Wednesday Walk: Morning twilight in the forest of Fontainebleau

IMG_8593_gimp.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F3.5 | 1/25sec | ISO 500 | 20mm


Hello dear Steemians and photography enthusiast,

Today I want to share with you my wednesday walk that I did in the forest of Fontainebleau. One night we were staying at a parking deep inside the forest and I woke up quite early in the morning. The day before we were bouldering in a small sector called souris which was located around a hill. The view was quite nice up there and I though I could maybe get some good sunrise shots if I would get up quickly enough. So I got dressed, packed my camera and left my girlfriend in the van still sleeping tight.


IMG_8560_gimp.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F6.3 | 8sec | ISO 3200 | 17mm


On the way I took out my tripod to take the above long exposure shot. I always feel a mystical atmosphere while in the forest at nighttime or twilight. I quickly walked up the hill over small boulders and under big overhanging ones. At the top I set up my tripod again. But I relazied that, although the sky had a nice purple and golden color, there were no clouds at all and the shots turned out rather boring.

Being a bit disappointed, I decided to take a different way back through the woods. First I used some small paths which led down hill but after a while the paths just disappeard and I suddenly stood in a big field of ferns. I felt more like in a jungle than a normal forest, because of the many dead trees lying around covered in moss.


IMG_8587.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F6.3 | 1/13sec | ISO 500 | 10mm


IMG_8596_gimp.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F3.5 | 1/30sec | ISO 500 | 12mm


After a while walking down the steep slope, I got to a ridge of the hill with several mossy boulder spread across. There wer less trees on the ridge and I realized that the sky lost its color form the sunrise and got brighter. Although it seemed to be the easiest way to walk, I did not follow the ridge because I knew it was leading in the wrong direction. Instead I went down the steep slope to my left looking for a way between the ferns.


IMG_8564_gimp.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F4.5 | 1/25sec | ISO 500 | 10mm


After a few meters further the ground was level again and the fern gave way to a ground covered either in leaves and old wood or thick green moss. Here I took several detail shots of a dead tree with a lot of moss on it (first photo in this post) and of a birch trunk with some pine cones.


IMG_8588_gimp (2).jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F4 | 1/25sec | ISO 500 | 20mm


IMG_8609_gimp.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F3.5 | 1/50sec | ISO 320 | 20mm


After that I decided its time to head back to the van, but turning around a lot while taking photos, I wasn't quite sure about the right direction I had to walk to. So instead of aiming right at the parking, I decided to better be safe and head out a little more to the right so I would definietly land on the big forest way that I took initially. On my way I found this little oak sprout with read leaves, which looked really beautiful. Also on a dead branch hanging from above, there were many different lichen growing. So I stopped to shoot some pictures always with the direction in mind I had to go.


IMG_8630_gimp.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F3.5 | 1/50sec | ISO 500 | 20mm


IMG_8636_gimp.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F4.5 | 1/20sec | ISO 500 | 20mm


After just a bit more walking, I reached the big forest way and was really suprised to see, that I was just standing about 100m away from the parking. So I must have been walking not as a straight line as I though. If I would have decided to walk in a stright line to where I though the parking would be I would probably have missed it and my walk would have been quite a bit longer :)


IMG_8643gimp.jpg

Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM | F8 | 1/25sec | ISO 500 | 10mm


Hope you enjoyed my entry for the wednesday walk,
if you did please let me know in the comments :)

Have a good week and see you next wednesday!
Constantin


Equipment used: | Canon EOS 50D | Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM |

Sort:  

Cool shots. Your greens are looking dope.

Thanks a lot!
I had big troubles with the greens while editing for a longer time.
Therfore I appreciate your comment all the more!

The sky with no clouds may not have given you the colors you were hoping for but in a way I am glad as I love all these shots there is just something magical about the color of the greens in a forest I think

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Yes, actually I was way more satisfied with the walk turning out this way.
I really enjoyed shooting and editing of the photos and the walk was more of an advature :D

Especially in the morning the colors in the forest are just amazing.
They always create a special atmosphere.
Thanks for your comment & have a great second half of the week!

Sometimes when our plans change from what we had initially hoped for it ends up even better that what we were hoping :)

You to enjoy he rest of the week

Boring or not, it still is beautiful to behold sunrise and witnessing everything waking up with the sun. Lovely walk!

Posted using Partiko Android

That is very true!
Actually I just sat there on top of the hill and ejoyed the scenery.
Being up really early in the morning is something I experience rarely but like quite a lot!

Thanks for stopping by and leaveing a comment,
have a nice day!

Hello @constantshots, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @constantshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @constantshots! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @constantshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!