WalkWithMe #3 - The First Walk at Nockamixon State Park

in #walkwithme6 years ago

The Prologue

In my last walk of this weekly series of #WalkWithMe, I took you again to Peace Valley Park with my family and friends which is near my house in Lansdale, Pennsylvania. In case you have missed it, you can, of course, read it at the link WalkWithMe #2 - Family, Friends & Food at Peace Valley Park. Today I am going to take you to yet another peaceful lake which is just 25 minutes of a drive from our house😁 😁

As always, before going further, yet again, my sincere thanks to @lyndsaybowes who has introduced in this simple, humble yet amazing series on Steemit known by the name #walkwithme. The simplicity of the series has swept me away and is making me cherish those simple walks in day to day life with my family by sharing them here on Steemit.

image.png

The First Walk at Nockamixon State Park #1

My colleagues in office had told me many times to visit Nockamixon Lake as it was nearby to my house. However, I always ignored it thinking of it being a small, uninteresting place. Well, beyond mountains of the Himalayas everything is mostly uninteresting to me 😂 😂

One boring evening when we were tired of watching all heck of Netflix shows, I said to my wife let's go and check this lake out today. We packed some popcorns and juices and were on the road. I had always loved the drive towards Dublin from Lansdale as the view are pretty nice. So, with much expectations, we thought we will have fun with the drive even if lake turns out to be boring. Boy, I was SO WRONG !!

After about 20 minutes, we crossed a bridge and saw a glimpse of a large pond and thought that was it. Soon the board of Nockamixon state park showed up and took the turn in it. Well, the moment we reached marina, our eyes were thrown wide open in disbelief 😍 😍 ... I could have never imagined visiting such a huge lake, so near to the house. I have been to many lakes in the Himalayas in India but this one was quite big.

image.png

Nockamixon State Park is spread across 5286 acre in Bucks County of Pennsylvania. The lake itself is about 1450 acres in area and loads of people come for picnics, swimming in the pool, hiking, biking, kayaking, hunting, fishing, and boating. You also have an option to stay in a cabin and well the plan of this summer is to stay there for a night.

Anyways coming back to the topic, we were not prepared and were still in disbelief. Even in sandals and crocs, our temptation to walk on the running trail around the lake was not left out. We wanted to catch the different glimpses of the lake as it curves around at places. The well-paved path helped the walk as we went to the circle at the edge of one bank near the marina and walked all the way to the picnic tables spot near boat rentals.

I cannot express the excitement in us by finding this surprising place near to the house and could not think of anything else but to soon plan another trip. As we were walking we found trees of mulberries. At first, we thought them as some other kind of berries but when smelled it looked familiar from India. I could not hold up myself from eating it, well, it tasted the same too 😛 ... Soon my wife joined and once we ate a lot of them, we saw after us some other folks around also started picking them up.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Well, to us it was a double surprise because both for me and my wife, living in Delhi metro city, we could just remember the childhood days when such mulberries trees used to exist. The modernization and urbanization killed all those trees and mulberries were a rare commodity. Getting them or something very similar to them in the USA was more than a pleasant surprise.

image.png

image.png

After about 40 minutes of walk, we settled on a bench near the marina where our car was parked. As usual, the kiddo started throwing all the stones he could find nearby. It is his favorite time pass near any waterbody. In the end, it was an evening well spent and opened the doors to many more walks to come for us in time to come.

Next Part Teaser

image.png

See you next week for another #WalkWithMe 😇


About Me

A travel blogger by heart, a lover of the Himalayas by soul and a software engineer by profession. Here, on Steemit, you can get to know more about me by reading my introduction post at the link An intro of a twisted DEVIL :-) ... You can find me spreading smiles in the Himalayas through my travel blog & community forums where I write about traveling and promoting responsible travel in the Himalayas.

Do you also love traveling to the Himalayas?



image.png

Follow Me: @devilonwheels

Sort:  

wow! Really a beautiful lake, and the blue sky.. waaah!

Seriously Sanjay bhai, I was shocked to see it for the first time and is just 20 minutes drive from home :) ... I could not believe. Earlier I was just thinking that may be half the size of lake like Nainital will be there or more like a pond but I was so very wrong :)

Wow, what a beautiful place! Thanks for taking us along!

thank you for reading

Hope your next walk will be very enjoyable also

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=devilonwheels
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=walkwithme-3-the-first-walk-at-nockamixon-state-park


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by devilonwheels from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I am interested in your journey. hopefully i can follow the trail that you do.

Thank you :)

Lovely photos.

Nice to meet you. ^_^v

thank you :)

Beautiful post. I really enjoy the personal vibe it gives and I had to google what the "mulberries" are so learned something new as well :)

Thank you, he he, and yeah even I did not knew what they are called in English :)