¦ 8 ¦ Come join us walking & harvesting betel nuts in the garden

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Dear steemian fellows...

Today, my mother and I (and the others) will take you to our garden. Hope you don't mind to join us. What will we do there?

We are going to harvest betel nuts! 🤗
You know, over past few months are economically critical for my parents and the whole family. My parents run an orphanage foundation in the village, we live together with the children, once in a year a financial crisis visits our life, it usually takes months. That's why we need to adapt the situation and balance our life, so we put high hope on garden commodities, such as these betel nuts. Fortunately, betel nuts are in good price in the market now. Hopefully the crisiss will be gone soon. In case you want know about this orphanage foundation that my family is on, I'll be happy to post about it in the future posts.

Welcome to our garden

imageThis garden really help us a lot in our crisis time. As you can see, there are many of palm trees and betel nut trees here. We harvest and sell the commodity of this garden up to two times every month. That's how we struggle in our financial problem.

This little squad is helping us this time

image We have big big big squad at home, but this little squat is enough for now. There are actually four of them. Three girls and one boy, a girl is missing from this photo. Just for info, the boy is very skilled at climbing tree. He is our top tree climber here. Wait until you see how skilled he is.
They look vacant because we are waiting for mother to come. She is at another garden with the girl that missed in the photo above.
Let's look for them!

There they are....

image They are in the small garden having talks with other gardener, actually those women in red and white clothes are my family relatives. They live around the garden. They planted some vegetables here such as long bean, cucumber, egg plant, and some more.

Cucumberimage

Long beanimage

Okay, now we have my mother, let's begin working

image Look, our boy is doing his climbing work. Now you can see how skilled he is. When I first saw him climb the betel nut tree, I was scared. But now I know I was wrong, he is such a skilled little guy.

GifMeme21131421022018.gif
Now you see his performance

P_20180221_154529_vHDR_On_1.jpg

While he is busy with his climbing job, we pick the betel nuts that scattered under its tree, we take off the betel nuts from its stalk and then we put the into sacks.

The little squad is busy

image

image

image

image

That's our activity for today. We will continue working on these betel nuts tomorrow morning. Hopefully the weather will be sunny tomorrow. You know, we need to dry the betel nuts under the hot sun before we peel them. If the nuts are wetty, there won't be anyone to buy them. The drier the better.

This is what we do to deal with our financial crisis. You know, there are up to tens of children to feed at our orphanage foundation, we don't want see everyone is hungry, right? I always admire my parents for establishing this foundation, I'll help them as much as they need me to 🤗

Thank you for reading my story...I apologize if there any inappropriate word/graphic in my post. Feel free to leave your thoughs in the comment section.