Marijuana IS Actually Addictive

in #weed7 years ago

joe-rogans-top-best-ufc-mma-quotes.jpg

Okay, before you guys start freaking out on me, let me explain a little bit. Since I started smoking weed, I was one of those people who would fight to the death to argue that marijuana is absolutely not addictive. I smoked it 3 or 4 times a week, and I felt like I could really control my smoking.

However, about 5 months ago, I had a really hard time with some personal issues I was dealing with. Weed at the time began to be more of a way of escaping my stress than a way to relax after a long day. I became ADDICTED. However, weed wasn't necessarily my addiction. I was addicted to anything that gave me a way to escape, whether that was food, drugs, sex, etc. So yes, marijuana can be addictive, but only if you use it to cover up some feelings you are trying to hide. Obviously it isn't physically addictive, but as I said above, the ability to become psychologically addicted to it is there.

Marijuana tends to potentiate whatever feeling you are currently experiencing. When I am happy, smoking bud makes me even happier. When I am stressed, I feel paranoid and even more stressed than before. Now, I am for sure not trying to scare people off of weed or trying to put it in a bad light. What I am saying is this. You can become addicted to gambling, racing, working out, smoking weed, eating ice cream, etc. The point is just that sometimes we can treat weed like it is completely harmless and that it cant affect you on a psychological level. Treat it with respect, and make sure you are in a good place before getting high as a kite.

Keep smoking, cheers

@searchfortruth

Sort:  

I completely agree with what you went through, had to go through it myself a few times and it's important to use weed with a scaredness to it if you know what I mean. Like the addiction starts when you are trying to escape rather than facing what you're escaping from.

When you 'feel' addicted

You're not addicted, you have unresolved issues. Yes, many issues, both physical and mental, feed a desire to escape. :)

Yeah im not saying weed is inherently addicting, but you could develope an addiction if you aren't using it right.