Sort:  

Well that brings up an interesting point. I see it at the bottom on PeakD and at the top using hive.blog. It illustrates Hive front end is the mediating layer for censorship, and voting done on the blockchain level doesn't censor.

Both apps render trending comments in the same order. The boring comment is at the top in Hive.blog too.. Not sure where you are going with this.. Maybe you need more sleep?

image.png

After asking around, this was the culprit of the comment sorting. I turned the default option off. I think it reinforces the point that front ends can be capable of manipulating content visibility, but the blockchain's censorship resistance remains strong because running a front-end for the network is permissionless.

image.png

I see, ok. Yes, UIs can do whatever they want with the posts and can completely ignore the reward pool if they choose to. This is what 3Speak does and what they are advocating for all Hive sites to do. This, though, pretty much removes one of the main points of the reward pool - Proof of Brain. If posts don't gain traction and aren't curated by the POB process, then what is the rewards process for? At that point it will very much just become a system for people to buy stake and then upvote each other - even more than before - since the actual content itself is essentially bypassed in the process of issuing rewards.

Your assessment here is not taking the nuances into consideration. If you didn't already, you can listen to the (heavily downvoted to zero) discussion I had with the 3Speak team on this, here: https://peakd.com/hive-181335/@ura-soul/jgwxmjtg

Not sure why but I see his comment at the bottom now.
image.png

I haven't noticed PeakD giving original-poster primacy on comment order before but maybe that's what's happening. Or it's something else, I'll inquire.

Giving a bit more thought to where you're coming from, getting downvoted consistently for COVID related posts, I can see that it does feel like economic censorship, removing the financial incentive to post things on the topic. And that's where I think the divide exists between those agreeing and disagreeing with you here. From my POV Hive's anti-censorship is more about not being able to delete content, less about distribution of pending rewards.

Anti-deletion is where a blockchain shines. Posting rewards is a secondary issue on the topic of censorship. You can still post and reach your followers. And there is the ranking of posts that can allow you to have a greater reach for those sorting posts by value, but compared to outright deletion or hiding of posts (or people's token balances for that matter), I don't give that nearly as much weight.

I am actually getting downvoted to zero on most posts, whether they are COVID related or not. To make matters more spicy, we now have a world expert in data analysis posting to Hive who has totally echoed and vindicated what I have been saying all along about the COVID data - he is freaking out that the mainstream have been lying to everyone. It's terrifying to me that the data is so clear and yet the majority have declared it to be a certain shape without even looking at it - it's like being in zombieclownworld. I almost don't want to share his profile because he'll likely get nuked too and he is probably one of the best credentialed people on Hive. Honestly, as a student of history, they has all the hallmarks of purges in totalitarian societies - except it is happening digitally so it's 'not real' and I should 'get over it'.

From my POV Hive's anti-censorship is more about not being able to delete content, less about distribution of pending rewards.

Again, please listen to the 3speak chat where I address this topic, it's easier than me typing the same things out hundreds of times.