So, here's a little about me

in #whoami6 years ago

Since, I'm going to be on here alot more, I feel like it would be a good idea to let you know who I am and what I'm about.

I'm currently a junior in high school. I play the Alto and Tenor saxophones in band, and I'm deeply interested in things like mechanical engineering and technology.

Technology has been an interest of mine for as long as I can remember. When I was about 5 years old, I discovered my brother's Super Nintendo. (Yes that's right. I'm a junior in high school and my first exposure to tech was a Super Nintendo) I was fascinated that you could put a cartridge in a hole, and a world would come alive on the screen. As I grew up more, I got exposed to more advanced systems and at every level I was more intrigued at the power of the hardware. It wouldn't be until 7th grade however, that I would fully begin to understand the potential that technology has. In 7th grade, I decided that I wanted to build my own gaming computer, because at that point, I thought I was going to become a programmer or technological engineer. I did research on different parts, mainly focused on getting the best system for a cheap price. In 8th grade, my mind was blown yet again, as I discovered bitcoin and the blockchain. I didn't fully understand it, but I was amazed that there was a currency that was fully digital. Lunch time discussions were about the price of bitcoin and whether or not we should buy any. Sadly we didn't buy any bitcoin back when the price was bellow 600 dollars, as we were 8th graders with no real money to invest. Moving on to high school, I fell into a pit Freshman year, and got obsessed with jailbreaking apple devices. I was constantly tweaking my phone, mindlessly installing without understanding the technology. Sophomore year I had begun to understand the terrible practices of Apple, with their sweatshops and overcharged premiums. Near the end of last year, I started to explore different free software projects and Linux distributions. Last year I discovered Steemit, and I started to learn more and more about the blockchain and what it can do for our world. This year, I expirimented with cryptocurrency mining, and trying to figure out what's profitable. Of course, much more has happened in my life so far, but it would be unreasonable to put everything here.