What Would You Do If You Became God For A Day?

in #whatif7 years ago

0.jpg

Have you watched the movie, “Bruce Almighty”? If you have, you will understand exactly what I am trying to ask here. Say you woke up one fine morning and you were given the power of a god for one single day.

It would be upon you to use those powers as you see fit with no restrictions whatsoever! In the movie, Morgan Freeman (God) had placed two restrictions on Jim Carrey’s character stating that he could neither tell anyone about his powers nor interfere with free will but, let’s do away with those in our scenario.

What would you do with all that power? I know the possibilities are endless, because god is supposed to literally be the most powerful being there is who can basically do whatever they wanted and bestowing all that power upon a human could end up in any number of ways.

I was curious about this and I asked my friends and even some of my relatives the same question. Also, I read a lot of responses that people gave to similar questions online and let me tell you, people’s imagination never ceases to amaze me!

What People Said…

1.jpg
Image Credits

One of my friends answered that the first thing he would do is get himself half of the world’s Bitcoins! haha! Another friend of mine said that he would fill enough warehouses with potato chips to last him a life time. I am friends with really weird people now that I think about it!

One friend however, thought beyond earthly matters. Literally. She said that she would like to have a universe of her own where she was god. Creative, to say the least.

If you look online for what people have to say, you will find all sorts of crazy answers. Someone said they would interchange heaven and hell!! Some people, I tell you! Someone else said that they would take human form and play godly pranks on everyone all day long!

There are some serious answers too that people have given which I’m sure you can guess and might want to do the same. At least I would like to do some good for the day I have those powers.

What I Would Do


Spend time solving problems like a baus!

Life can sometimes put you into situations where you feel totally helpless. Despite all your power, energy, wealth and what not, you literally cannot do anything in such circumstances and it is exactly these people I would help first.

I know, the movie “Bruce Almighty” showed that it would be very difficult if not impossible to answer all the prayers of all the people in the world. Sometimes two prayers might be in contradiction to one another and you could only answer one. And sometimes it’s best not to answer the prayers of some particular people.

That’s why I would solve humanity’s largest problems so that the benefits of that would all trickle down to the individual level. First ones to be gone will be poverty, income disparity, diseases, educational inequality, the damage to the environment and so on.

Also, I would give humanity the secret to space travel so that we can finally become a space faring civilisation. As a human that is my biggest wish for humanity to achieve as soon as possible and if I was god for a day, I would make sure that, that happens.

What Would You Do?

3.jpg
Image Credits

I am sure you must have thought about it at least once in your life. If not, do think and let me know what you would do if you were given god-like power for only a day.

Also note that I am not opening a discussion about whether or not god exists, so let’s not have that discussion. Just comment about what you would do or have always wanted to do.

Also, please don’t be “that guy” and say, “If I was god, I would make myself god forever!” Let’s hear it from you folks. I am sure the answers are gonna be very creative! The best one wins 10 Steem.

Sort:  
Loading...

The preface exits? Magic cruises into God. Above magic swims a continent amateur. Magic relieves God. God loves magic. Why does magic stamp below the packaged relief?

The Goddess of Magic, Winter and Love, is eerily beautiful, with pale skin, shoulder length, flowing dark golden hair, and eyes the color of dark earth. She is surprisingly short and slightly plump, and often looks sly. She usually wears stylized armor dyed green-brown. She is also associated with the wind, charisma and duels. She is often worshipped by wanderers. Her few followers can be primarily distinguished by the ritual greetings they use. There are widespread statues of her in mountains. There are many myths involving her illicit relationship with Arounoal. She is the mother of Roi. She is known to challenge mortals with quests.

Seeing a ginger plant on a sunny day sometimes foretells coming troubles.

It might just be me, but I didn't understand what you meant!

Understand vanishes on top of me. Theory unites confusion without a color.

I would create several permenant portals around the world with all of them having the same ability. Anyone stepping into it can go to any imaginary universe they wish! Be it comic universes like marvel or DC, books like Harry Potter or game of thrones, heaven or hell, or any possible universe that can exist, limited only by one's imagination.

oh wow, that would be so awesome!! I would permanently live in that Marvel universe :D but sometimes venture out into game of thrones and harry potter's too :D

And consider that you can bring your own crossovers! :D

Awesomeness times infinity :D

I will definitely use the mighty power to upvote all my post. Then iI can become the god here in steemit lol...

