THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 7 - PYGMY RATTLESNAKE

in #wild-man7 years ago

This is my first Pygmy Rattlesnake for 2017!


I never met any venomous snakes until I moved down to Arkansas. Last year, we found three of these Pygmy Rattlesnakes (Sistrurus miliarius).

Though these little rattlesnakes are venomous, they do not produce a lot of venom, so it is unlikely they a bite would kill an adult. However, they are still dangerous and pose a threat to children.

With a home-range of much of Southeastern United States, they can be a fairly common snake. Their camouflage and smaller size can make them harder to find. They rarely grow over two feet.
The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 7

PYGMY RATTLESNAKE


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-pygmy-rattlesnake



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

wow those are some really tiny rattles.... can't wait for you to get your own Cable TV show @papa-pepper !

You are not the first to say that... but here, at least they have no commercials!

well at least you aren't saying no to the idea. I know some people who know some people... I will put the word out, ya never know. Can I get a finders fee if I hook it up... lol. Ok ok at least one guest appearance, ok ok then just a mention on the credits at the end of the show ....ya never know.

I'm down. Let me know.

Totally agree. You could be like the Steve Irwin of Arkansas. Haha. I'd watch that show. 😀

Loading...

My review of the series so far : The videos are great and informative, so good in fact that when the video ends you wish it could last a bit longer. It's nice to see you comfortable with the animals the way nature intended it. I've come to understand that most of my fears of wild animals are caused by a lack of knowledge and understanding of the animals. Much like people they also have different characteristics and personalities. I respect all life and I can tell you do too. I respect them even more as my fear for the wild life is slowly subsiding each and every video I watch. It's also a relief to know that whenever I'm in a pinch with wild animals, I can take a step back and think 'what would Papa Pepper do?'. Unlike most content yours has an actual purpose tha's why you've involuntarily became a legend in my mind. Thank you for your great work.
I'm a fan.

WOW! Thank you so much. I'll try to make them a little longer without rambling! Thanks again!

It's a pleasure.

awesome looking rattlesnake

Snakes send shivers down my spine i can't even run when i see a snake! I don't think i can master your guts even to save my sorry life. I'm sure if ibwas to escape a snake it would make human jokes about me and how i pee'd myself!

Your balls need a crane to lift if you can hold a snake like that!

It truly is a beautiful snake. But I must say that if I were to encounter one in the wild I would definitely not go near it or try to pick it up. To me it seems like one of the most painful things is to be bitten by a venomous snake

Thanks, just a little bit more knowledge on snakes now, little by little every day I'm gaining so much!

cute little fellow!

Very cool pictures and videos again!

It is fun to have a reason to record what I'm up to, thanks steemit!

For the love of God please don't take them any more nearer to your face man!

Good thing I did not post the selfie of me holding it in my mouth then....

HOW CAN I OVERCOME SNAKE FEAR? ? ? YOU HAVE ANY ADVICE?

Cheers

Se if you can find someone who owns a Ball Python and ask if you can check it out. Most of the time, people are more afraid of they think snakes are, rather than what they actually are.

Find a docile one that won't bite and slowly check it out.

Maybe they have something in my local ZOO, and I'll try to handle it somehow...

When I saw Ragnar die in that hole, was totally frightened and was unable to move, I was terrified let's just leave it at that :P

THANKS! LONG LIVE THE KING @papa-pepper

Nice danger noodle. Glad to see you have the proper grip on it. Beautiful markings.

One of the prettiest danger noodles around here!

I will never touch a snake in my life now lol :)

This is like national geographic or animal planet but up close and more realistic. They've now been replaced by your content. Off to episode 1 hope it's good.

If you do check them all out, please tell me what you think. They are fun for me to make, so I am glad that others enjoy them too!

I'll leave a review on each one that I watch. Should be fun.

Thanks! I appreciate it!

Oh gosh, I love this! I have an animal rescue in Appalachia, and we live on a creek. A whole herd of water pilots live along the banks, and they keep most other species too intimidated to move in on us, except the black rat snakes. I love our snakes here and forbid anyone to harm them. And yes, I handle them when necessary, like last year when a succession of black rat snakes climbed our porch railings after a nest of baby finches. I released all three of those whoppers in the woods. I think I'm going to enjoy your posts. :-)

Finally, I found it! Past bedtime, but googled animal rescue in Appalachia, and this one comment was the only search result. Dang. Popular post, Snake Man! So many comments to scroll through. I love snakes. Years ago I feared our two collies were killing one. I captured it and took it to a nature center. They laughed. Nope, not guts spilling out from a dog bite... those are BABIES. And they said to take mama snake home and put her back where I found her. Eep! She was hissing and striking at me from the bottom of the bucket, but I took her home. And did NOT put her back in the front yard, but on the other side of the fence so my dogs wouldn't pester her again. To this day, I see great big fox snakes and wonder if they're her babies, all grown up now...

