You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I need to lose some weight

in #weight2 years ago

I found that consistency in what you do is probably the number one thing that works for me. With walking, no matter how uninspired I am, I will get out and walk, even if it is for 15 minutes. You build up to where you just want to do more. Your body welcomes it.

If you find something that fits well into your life, you will be more likely to do it. If you have to drive to a gym, buy exotic food that only is available in certain stores... you are going to find it will only work if you make extreme efforts. I like to count my steps walking, but don't use actifit. There was something about posting my everyday exercise online that I didn't like, but, I do a tracker. Walking is cheap and it works. Drinking plenty of water is a bonus. You need that water to flush the junk from your system, and it helps it to become more efficient. Plenty of sleep, no lie! The body works better on it, and it aids in so many different things. Cut the carbohydrates/sugar intake. I don't have sugar in the house unless I am baking. I actually don't miss it, not one bit. Lean meats, fish, and more veggies than fruits.

I will say that I used an exercise video religiously for 8 weeks, every day. The video was 45 minutes long. It is not so much what it did, as much as what it did for me. My entire body started toning up and everything was tighter. This was without diet. Consistency. Honest to God or whoever you worship :)

Walking is great, but, you also will benefit from the movement of your other body parts, and I don't mean lifting. Moving them. I had shin splints too and regularly do calf stretches which seem to help.

Audio books? Arcana Rising - the whole Arcana series is good.

You got this! Now, go toss that sugar! It is easier to kick it when you omit it totally. Only a little bit of sugar keeps that addiction intact.