Walk with me, around my yard

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Want to walk with me? My yard is small so it won't take long.

IMG_20180201_151109696.jpg
This is a sandbox I made using sandbags we had from hurricane Irma. It's pretty great because the boys can sit on the sandbags that are still full and as the sand supply diminishes, I can use surrounding sandbags to replenish.

My yard is filled with toys. We live in a pretty nice neighborhood and my yard seems to be the only one with toys in the yard and that's cool with me. They are used basically everyday.

PicsArt_02-01-04.18.09.jpg
This tree is very special to me. It's a poinciana. My stepmom grew it from her tree gave it to me. I planted it when I was pregnant with Wyatt. The week that Fletcher was born it gave us it's first bloom. Poincianas are also known as "flame trees" because of the bright red flowers when in bloom. Right now she's sparse, but she's beautiful when full of leaves!

PicsArt_02-01-04.23.22.jpg
We have a couple hooters on our property. Burrowing owls. They've lived here longer than we have. Or at least the family line. Every year they come, have babies, then everyone moves out. Then the cycle repeats. They are a protected species, so no one messes with them ❤️

20180201_161102-ANIMATION.gif
Even my dogs know to leave them alone 😁

PicsArt_02-02-12.31.26.jpg
This is Libby. She's an old lady now. We've had her since she was a baby. Our first child. She's a bitch.

PicsArt_02-02-12.33.34.jpg
This is Baxter. He's our huge American bulldog. He's very cool.

PicsArt_02-01-11.15.05.jpg
This is our boat. As you can probably tell it hasn't been out in a long time. Hurricane Irma ripped the top. We'll replace it one of these days. Maybe we'll get her in the water in March!?!

PicsArt_02-01-04.19.43.jpg
We have coconut trees. Honestly they suck. They are right next to the drive way and sprinkle my car with black spots that attract wasps. But @dan-s likes to drink the coconut milk. I think it's gross. 🤢

That's it. Thanks for walking with me. And thanks to @lyndsaybowes for the concept. Check out others on the tag #walkwithme

<3 justjessica

Sort:  

Either Wyatt is older or that tree grows darn fast! Is it my brain on NyQuil, or is that poinciana huge??

I planted the tree just over 4 years ago. It was little. I searched my pictures for the oldest one I have of it. Here's a nice comparison:
PicsArt_02-02-11.30.50.jpg
Baby Wyatt with baby tree & a picture I took a week or so ago.

That’s just amazing! I know things grow fast there, but wow! Love the comparison photos, how cute to be able to show him later how the tree grew along with him :)

Ooh my goodness, what a blessing to have those cute little owls on your land!! They are exquisite!!!!

I always think they're eyes are saying, "leave me alone". So I do what they tell me 🙂

Nice walk.. I love palm trees.. Baxter looks like a pretty cool dog.. I've never heard of those owls before.. that's cool that they live in your yard..

They're cute. I have no idea how they live in the ground in Florida during rainy season. It boggles my mind. They hunt at dusk. It's cool to see them dive down to get whatever might be in the empty lot next door.

Nice pic ..in the small yard
Walking very long distance

Thanks for the comment

I love dog very very much & owl's are so nice......at last beautiful post of yours......

Thanks! 😊