Trying to move towards a different style

in #work2 years ago

pexels-leah-kelley-952594.jpg

Lately I noticed three things about my writing that I dislike.

The first one is that I talk too much about things other than my main idea. That's because I've been "educated" by the internet to try to write longer articles by filling them with unnecessary sentences / ideas / examples in order to get to 600+ words so that my content can be relevant for an algorithm that often chases long articles.

The second one is that I use too many "filling" words that I don't need. I initially wanted to write the sentence you just read like this: "The second thing that I dislike about my writing style is that I feel like I'm using too many "filling words" that I don't necessarily need".

Same idea, but with a different approach. I write a longer sentence by using words I don't need to describe an idea that I could write about in a shorter way. Why? Because of the same reason as before - to write longer articles. They look good both for those reading them and for the algorithm.

The third one is that I'm spending too much time writing useless words / sentences instead of focusing on the main idea. Since I have little free time nowadays, being in Germany for my job, I should find a way to write good articles without wasting my time writing about what I don't need, especially if it doesn't improve the overall quality of what I create.

All this makes me want to change my writing style, to make it more simplistic, to make it focus more on the main idea and less on the amount of words I use.

It's going to take me a bit to get used to writing less words while saying the same thing, but I'll try to make and active effort. It's also going to be a bit difficult to deal with the feeling that I'm doing something wrong by not focusing on writing long articles.

However, I feel that this change can help me write better content for you. Since that is my goal, I might as wel give this a try and see where I will end up. If it doesn't work the way I'd like it to, I can always go back to the way I always wrote. But if it does, it might help me become a better writer.