Can't Stand Your BOSS?

in #work7 years ago (edited)

It seems like every boss I have ever had has exerted this authoritarian rule over my life. Why is it that some humans think they are better then others? This is life I suppose. One boss I am dealing with seems to like to scream and belittle me when she thinks I do something wrong. This has happened a few times, and its really getting old. She plays a nice roll in front of others but then exerts this "you will do this" mentality all the time. It seems like everytime I turn around she is there. Getting tired. I am really considering taking my own advise and quiting my job. Life really is to short to be living under an oppression. Looking to take the "leap of faith" soon. I just hope I have the courage to follow through.
boss2.jpg

Living overseas doesn't help matters either. Raising 3 children in a culture that is not their own, learning a new language, customs, etc. I sure would like to be living back in the States. I think what is really going on is that the stress load is just to great for me here. A boss that hovers over me sure doesn't help matters.

What are your thoughts? Does anyone have a Boss that they just are having problems with? Good Luck and Hang in their STEEMIANS. Cheers.

Sort:  

I hate my boss,but I love my job....kind of a difficult situation :D

Have a nice chat with your bosses boss. They are only people afterall.

He backs what ever she says. Feel like I'm on my own on this one. Oh well.

Well one technique that worked for me was to visualise having a great relationship with a difficult boss. I spent some time imagining us having a laugh and understanding each other. It seemed to work as our relationship did improve, the difficulties just seemed to sort of fade away. I didn't stay much longer but for the time I was there life was much easier.

That is a tough one indeed. Maybe one day soon your boss will just have to resign. Hopefully. Good Luck.

Lol I only have one boss,seeing that Im working for a small business :P I just ignore their negativity and continue on my own ;)

I've had bad bosses in the past, but mostly they are pretty small and pathetic people outside of their false kingdom. Their only sense of power and control is to 'boss' people around and make life difficult for them.
You are better off moving jobs or becoming self employed. Once you get your freedom you look back on these people and tend to feel sorry for them rather than fear them.

That would be my dream, if anybody want a businness partner here I am. I even speak German :D

It might just happen here on Steemit. Good Luck.

Nice advice. I agree. I love your definitions of the "boss". cheers.

Sometimes unemployment is not that bad :D. Reestemed :D

Thanks drago. I appreciate that. And yes, unemployment gives us some time. I may be there soon? Who knows. Cheers.

I know that feeling of having horrible bosses. I know too the feeling of living outside your country looking out of place in new customs and culture.Lets hope cryptocurrency will give us financial freedom so we never have to answer to anyone ever again.

I like this idea. Crypto could bring us all a bit of freedom. Cheers practicaleric.

I never take shit from bosses, life is too short.
It's too easy nowadays to get trapped into debt and be afraid of losing your job, but taking shit isn't worth any amount of money IMO.
I get for some it's not and option to quit and without another job to go to it's unwise however you're selling your time and you can do that anywhere. Secure another job then tell your boss to fuck right off. I've done it a few times in my life and it feels awesome.

Man, you sound like somebody I would like to hang out with. I admire your boldness.

Ditto buddy. Like I said life is too short for putting up with power hungry egomaniacs in the workplace.

I have worked for some bad bosses. I have also quit many, many jobs. The boss I have right now is extremely generous, and very kind outside of work. But during working hours he can be really tough and overbearing. I suppose that's why I wouldn't make a good supervisor - I'm too nice and don't like giving other people orders (unless it's my kids). Good luck - I would say leave the job.

You sound like me. I'm just to nice and put up with it. I just got back from vacation and dreaded coming back in country. I'm just ready to get back to the States. Thanks for the wisdom.

No matter where you go, there will always be that someone that makes things difficult.
Every job I have had, there was always "that person" that just makes the whole environment toxic.
Some cases you either stand up and stand out or be like the rest of the crowd to blend in,
There's as I always say, pick your battles, thinking the grass is greener on the other side is never the right move, once you put your mind set that you are in control of you, and not let anything or anyone throw you off your game is key.
Once they piss you off you are no longer in control, they are.

Very Wise statement. Especially your last line. I couldn't agree more.

I really like my current boss, but haven't always been so lucky. Sometimes it's not the boss, but other bosses that think they get a sau

You are sure fortunate. Enjoy it. Thanks for the reply.

I haven't always been so fortunate. You have my total sympathy. I believe issues that bosses have with the staff are usually always issues with them themselves, not with their staff. Communication, ego etc. It is really great when you find a boss that recognizes that the reason they should hire you is because you know more than them about something. Hire people smarter than you is good advice.

That is good advice. Maybe one day if I'm ever a boss I'll remember that wise saying. Hire smarter then you. Cheers.

@xuanvo1 thx, i must try it too

I guess we all must "try it" and just quit our jobs.

Thank you. Good Luck.