THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 9 - GRAY TREE FROG

in #wild-man7 years ago

The #wild-man is also friends with some pretty cool frogs!


The Gray Tree Frog (Hyla versicolor) is a pretty amazing tree frog. It is an arboreal frog that spends a lot of its adult life up in the trees. Often, it can be found at heights over 20 feet.

The color-changing camouflage capabilities of this frog are also incredible. It can change through many shades and combinations of green and gray. The inside of the rear legs also have an amazing yellow color.

Their spot in the food chain puts them right above the insects that they eat and right below the snakes, birds, smaller mammals, and large frogs that eat them. Also, since they are not an aquatic species, they hibernate on land by replacing the water in their vital organs with glycerols, so that over 75% can actually freeze for the winter!

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 9

GRAY TREE FROG


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-gray-tree-frog



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

It's cool.

I think so too!

Wow man, how do you know so much about 🐸's 🤔🤔🤔 where do you live?

Congratulations @papa-pepper!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 9 with 631 upvotes

@papa-pepper Dope material you have there the WILD MAN. I wonder why you love animals soo much !!

I am glad that you like it. They are really cool, aren't they?

Great camouflaging ability. That frog matches the tree and we only know there's a frog there because you mentioned it. We learn and get to see so much through your blog posts.

Thank you for that. I like sharing about these creatures.

Always thrilling!!! @papa-pepper
Upvoted.

For a second I read "Gay Tree Frog" and I was wondering how would he know? @papa-pepper

Perhaps I should have spelled it GREY instead.

There you go, this is your chance to redeem yourself :D

So cool. :) I miss living in a place where there are frogs. There's literally NONE where I live now. When I was a kid I used to have so much fun watching them and catching (and releasing) them haha.

Thankfully, we have always had a good number of them around.

Just learned something new wild man. Frogs in trees. Thanks.

Way up there! Thanks man!

Wow thats cool. I always learn stuff from you.

Glad to hear it! thank you.

Whats is with the picture of the tree trunk?

Really, or is that a joke?

If really, I can help.

If joke, I can laugh.

I hugged that tree, and it hugged me back!

YOU ROCK! keep being awesome!

Ok, I will! Thanks!

Very cool. We have Colorado River Toads here in Tucson that show up when the rains come. We get them in our yard and one of our dogs will lick one every chance she gets, and doing so makes her "high" for lack of a better word. She'll wander around the house for 30 minutes or so after that. It's very strange-and she must like it because she does it every chance she gets. She's 13 years old and has been doing that every summer for as long as I can remember.

Thank you for your posts! It's always great to hear about the creatures living among us.

Very good post :)

That's a pretty cool frog I have an aquatic African Clawed Albino Frog.

Pretty good ventriloquist trick, but I can see the frogs lips moving!!!!😂😂😂😂

your kids must be having a blast with you as their papa-pepper 😉. when i was a youngster i loved going out with my friends to catch frogs and other critters - things were a lot easier then

You are a animal lover :D Great video, thanks for sharing with us!

I appreciate your interest and love for animals and reptiles...great guy, keep it up

you find some pretty amazing creatures.. cool

@papa-pepper great post dude love frogs man keep uploading wicked work

I don't mind looking at frogs but not keen on touching them

I do not know about you, but I do not do that.

Saw my first Gray Tree Frog a few years ago and was absolutely positive I had found some new species.

It's hard to believe how much their appearance changes and how big they grow from such tiny little frogs.

@herpetologyguy posted an interesting piece about the way they pick up chicks about a week ago.

What a freaking cute frog! I miss living in the east coast where we had frogs popping up here and there.

Awesome, just freakin awsome!! Keep up the good work!!

Yes, but how do they taste?

I haven't licked a frog yet!

@papa-pepper is this the next "Bear Grylls" of Steemit Haha ? Great post !!

Way to capture the personality of that little frog in the third photo, with the straight-on view! That's worth entering into your county fair!

I thought of you when I found this baby gator on my front lawn by the pond the other day! :D

Their camo ability is quite amazing. I love tree frogs, their ability to grip onto seemingly smooth surfaces is very cool. Thanks for sharing.

Hi! Actually that's what I came to say, since it has been some time since we've crossed paths ;) I took a peek down your page and Awesome papa! I'm so happy for you!
I thought of you because the last time I saw a meetup post was when you were with stellabelle and company. I finally got to do a meetup, and wow what an experience! If you get a moment, i would love for you to read it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dreemit/steemit-the-true-global-community-and-the-world-exactly-as-it-should-be

wow the camouflage is amazing! Thank you for sharing!

Awesome blog man. I go out bush a lot here in Oz. I'm heading out in the next couple of months, I'll have to upload the cool stuff we have here!

Wow.... hehehe... i hate frogs... ewwww.... (^_^)

You are wild my brotha... Some pretty cool videos, thanks again!

I don't know how you find all these animals. It's amazing.