The disadvantage of being hard-working

in #work6 years ago

20180530_184007.jpg

I've always been taught to be hard-working, not being afraid of challenges, to do my best and aim higher. That's what I've been practicing for my whole life, in school, in upper secondary, in university and at work.

The thing that is bugging me these days is that being hard-working at work often doesn't pay off. By being effective and doing your work well is often rewarded with.....
Tadaddaddddaaaaa..... More work!!!

Somehow it's just how it goes. There is no extra well earned free time, no compensation, no gratitude. And, there are many that use your hard-working by asking for more and more extra favors.

My task on Monday: say no at least once to an extra favor and prolong a coffee break by 5 minutes.

Lindiry

Sort:  

I've noticed that phenomena many times.. annoying.

👍

👍

Good luck with that, I know the feeling. In my case hard work got paid with ... redundancy and sleepless nights!

I'm so sorry to hear that! So wrong.

And then there are people that don't really do that much and still keep their jobs and get paid.

Well, it gives me a chance to reinvent myself, so I'm trying to use it for the best!

I know many who have been in the same situation and decided to climb out of it. They studied, worked on themselves and now they are all successful.

I am going to be the next one you know ;-)

You got a 26.18% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @lindiry!