Sort:  

I was aware of that part. I was wondering about the potential countless accounts who have voted for a witness, but are no longer active on here. Do their votes continue to count forever?

If that is the case I think there would have to be a better process like something I mentioned above in order to encourage witnesses to continue to win over active users votes. Not allowing them to hold their position because they convinced a newcomer to vote for them 2 years ago right before hat new user gave up and left steemit forever.

Yes, they count forever and one of the issues plaguing witness voting. There are a lot of inactive witnesses that are still voted with a lot of stake and there are a lot of witnesses who gave up on Steem but still get a payday for their witness position.

Got it. I appreciate the explanation!