Wednesday Walk - Glorious Beach Day

princessmewmew (1).png

It's Wednesday, and that can only mean one thing! #wednesdaywalk ! Such a simple initiative, but it shows us all four corners of the world, from Jay in Massachusetts to me in Cape Town!

line break.png

We are in full blown summer down here, and wow, has it been hot! This weekend the temperature reached 35 degrees Celcius, that is 95'F for all you northerners. That's hot! (as Paris would say)

thats-hot-hot.gif

I worked this weekend at the antique shop and when the weather is this perfect, most people head for the water. So the store was very quiet, and I was very bored. I spent most of the day updating the website

So. itching (and sweating) to do something to cool down, I drove out to Sunset Beach out on the West Coast. My fave beach, not crowded, and I was the skinniest person there - LOL!! And TLDR - I am not skinny haha.

IMG_7532.JPG

It's one of the most beautiful views, across the bay is our iconic Table Mountain. It is just so stunning to see. The waves are usually pretty tame, so it's perfect for swimming

IMG_7533.JPG

I was there pretty late, when it's this hot you don't want to go too early or else you will become a crisp. I took these photos around 6- 7pm - can you believe it! Perfect sundowner time.

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

My before and after! The water is pretty freezing, it is the Atlantic, but up the West Coast it is a little warmer than in the city - it is so cold in that water that you freeze your bones.

Show me your Wednesday Walk - don't forget to tag @tattoodjay and use the tag #wednesdaywalk

footer.png

Sort:  

Aha! So you came to my neighborhood for a walk did you?

Yeah we would also be down at the beach often but @clairemobey has her knee in a hinged brace so that will have to wait!

She has gotten a lot better though and we should probably go down there with the kids while the summer is still there!

Oh, are you guys up that way? I just love it! I always say if i can ever get the work from home vibe right I’ll move to melkbos - my fave !

Melkbosstrand is amazing. I lived there and went to school there in Grade 3-4, then moved to Table View, which is were I live now. (Ok there was a gap in between where I lived in Orania but I am Capetonian so I came back).

Yeah totally, West Coast for the win! Would probably take me less than 5min to drive from home to where those pics are taken.

Ok, we need a post on Oranjia!

Well I can talk about it, I lived there for 2 years... 7 years ago. But @anikekirsten and her husband, friends of mine still live there, they could possibly be more current. Though it is not usually her style. @anikekirsten is an artist and mostly that kind of thing.

I could totally do with a beach hobble! I'd love to put my toes in the water💖

Wow, that is very hot! Too bad the water is so crazy cold. Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to jump in and swim to cool off?

I grew up on the northwest coast of the U.S. (Pacific Ocean) and one did not go in that water without a wetsuit.

Oh no, I still went in LOL! It’s the only respite on days like that

We have another stinker today! Only 24 degrees C but it feels so much hotter

35C/95F that is a hot one but I would take it at the moment here yesterdays high was 14F which is about -10C, today it will warm up a little getting to 40F about 4C
and going in the evening when its not so hot makes a lot of sense to me and what a beautiful spot to go and cool down

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Haha, I’d love to say I will swop, but I think I am allergic to cold!

I lived in Germany for a while and everyone laughed at my winter coat, which I ended up wearing in spring - had to get a new one for winter 💕

I think as I am getting older I am getting allergic to the cold, and not enjoying winters at all at all LOL

It’s the achy bones hahah

OHh yeah thats so true

You know I never make it out to the Northern beaches much.... And you're right it's so beautiful out there. There are 72 beaches in Cape Town, it might be time to start a beach challange if sorts 🌈🍃🪁☀️
I believe the temperature topped out at 38 degrees in the city on Saturday 😳

Wonderful pic. And you are so cute friends. I tray participate in this ,
😊😊