LOL. You should use your powers to become a Mega whale :D

That is quiet a power to handle but will make sure i end the shortage of food at some parts of the world.Make hunger a thing of the past.End all the unrest at some parts of the globe and hold the right people accountable.Bring lasting peace to middle by uniting them.Create an impartial U.N with all the necessary resources so that they wont answer to any powerful country.Also.end unemployment making every household has a stable cashflow and standard of living.Finally make basic needs like food,shelter,clothing,education and medical care free across the globe.
There is more....this is just some major ones

Yes, those are the main ones that need to be addressed. Shame that despite all the technology we have, billions of people are struggling to meet even the basic needs of life.

Yeah is very sad.with all this technological advancements still there are places across where they do not have access to good drinking water talk less of electricity and good healthcare

As this question is asked on steemit, I want to keep imagination here only.
I would like to be the only whale here and become the god of most creative people on earth.
And what would they want from me?
Only a single click on their thoughts converted into posts.
Well, I could reason with them and provide that only to some.
Being god would be an interesting and easy task for the day I guess.

As a matter of fact i have been with the powers of a whale for a day... And i must say that day was super awesome....

Wish I could do that too....

haha such a life even for a day would be absolutely amazing!! :D

become rich

That could happen with a snap of the fingers!

I'd do several things:

  • End colonialism before it started
  • Make India a superpower
  • Remove corruption
  • Add a few more moons around the earth(looks good you know :D )
  • There would be no terrorism
  • There wouldn't be any nuclear warheads, nuclear energy will only be used to generate electricity
  • Enabled Tesla to have built his free energy machine
  • Everyone will have the same religion, caste, race
  • And a lot more things that I could think of.

I think all these would instantly advance the world a 1000 years in the future and I love it!! :D

Thanks :))

I would raise everyone's IQ to 250, offer a way for people to learn new languages and skills matrix-style, and have everyone be able to telepathically share their world experiences with everyone else.

If one Einstein can change the world forever, imagine what 7.5 billion Einsteins could do! I think we will learn 100,000 years worth of knowledge in like a day!! That would be awesome :D

And to clarify, by having everyone able to easily share world experiences, I would hope that would spread more knowledge, experience, and "compassion" for one another as well. Just some thoughts, as always, still a "work in progress"! :)

If everyone's IQ is raised, only a few would be left, rest slaves and most would be killed.
No guess why only human rule this world of all species and why slavery prevailed for so long.

Hmmm.. Never thought that way. Interesting viewpoint.

High five!!

First thing I would do is fly around a bit. I have always wanted to fly. Thats the reason that I am #paragliding now. (beginner stages) And I know its selfish. But then I would take time to love people. Heal the hurting, hug the scared, befriend the lonely, and love the unlovable.

haha I would definitely zoom in and out the clouds for at least an hour. That would be so awesome!

Also, there can never be too much love. The world surely needs a lot of it right now :)

I would create a second human civilisation in alpha centauri with no knowledge of us, and make them believe they had evolved there. I would make it so that they would immediately discover/make contact with us. This would cause both civilisations great confusion, and pose more questions than it would answer.

haha, that would be so awesome if that happened in real life. Who knows one day it might!! Lots of confusion and questions for sure!

If i were god, All humans would be women and I'm the only guy :D

Damn! That's one heck of a wish!! ;)

Well, this is going to sound soapy but if I got to be God for a day...I'D MAKE EVERYONE GOD FOR A DAY. Who am I to command somewhat change or dictate what could ultimately affect others, instead let everybody have a re-do just like me and after that nobody should make excuses of how life turned out after! Cheers!

7.5 billion gods? Imagine the chaos. Not everyone deserves to be god ;)

it's only gonna be for a day =) think of the good people wishing...keep it positive!

Good post.. i'm following you please follow me and give me upvoted

Thanks for the follow :)

I would destroy cancer.

That's great, I would have erased cancer from the history, so many people would not have died.

Exactly

yeah, I second that!!

Ha ha! Great share indeed @sauravrungta!
However, being the God is really not a very good idea though!
Keep us engaged!
Resteemed + upvoted + followed..
Do some favor to me also mate. Let's grow together!
Have a look at my blog. You'll love it!
@akr007

yeah, I doubt that a human could fathom the entirety of the power if bestowed upon him.

