Going on TV is not all it's cracked up to be !

in #weightloss5 years ago

While I didn't make it onto the biggest loser, I was apart of a TV show for a few months called Today Tonight. (For those outside of Australia, Today Tonight is a show that goes and exposes dodgy businesses, or tells you how to save on your power bills, or stories on people and their plights. In my case in 2008-2009 I was a big boy then and they wanted to do a story with me when I originally did FatManSkinny.

They helped me produce a brand in FatManSkinny, they got me a sponsor in 4321, they got me a personal trainer in which they could constantly film me losing weight.

Now being a much younger man, I was very easily swayed into doing this, they had heard about me wanting to lose weight and thought it would be a great idea to film it and show it to South Australian's.

At first I thought what do I have to lose? but where ever I went, people would stop me and encourage me and tell me a story about a friend who lost weight and looked great. By the 4th time I was on, I thought to myself, what have I done?

We would film sometimes for hours for a single 3 min update story.

Now some people maybe saying.. but Paul, you're here now, instead of TV you are whoring yourself out online, and you'd be correct, but I am older and hopefully smarter now.

This time I have the drive to exercise, there's no external force pushing me to do it, I want to do it and that is why I will succeed this time.

Unlike in 2008 I am not looking to become the next superstar, I want to document my weight loss as I have ALOT to lose, I want to be able to show people it can be done and you can come back from my size.

I never did get that trip to Disney Land that they promised me and one day I thought about going, but I am a DINK (Double Income, No Kids) and think it would be a nightmare to go lol.

I thought over the years of applying for the shows, but I really could not put up with 18 hour days just for 1 hour of exercise.

There is room in social media for us to be able to share our story, I love reading many kinds of stories across the internet.

So you may see me lose 100,150KG, I certainly have no intention to go onto TV Shows like the biggest loser tho, they set an unrealistic expectation towards our bodies, and pushing it to the limit of puking teaches you nothing.

Lose weight by changing your lifestyle and your mindset.

This is one of the reasons why I don't want to go onto the biggest loser or shows similar, read THIS article

(It's not only the fact that alot of the shows contestants regain weight because they don't have the healthy mindset after the show, the media scrutiny by main stream media is abhorrent. In saying that I have a friend who did go on the show, did lose the weight and kept it off, he was motivated and determined after the show.
()
Sort:  
Loading...

🎁 Hi @fatmanskinny! You have received 1.0 STEEM tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Fireflies: Pupa (Book 2, Entry 27) - A Fine Line Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @fatmanskinny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Firstly welcome to Steemit and I think you will find it a great place to document your journey its an amazing and supportive community

I look forward to following your post son your journey and you seem to have the right mindset now

Lose weight by changing your lifestyle and your mindset. is so key I do believe

Thanks for the welcome. Appreciate it. Paul

Posted using Partiko iOS

Most welcome :) enjoy your time on here :)

I’m rooting for you!