You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week eleven: Win hive for your comment

Ah yes, the age-old problem of time...Never enough of it, I'm with you there.

I'll have a look at that community. I've probably seen some of the posts already but will take a good look. I might find something to curate for @curangel.

Sort:  

Just checked out some of your posts in the pew community. Nice rifle kit. Whats it chambered in?

Depends what you're looking at. My culling rifle is .243 and my long-gun is 6.5mm Creedmoor. I have others, they're not on the blockchain though. I have handguns, shotguns,, revolvers etc. A lot of guns.

Im looking at the 6.5 pretty sure. Never shot 6.5. Shot 5.56, 308, 54r, 300. Know a few guys that really like the ballistic of the 6.5

If it's cerakoted battle worn then yes you are.

Below.

20200808_133344.jpg

Here it is without a filter applied.

Photo 26-5-18, 16 15 12 (2).jpg

It's a flat shooter and perfect for ling range stuff. I shot it out to 1600 metres. I shoot practical long-range competitions around Australia and it's not let me down. I use Strelok Pro as my ballistics calculator and have spent a lot of time working up the perfect load for it, which I make myself so it's a gun I can pick up and work with in total confidence. Of course, all of my guns are reliable and I've tuned them perfectly for my needs.

I have a 556 in a straight pull...Well, not the 5.56 Nato, the .223 civilian round. It's a Warwick WFA1 with a lot of modifications and a good alternative to the AR15 which we are not allowed to own here. I love this little thing and compete with it too, but in run and gun events, not necessarily long range.

P1120686.jpg

Yep, I got me a few guns and share some on The Pew Community when I get the urge. I love the science behind shooting too, the ballistics and of course, making my ammo is fun.

You've shot a few...Whats your favourite?

My buddy has a nemo omen .300 that shoots like a dream. I really enjoy it. I used to have a 700 Remington in .308 and i loved it. I havent shot in two years but ive shot most things. Surprisingly 6.5 is one i havent. Here in the states its largely .308 and 223. Prefer .308 over 30-06. Used to shoot when i could afford it 168grain Hornady match in .308 . Flew really nice.

I shot a .308 for a long time and loved it...Not a 700 Rem though, Tikka T3. Nice round and I shot it to great distance also. I went to the 6.5cm for the flatter trajectory and it has paid dividends for me. I don't cull with the 65 though, I use my .243 for that (Tikka CTR) which you can see in The Pew also. I use the .223 also. Less recoil, quieter and still effective for humane kills at 300m.

6.5 is flatter. Great at 600+ yards. Beats the .308 in that aspect. I never really shot past 800 and did most of my shooting at 400-600 constrained by the ranges i shot at. Have shot out to 1000 before but had to walk the rounds in.

What are you culling? Pig? Roo? Curious cause roo stakes and kanga bangas are awesome. Just gotta know how to cook em right. Used to have an aussie fiance once upon a time and spent a lot of time in Queensland.