.

In this type of announcement, it's always open for discussion. It's solved for the author. It's not solved for the community yet.

I'm not decided on the memes.

I see pieces like this to be similar to a collage in a modern art display. It's as if a person were to cut out parts of a newspaper and paste them together to make a new story.

In the end the artist has made a new creation that is very different from the first.

collage-4098460_1280.jpg

Pixabay viki_b

But still it would be a good courtesy to source the original newspaper used in the collage in the description of the piece.

The problem is not many can go through the trouble of tracing a MEME or gif to its origins. They are evolving from hand to hand until the original source is difficult to determine. I think @holovision would know better than I about when a meme is original content and when it is considered plagiarized material.

It's one week per our guidelines. Nothing more.

I am a big fan of his posts and disagree that compiling collections of memes is plagiarism...it takes more effort than half the posts on Hive!

The Problem

So, it constitutes plagiarism if someone uses an image not their own without a citation. What if the source of the image was widespread across the internet? The source for one image was spread across over three dozen websites. How do you find the original? Who made it? A source link originally reported lead to another meme site. How do I know if those images are plagiarized or original. There's nothing specific to report otherwise.

What is Hive's position on memes?

The gray area. Some people get hit and others don't. There are dozens of articles utilizing memes of one form or another in the communities I checked tonight. Some hive articles using memes reach +70 Hive. No one bats an eye. Hive's position and method of moderation is unclear and inconsistent. Memes are definitely used on POB. I've no doubt they will become popular on VYB.

What is Plagiarism.org's position on memes?

It has discussions of images-a-plenty. The one I keyed on was using an image without crediting the source. Where's the source of the images? My understanding of source is where the image originated and, not necessarily, where the author pulled it from. Maybe I'm wrong. Am I expected to do reverse image searches to find the source of his image? I could just ask and he could of written some explanation.

Conclusion

His mute is removed (@manorvillemike). After this more detailed review, I can't necessarily hold him accountable for a practice carried out by dozens to hundreds of people with unclear guidelines provided by Layer 1 or VYB. I'll readdress the moderation policy. The memes in his articles didn't violate the other guidelines outside of using source links which wouldn't tell me where it originated anyway.

Engagement

If I had gone off of the original response, I would have walked away not questioning the mute. Only through engagement, at least professionally, can we recognize the kinks in the system and work to correct them.

Have a good night guys.

Subtle matter, lol, there are genres when it is very difficult to talk about authorship, collages and memes are one of them, but, in fact, they are like mushrooms that are not plants and animals, this is a separate branch, this can rather be attributed to needlework, when a crocodile or an ostrich should become the author of a Versace bag, because it is made of their skin.
A couple of years ago I was at an international exhibition of paintings, where a painting was presented, or rather a collage, assembled from scraps of newspapers.
It was a pile of strips glued to the canvas, cut out from someone's articles (author's articles), and in this chaos everyone saw a self-portrait of Leonardo da Vinci, the author of which is da Vinci himself. But, this is a different look at the usual things, which, in my opinion, should be respected.

It the reason we decided to be transparent about these processes. I don't know everything. I can't know everything without engagement from the community. So, we have to put these issues out for everyone's input. I don't think we can grow otherwise as a community.

This is very wise of you. Many may disagree with me, but although I never use stock images, I believe that if a person has brought something of his own into someone else's picture, an image, a thought, a joke, or something else, then this is no longer possible. call it a plagiarism. I agree, it's debatable, but not a reason to send a person to the chopping block, lol. He labored. I think the biggest problem with the Hive is that there are no clear laws and regulations. If people know what can be done and what is not punishable, everyone will breathe a sigh of relief and the Hive will flourish with renewed vigor, and, of course, a mechanism is needed against petty paranoids who are looking for someone to hang a flag and accuse of all mortal sins.

My approach here is technical. This means I can be subject to action with some ignorance of the greater picture. It's also the reason these actions are transparent. I read @manorvillemike's statement differently than perhaps I should have.

I'll take another look.

Now I'm wondering what has just happened to my recent post https://www.vybrainium.com/vyb/@frot/the-flu-renamed-every-two-years-is-still-the-flu-r6a6bg

It had 52 upvotes and the rewards were showing at approx 20VYB

Now the rewards are showing at zero and all the upvotes from accounts with any VYB are not showing. But they are still showing on Peakd so I know that I previously had upvotes that would pay out in VYB.

image.png

There seems to be heaps of other accounts having the same issue:

image.png

Sorry, this seems to be a front-end display issue resulting from the recent switch from a 4-day voting window to 8 days. eonwarped is working on fixing this issue.

Basically, the front-end is displaying the post as if it had already paid out (because 4 days has already passed). Since zero VYB has already been paid out, it is showing zero.

The errant display will hopefully be fixed shortly.

Right, that makes sense - glad to hear it's nothing too major.

Thanks for the update.

You're not muted on VYB. Only one person's article has been muted and it hasn't been any of yours. It has to be a front-end issue. @trostparadox? Did you get any error reports like this at all? I just read a similar error in discord from @onealfa. So, the issue is not isolated. No reasons exist for muting either individual.

Accounts verified not muted by terminal.