Walking Down Memory Lane In Grand Bend

in #wednesdaywalk21 days ago

I haven't been through this town in like a year, last time it was just me alone, I parked my car at the Tim Hortons and I walked down the strip to the beach, this time is different I have my wife in the car, so we drove down the strip trying to find a parking spot, all the parking spots along the strip were taken, so we ended up driving all the way to the beach and I parked the car there and got out of the car and looked at the sign and it said seven dollars for one hour parking, I thought that was crazy, they are attempting to make this town like a mini whistler, BC, but without the ski hills. I think that's why the parking prices are soo crazy. So I told the wife to stay in the car and keep six for parking attendants while I go for a little walk.
As I looked at the Ausable River, old memories came flooding in my mind. I lived in this town forty years ago, I was just a child, only five years old, but I remember it like it was yesterday. My Grandma and I would spend time taking long drives down this river in her old boat, exploring the area, just soaking up the sun.
I can still feel the wind in my hair as we cruised down the water, the sound of the waves lopping against the sides of the boat. I would lean over the edge, feeling like I was apart of their world just for a moment.
Grandma would tell me stories about the town, about the people who lived there and the adventures they had. She would point out all the different landmarks, the quaint little shops and the bustling main strip.
As we sailed down the river, I would feel a sense of freedom and wonder wash over me. The world seemed so big and full of possibilities and I couldn't wait to grow up and experience it all for myself. I would dream of all the adventures I would have, the places I would see, the people I would meet.
Looking back now, I realize that those days on the boat with my Grandma were the beginning of my coming of age. They were the moments that shaped me, that sparked my curiosity and thirst for adventure. They were the moments that set me on the path to becoming the person I am today.
Of course I thought I was ready for adventure at that age.
So I had this wild idea that I wanted to run away from home and live in the wood with a dog named Banjo, he was the dog who lived next door. My Grandma would always play along with my fantasies, packing my bags and saying, "off you go, little adventurer"
One day, I actually did it, I grabbed my little backpack, filled with my snacks and blanket, and set into the woods with Banjo by my side. We wondered for hours, exploring the trees and streams, feeling like true explorers in the wilderness.
But as the sun began to set, I started to feel scared. The wood were getting dark and I didn't know my way back home. Banjo sensed my fear and stayed close by, his tail wagging reassuringly.
As we made our way back towards the road, I heard the sound of the cars rushing by, without thinking, I darted out onto the busy hiway, not realizing the danger I was in. Banjo barked frantically trying to get me to come back, but I was too caught up in my own little world.
And then out of nowhere, Banjo leaped in front of me, blocking the path of an oncoming car. The driver slammed on the brakes screeching to a halt just inches away from me. I stood frozen in shock realizing how close I had come to disaster. The driver got out of the cae shaking his head in disbeief "that dog just saved your life, kid" he said patting Banjo on the head. I hugged Banjo and my Grandma came running to the hiway and I thought to myself, maybee I will wait till I'm older to venture out on my own.

Oh wow, I just got caught up day dreaming about my childhood looking at this river, I should finish up my walk and get back to my car soon so I don't get a parking ticket, so I ended up taking a short walk down a big pier, this is a lovely pier.

I finished my walk looking at new buildings in Grand Bend!

I made it back to my car without a parking ticket, woot woot

#wednesdaywalk is led by
@tattoodjay