I hate Windows 10

in #windows4 years ago

Hiddenblade gif wip.gif

GIF of a painting that I'm currently working on



5 years ago, a laptop that I once owned had Windows 8.1 as its default operating system. Then later it was forcing me to upgrade to Windows 10 as it was new at that time, so upgrading was free. It won't stop until I upgrade it so I gave it a try. At the first upgrade, it was smooth. Then days later I started to have problems with it like the Start button won't pop up when pressed, and many others that I really don't remember LOL. In the end, I went back to Windows 8.1.

Days ago, I bought a new laptop and it has Windows 10. I thought hmm I'm gonna have problems with this for sure and guess what, I'm having problems with it now. Haha.


Black screen!

Days after getting my laptop, I noticed it won't actually restart and would just show me a black screen. No matter what I do or press, it just won't show me anything else than a black screen even though I can hear the fan and the system itself still on.

I don't think this is the black screen of death though, since I can still turn it on after forcing it to shut down when I'm stuck by pressing the power button on the actual device. I noticed it started to happen when I installed some updates so I was almost certain the problem is Windows and not the hardware.

Other functions are okay so far. The shut down and power on is okay, just the restart is not doing anything good. And restart is very important as most apps do require the PC to restart when changes have been made.

Another thing is that cmd.exe and cscript.exe pop up during startup. I researched about this on different forums and even tried to contact Microsoft support but I had no solutions until now. I also did a PC reset (warranty says it's fine) and it's still the same.

Now I'm just stuck trying to do something light that doesn't involve installing big apps until I can take this laptop to the store for help (since they know better).


WTH you doing Windows

It's just pretty annoying to know that it's been 5 years since the first release of Windows 10 and I'm still reading a lot of issues from different users. I mean for sure there's no perfect program but it seems that these issues are quite common and all I can hear from them is just accept that they have to use Windows 10 now since most of the apps are built for it and all we can do is wait for updates from them that actually help.

For now, I'm just maximizing my time and started painting on Photoshop and also tried screen recording for a timelapse.

This lockdown and Windows issues are not a good combination and it seems like we are gonna have a lockdown again tomorrow, so hopefully I can still take it to the store for them to fix this OR have a replacement in case they find out that the actual problem is the laptop itself which is quite unlikely.

Sort:  

I also had issues with Windows a few weeks ago after I had reinstalled it due to the Blue screen of death. It then would not recognize my hard drive even though it was partitioned using Windows. However, when I tried with Ubuntu, it recognized instantly. 😶

@nathansenn also commented on Twitter about installing Ubuntu but I don't know how to do that! And I'm not sure if I'd want to use an OS that I'm not familiar with especially I'm not so techy hahah. What did you decide in the end? Did you go for Windows still?

I now have dual OS, both Windows 10, and Ubuntu. Since you use designing tools such as Photoshop, you should definitely stick with Windows. Ubuntu doesn't support that or has a good alternative.

Aaaaa this must feel so frustrating! I hope you manage to get it fixed so you can happily create your art🎨

It is! I can tolerate slow internet connections but I really can't tolerate lags and issues on the computer lol. Hopefully tomorrow!

🤞🤞🤞

This doesn't actually sound like a Windows problem, rather a computer problem. Can you get the Bios screen up or is the screen completely dead? 1 thing it may be is that the computer is outputting to the HDMI, maybe try and see if you can connect it to a TV.
I do like the idea of moving away from Windows and using Linux but you would have an issue if you want to use Adobe software and it is a much more complex system than Windows, not for the tech faint hearted.
Hope you get it resolved.

The screen is completely dead when it happens. I haven't tried connecting it to another screen since I don't have one. :/ Or I don't know if I can even connect it to my old laptop? lol. I heard it can be a driver issue, but I don't know really.

With the BIOS, hmm, I got to the BIOS only before the account is signed up during power on. But during restart, it just really shuts down and turns the screen black and does nothing else until you force it to shut down. Even pressing F2 for the BIOS just doesn't work during that time. If this is a computer problem then hopefully they'll just replace it since tomorrow is the 7th day for the 7-days replacement rule.

And that will be a problem with me though since I use mostly Adobe and I have been using it now for years. So maybe no to Linux for me this time. :/

Sorry to say but it doesn't sound good. Maybe try wiggling the screen, it could be that the cable inside came loose. Can you hear any sound of harddrive (is it had one) spinning up of activity light? All that said I would get straight back on to where you bought it, this should not happen with a new computer.

Haha if I wiggle it I'm afraid I might break it! Yeah during that time there's the usual sound of activity as it is when I use it but I only have SSD not hard drive. But yeah I'll send it back tomorrow even if it means avoiding the checkpoints 😂

Too bad you have that hidden problem. I hope you can solve it soon.

Hello dear Hidden, my laptop with which I draw is Windows 10, I bought it used and it came with that version of the operating system and in my case it only gives me problems when activating the Internet, it gets super slow and starts to download a lot of things I have no idea oh and if the Internet is slow it suddenly goes off hehehehehe thing that happens to me all the time since my Internet is slow. XD

Of the rest I have no complaints and that black screen is not placed at the time of restarting so you must wait and see what they tell you in the store when you go.

Good luck with that and regards dear. ;)