Create a host of lesser gods to help out, of course!

haha and let them do all the work while you chill on a cloud sipping wine! I like it ;)

Exactly!

I would make all the pain and suffering go away....

Me too brother! Me too :)

:-) good we share the same view :-)

Set up a business that will run on its own, invest in stocks, crypto so i can fully take care of solving problems around the world.

Why not immediately have like $1 trillion dollars and do it the easy way? :D

Well, there are a few reasons:

  1. It feels great to know that you are paying someone's bread with the business you created.
  2. I don't take thinks for granted. I like to work for what I have.
  3. I like keeping an eye in technical/ business aspects.
  4. I am feeling useful in this world for creating something that people need or enjoy.
  5. The list can go on :)

All great points. Appreciate it :)

Being god, i would help everyone who don't have hapiness to reach this level of satisfaction, because i think the goal in life is to have hapiness in our life.

Yep, I would spread happiness like candy!!

If I was God I would not have created the snake...

....and the mosquito! Never forget the mosquito!

Ha ha...and the fly...never forget the annoying fly!

and the bedbug! Never forget.....we could do this all day long :P

😁We are messing up whole Eco-system here!

haha that's right!! As gods, we shouldn't do it ;)

Honestly first thing. Make that day last forever

So, god for eternity then? ;)

I would stop all evil in the world.

yup, definitely no. 1 on my list of things-to-do as a god.

Simple answer. I would make that none will ever need to work again if they don't want to. Everybody gets what they want but only if what they want does not hurt the others.

This will create a utopian world for sure. Not sure about the repercussions but it sure sounds awesome!

Of course I would use my god power to make sure, that I stay god forever (not just one day). :-D

hahaha, I knew there had to be that one guy ;) :P

Of course. One day is such a short time. :-)

I havn't seen the movie. But I will immediately leave the scene. My brain is too limited to handle the role of God. Otherwise, a big mess can occur. I hope to educate a child who can consume much of its potential compared to me. I'm sure we are going to use 100% of our brain very soon. Probably several more generations ... Thеn ...

It is very much possible that a human might not even handle 1% of the power of a god and then you might not trust yourself with it too. I appreciate your choice!

I would wake up all the sleeping sheep(third eye!) and maybe have some fun with other dimensions, time and immortality ;)

If you are god, I doubt you would want to have fun with other dimensions, time etc. because a god is supposed to be beyond all that even, am I right?

If I became God for a day, I would immediately grant myself God-ship for the rest of eternity :P.

hahaha that one guy ;) I say this, but I can't help think that I would want to do the same :P

The subject of a friendly friend is possible and thanks

I would take away all the money from someone who screwed me over and treated me like crap and all because he had more money than me. Then I would make him come to a point where he has no choice but to ask me, and no one else, for some money and then I would deliver the lesson to him in a loud, God-shouting-down-at-you voice... Let him squirm for a couple of years before giving his wealth back to him tenfold.

Then I would move to more important matters. I would eradicate the differences between my parents and help them reverse their divorce. I should be able to do that, right? I would know what each one of them is thinking and feeling. No misunderstandings will be left. Besides, I'll be God: nothing is impossible for me, right?

Then I would probably go back in time and tell myself to join Steemit on day one, power up like I'm mad all the way and be the most active person on there, because HF-19 is on the way. I'll probably be like "HF-19?? WTF is that?" and I would tell myself "Don't ask, just do. Trust me you will thank me later."

And then I would use up my last remaining time in power to do random acts of kindness to people in need. That's what God does, right???

Bruce Almighty was an insanely hilarious movie by the way :)

I don't think in "god-mode" you would even want to take revenge on those that have wronged you. But that is just me. Also, I totally agree with the Steemit thing. Joining on day 1 means today's whale for sure :D

If I become GOD then by default I will own this universe thus I won't have to worry about acquiring worldly things I since I will be the rightful owner. But maintaining peace will be a difficult thing since you human beings will always annoy me by your cruel activities thus I will invent Peace gas to keep you guys calm and spray it all over the universe and chill forever.

Please don't ask what will I do if I run out of this GAS

Peace gas seems like a nice idea. Definitely need that one and tons of it!!!