You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Offline

I stumbled across a resteem on my feed about your post.
In the last two days I have dealt with the topics "complexity" and "quality" and read some scientific contributions. As a balance, I read those of philosophers, historians, systemists and people working on environmental issues.

From the respective perspective of these people and views, there are urgent and important topics that all want to be dealt with and observed.

When I focus on complexity theory and what mathematicians and computer scientists say, I read that ...

The complex interdependencies of computational ecologies violate the traditional requirements for a hierarchical decomposition into technical, industrial, or administrative modules as used in traditional management. Modern technical communication networks are growing open systems which must be used without central control, synchronicity, or consistent data from other agents like machines or humans.
Thus, the dynamic theory of informational and computational ecologies, which incorporates the features of incomplete knowledge and delayed information, will provide well known evolutionary patterns like fixed points, oscillations, or chaos.
Under the conditions of complexity more and more control functions and human activities must be ceded and replaced by artificial intelligent systems. Human responsibility is not abolished, but restricted by collective and nonlinear effects of complex systems which cannot be forecast or controlled in the long run. Thus, we do not promote any kind of biologism or reductionism. But, under the conditions of complexity, it is not enough to have good individual intentions. We have to consider the nonlinear dynamic effects of computer technology, Artificial Life, and Artificial Intelligence for the future of human society.

source: https://scholar.lib.vt.edu/ejournals/SPT/v4n1/pdf/MAINZER.PDF

You're talking about Avoiding Turing completeness and

a self-defining and decidable non-Turing-complete meta-language based on FO[PFP] with PSPACE-complexity that will support an internet of languages; thus enabling the scaling of discussions, consensus, collaboration, and production of knowledge worldwide.

I looked up the definitions, but I can't make sense of them. Can you explain a little more? I am a systemic consultant by profession and have been a supporter of the systemic view of life and interaction of systems.

Do you think that future human communities will no longer be able to cope with the tasks that await us according to the theory of complexity? If I understand it correctly, the conclusion is that we cannot predict the machine-controlled work, i.e. the communication from machine to man and machine to machine.

I had anxieties when reading and I'm afraid of this kind of technology. Do you have an opinion on that?

In any case, I read your article with interest. It's good to see that you give some of your personal thoughts on your decision.

Sort:  

somewhat related (to understand what PSPACE is under finite complexity), interesting vid too :)

Loading...

Thank you @etherpunk for the courtesy & video.
I watched it one time and will watch it again. This guy talks really fast! :)

It's an interesting topic but I want to find out where it relates to the world I live in and how I can make connections.

Awesome video. Thanks for taking me to oatmeal school.

I looked up the definitions, but I can't make sense of them. Can you explain a little more? I am a systemic consultant by profession and have been a supporter of the systemic view of life and interaction of systems.

It's quite a new thing so it's hard to find elsewhere, although the gist of it is actually the Semantic Web by Tim Berners-Lee, but of course, with some somewhat serendipitous twists enabled by a blockchain that stores the rules of the network.

Do you think that future human communities will no longer be able to cope with the tasks that await us according to the theory of complexity? If I understand it correctly, the conclusion is that we cannot predict the machine-controlled work, i.e. the communication from machine to man and machine to machine.

Just avoiding turing-completeness at the metalanguage, in which an internet of languages can be supported with semantics preserved, including turing-complete ones. It's just that this class of language wouldn't be able to enjoy the benefits of decidability and all the other good stuff offered by using FO[PFP].

Btw, Tau is actually not an AI per se, at least not in the form we know in mainstream industries which are mostly essentially statistical-based AIs. Tau is purely logic-based and I have not found it being romanticised in popular novels and such, which is for me, quite a good sign. Will be waiting for the demo hitting by end of this year and see how it pans out. Try to go through the website and blogposts - you'll get more answered by the developer himself :)

Thanks for your feedback.

Though I have troubles to understand your used expressions. Which is either because I am not a native English speaker and/or used to a non technical language. Let's see what I can make out of going to the Tau side and the blog-posts.

Have a good Sunday, Greetings from Hamburg.