You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 46: Your first... [win hive for your comment]

Your niece is very cute. Now she must be a big girl :) I hope you can see her again soon ❤️.

Regarding first times, I want to tell you about the first time I had sleep paralysis. For those who don't know, sleep paralysis occurs when your body is asleep but your mind is not, so you are awake but trapped in your immobile body. In this period, which lasts a few minutes but seems like a long time, your brain begins to hallucinate with panic. It is terrifying.

Well, my first sleep paralysis was during my graduate trip. I remember I was about to fall asleep, when I suddenly realized that I couldn't move. I tried to scream and couldn't. But I was seeing everything around me. I was even saw "someone" standing at the foot of my bed. It was a paralysis-nightmare 😫. It was horrible, horrible. When my body woke up, my heart was beating a thousand times an hour. I woke up all my friends. Nobody understood anything 😂.

To this day I still have these paralyzes frequently, especially in times of big stress when I cannot sleep peacefully. BUT, over the years I managed to control it. I realize that I'm having a paralysis so I stay calm until my body wake up and can move. I no longer let myself be scared if I see horrible things like in nightmares. It is very strange how all this works.

Sort:  

Wow, this sounds terrible! I've not heard of this thing but can imagine it is frightening, especially the first time it happens. You should write a post about it if you have not already. I think it'd be interesting to read.

!ENGAGE 20

Yes, last night while I was writing this comment I thought it would be nice to make a post. Soon I will. Thank you ❤️.

You're welcome, I'll look out for it.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Oh my! I'm so sorry for what you're experiencing and I couldn't think of anything worse especially seeing someone at the end of your bed and not being able to do anything. Such a vulnerable position. It's good that you have gotten a hold of it and it no longer freaks you out anymore.

And that's one of the quietest things I ever saw ... hahahahaha. There are worse.

That's a very interesting first! I've had symptoms very similar to this while attempting to push myself into an out-of-body experience, though my reaction to them was obviously very different, since I had been trying to make it happen.

Have you ever tried moving your 'free' consciousness around while this was happening?

I recently saw a series in which they did those "astral travel" and I thought: ok, this is very similar to the sleep paralysis that I have. But I have never tried to "get out of my body." It's just like I'm awake in my bed, I can see around me, but I can't leave this place, I never tried either. Next time I'll try it :-D.

I hope it works out for you, let me know if you want any tips!

If I've read anything similar, they didn't describe it as well as you just did. It does sound like a nightmare. It's been awhile but I used to get weird seizure things, not what you describe though. How often does it happen?

The last paralysis I had 4 days ago. But the one before that happened several months ago. Lately I sleep late and I don't sleep well. Maybe that's why this also happens to me.

Oh wow so this happens a couple times a year, I'm glad you're able to anticipate them at least. Sounds scary.

Wow, that must be really hard to go through. I remember when I was 8 years old something similar happened to me, I don't know if it was sleep paralysis, but I remember being asleep and suddenly opening my eyes, I saw the figure of a sinister man next to my bed and I wanted to run away but I couldn't move, or scream. It was terrible, I could only close my eyes and pray. Then the feeling passed and when I opened my eyes, the figure was no longer there.

Fortunately I have not had another experience like that, but I remember it as if it had happened yesterday.

Sorry to hear so ... in Vietnam, we have a small tip that you can leave something like a blunt knife under your mattress, I don't know why but that helps a lot when I was a child 🙈