Mr. Ralph's Adventures: Chicago

in #windy6 years ago (edited)

Today's adventure takes us to the windy city aka Chicago, where the pizza dishes are deep and the second city that never sleeps.

This trip marks the first time I have been into the city center of Chicago, as before I only saw every angle of the airport known as Chicago O'Hare. Many of you have probably passed through this airport if you travel in the northeast of the United States.

Here below was the iconic Chicago Bean which really came to shine even on a cloudy day.

20180122_132108.jpg

Did you know at one time Chicago was known to have the 4th tallest building in the world known as the Sears Tower.
Now it is referred to as Willis Tower, but to the ones that knew it from the beginning will always call it Sears Tower.

I was able to have a small meal and some tasty drinks as we visited the top floor bar and lounge.

20180122_175657.jpg

The views were spectacular from every angle!

20180122_191323.jpg

During the short time spent in the windy city, I was able to do a tour of the Method Home Soap manufacturing facility.

Did you know this is home to the largest rooftop greenhouse in the USA?!? I sure didn't. The building even has its own windmill and solar panels in the parking lot to generate renewable energy for manufacturing. The land surrounding the factory is also been preserved to the natural landscape for preservation. They even have bee hive homes located on the property.

20180122_164014.jpg

All in all the trip was a great success and I am looking forward to returning one day soon.

20180122_132542.jpg

Steem on my friends!!! :)

Sort:  

Dude! Glad to see you posting again! Awesome pictures of Chicago.
#virginiatech #hokies on Steemit will love the gnome. 👍

Yes! It was the gnome that sucked me in. As for the actual pictures, those are really sweet too, haha

There are a lot more gnome pictures to come. If you could pick one plave to travel where would it be?

I'll be on the lookout for them!

That's tough - I actually have never been out of the country so I'd probably have to say somewhere in Europe. My wife is about to have our first baby so it'll probably be a good while until I get to really travel, haha

In regards to the Europe comment, sorry it has been a while as I have had my gnome account hacked and lost a ton of awesome data to share. My plan was to post the next episode on Europe based on your comment. Either way hope everything has gone great with your newborn!

Dude that sucks, but welcome back! I saw you replied and was like who the hell is that? Then looked and was like ohhhh yeaaa, him, haha. So far so good! Had a little girl, Tilly. She's almost 6 months now, time is flying. Hope all has been well with you too!

V.Nice post I Like Your Post

Please Follow Me @rehanshah And Upvote My Post
Thank You

Congratulations @ralph101! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!