You may like this video if you are dealing with multiple snakes at the same time.

Great vid and post.

Thank you @jagged! It is what I like to do.

That is a very beautiful rattlesnake! I live around the western diamond back. It isn't nearly as colorful. Thanks for the post, don't get bit!!

I'd like to meet one of those one day!

I can't believe...I'm afraid just watching snakes...

They are not as scary on the screen, are they?

Definitely Wild Friends. But, appreciate your courage to catch that venomous little fatty one. Maybe you are gonna see few of them every now and in the back yard I guess..Good video. UpVote will follow

Thank you @fairbee! I like them, even they are venomous. I'll try to stay safe!

I'm not usually bit on snakes but you made them sound quite interesting. Although I'm still not sure how you can hold one. Loving the posts man.

Thank you, glad you liked it.

most rattle bites cases happens when one walks over the rattle snake not seeing it,so next time watch carefully when you are near the rattle habitat!

Or when people try to capture and handle them. Just saying. ;-)

Hi @papa-pepper, AH Heck NO!!! That last pic of the snake looked scary! Like I said in the past, you are brave. Just be Careful :)

Careful it is. Thanks for the concern.

You're the snake man of Steemit @papa-pepper.

Lol, amongst other things! Thanks!

thats pretty badass man

Bonus points for having the rattlesnake make a cameo in my rap entry?

if you rap with a rattlesnake man, i dunno how any of the other dudes are going to stand a chance, do it!

Very cool. :D Where do you take them to relocate them? Have you ever been bitten by any of the snakes you've found?

Great video and good close up of the fangs. Thanks for sharing. :D

I've been bit by a lot of them, but just the nonvenomous ones. I relocate them in areas away from people and homes.

I'm glad you've never gotten poisoned by any, and hope that tradition continues for many decades to come. :D

Its very cool that you relocate them instead of just killing them. :D

Brother, you have bigger balls than I do. I don't handle rattle snakes! No sir! Enjoyed as always.

Thankfully, you don't have to.

I'm scared in any kind of snake even is not poisonous. I cannot even look at them near me. Scary!!! Upvote and follow you

frog can to in eat snake
Of course very happy if we give to the snake
https://steemit.com/animal/@ades/water-frogs-are-again-romantic

Good episode..
But what with the chain around your neck ? :D

Good to know here at home we have the puff adders they can strike extremely fast from an S-like coiled position- and at .25 of a second they recon its one of the fastest striking snake in the world

Puff Adder venom  is cytotoxic, it is considered one of the most toxic of any viper snake species

We are working on the Brighton Indian Reservation in Florida. When we first moved here we lived on the rez in an RV. I used to look down everywhere I walked so as not to step on one of these pygmy rattlers because they were all over the place! Then one day as my husband and I were walking on a PAVEMENT driveway, I was looking down as always to make sure I didn't step on anything. I never saw it! Neither did my husband!! I was wearing sandals and my heel was on the pavement and I just stopped mid step. My subconscious must have seen it (or the Holy Spirit warned me!) because I just didn't feel I should finish that step. I stopped, put my foot back beside the other one and crouched down. THERE was a pygmy rattler right there!!! I would have stepped right on it!! After that experience and not being able to see it while watching for it on a driveway, I stopped looking down. I just trust the Lord to keep me safe out there because their camouflage is perfect. He is the only One who can keep us safe. We have been here 16 years and have never been bitten. I intended to write a post about this one day but looks like I just did, huh? LOL Thanks for sharing. Oh! By the way, we had an Indian friend who was in the hospital three weeks after getting bitten by a pygmy! They have some nasty venom!

I like your wisdom at the end there: "Do as Papa Pepper Says not as Papa Pepper Does!"

Ssssssssuper cool! 🐍

hey @papa-pepper ... you are as awesome as ever ! were you intentionally looking for these snakes ?
as always upvoted, resteem & follow cheers

Nice job and a few good pictures in there too.l love your work

I don't not like snakes, but I can't see myself touching them. You're a great presenter.

@papa-pepper The rattle is super small. They say that here in Arizona rattle snakes are being born without rattles because so many of the ones were killed with rattles that the trait that gets carried forward is ones without rattles. I don't know if that is true or not.

Oh, snakes give me creeps, when I look at you guys, I got the feeling you're a little crazy

The fight-or-flight tingle started up in me when you put your fingers in such proximity to the snake's fangs to open its mouth up. You are really daring and seem to be totally in control with that snake, even caressing its belly.

Must admit, I was straining a bit to hear a rattle, to compare with the simulated 'rattle' I heard in Singapore Zoo ;)

I see another Steve Erwin in the making.