Bad Cop No Donut

in #waiviolast year

IMG_20230530_202011355.jpgThis photo was taken with my Samsung

This is in response to @gwajnberg's
post.

I do not remember the specifics of the event but I have to begin with a story that was told to me years before.

We (I can not remember who all it was) were sitting around talking when one woman chimed in with a story she had been told.

A man was driving over the speed limit in a hurry to get somewhere and he had his young daughter in the passenger seat next to him when he noticed flashing lights in the rear view mirror. He pulled over and rolled the window down so that when the officer approached they could talk.

In the brief conversation the driver had with the officer he was told he had been speeding and would be getting a ticket. The officer went back to his car then came back to the drivers vehicle with the ticket. Before the officer could walk away the little girl chimed in, "Bad cop, no donut".

Apparently this amused the officer as he took the ticket back and tore it up.

Well I was driving back home with my own daughter in the passenger seat. It had been raining so there were not a lot of vehicles on the road. I was a distance from the next light and was not speeding when I saw the light change and the car ahead of me put on his breaks. We were far enough apart but I instantly got a bad feeling. I tried to slow down but my breaks barely grabbed. I tried pumping them to stop but I still collided with the car in front of me. My vehicle was not damaged but the car's rear was.

I called the police and reported the accident. I was told to pull off into the parking lot of the nearby business. We sat and waited for almost an hour. I called them back and said I was right down the road from a police station.

Five minutes later a young officer showed up and took the report. He told me that even though I was at fault he was not going to write me a ticket. I was relieved. That is until my daughter spoke up.

"Bad cop no donut"

I was shocked and scared at the same time. I looked at her then the officer to see his reaction then back at my daughter. The officer started laughing. He said "This is the 20'th century. We don't eat donuts, we eat bagels."

I could not believe my daughter at 12 would do that. We still joke about it to this day.

Sort:  

That is too funny, and it is nice that the officer had a sense of humor as well.

I think he understood I was not expecting it. ...gotta love kids. 🤣🤣

So it happened twice?

The first time it happened was a story told by someone I knew and apparently my daughter was present.

The second time it happened to me and my daughter was trying to be funny. I wonder if that officer ever thinks of this. 🤣🤣

Hahaha, wonderful story. I wished it was that easy every time. Imagine there hasn't been a traffic light. From Montichello, FL I once heard they don't have a single light in the whole county and traffic is way more secure. I'll remember this from your story the most: We don't eat donuts, we eat bagels. LOL !invest_vote

This is hilarious 😂

It is now but my nerves didn't think so at the time. 🤣

Oh gosh!! Kids and their innocence!! Hahhaa

I'm not sure about innocence. 😁

Your daughter's mouth almost landed you a ticket. Hehe 😹😹 children.

Well I am glad you did not get a ticket and you slipped through that one. I a really amazed that you called the police even though you were at fault. Well, if it's in my country, two of your teeths could have been on the floor before a passerby calls the police. Lol. The police will still charge you some money and ask you to repair the other person car.

Hit and runs as they are called here carry a much stiffer penalty. What that is, I am unsure and do not want to try my luck. It is also a bad lesson to teach children.

@anli denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@anli thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !