Worst job interviews ever...

in #work6 years ago

OK, so in the recent past I have been able to attend a lot of job interviews, and I wanted to share with you steemians what I learned from those experiences.

I have 2 job interview stories to tell... and yes, I should have walked out of those interviews within the first 5 minutes of being there, but i just couldn't resist... I just had to see how things would unfold!

  1. The first job interview was for the position of external sales rep, already walking on ice with that one right?
    well let me tell you what happened: First things first, I applied for the job on one of those job posting websites( which I have come to understand never really work out well) and after a while I got a response saying that I should come in for an interview. So i came in on the appointed day, they asked me to give them a copy of my ID and my bank details.. Yeah.. like I'm going to do that without even having been through the interview.. After saying they would have to wait they gave me a form to fill in.

On this form I had to give them all my details, including the details of 2 random family members who have nothing to do with the interview at all!! And the reason I had to give them those names? because even if I didnt take the job, they would have now got free work from me! yep, they intended to try sell to my family members. And by writing down their info I basically gave that company consent to do so!!

So I finally I got into the interview, and what did I find.. OVER 100 PEOPLE SQUASHED IN A TINY ROOM!! The boss came in and said that he does interviews every week with that many people, and that it was a group interview.. I wonder how many people he could hire out of such a big group?.. well.. It turns out that every week he hired pretty much everyone that came to the interviews, this was quite amazing considering the fact that he advertised a basic of R14000 a month.. How the heck could this company afford to pay that many people that much money? Well they couldn't, It was a bit of a trick really. In order for for you to get the basic you need to make 8 deals in a month. Now in the process of him trying to sell this job to us he gave some startling figures:

Ok so firstly he stated the we can choose either the basic or profit share, he said that pretty much all of his employs take profit share. If you take profit share you get R2000 commission off one deal. He then (in an effort to prove how glorious it would be to work there) boasted that he pays commission every week and that last week he had to pay R200 000 in commission that last week. He also stated that he had 160 active salesman. Now.. I am no expert here, but If everyone is on profit share as he said, and he really did pay out that much commission, Then on average a lot of consultants would have not even got a deal.

So does anyone reach the target of 8 deals a month? no.. And so if someone does choose the basic, they'll probably never get it. That's what happens when you try to sell a R63 000 product to the working class, it never really goes that well.

After doing some more research I found out that their employee retention was ridiculous, as a matter of fact, it doesn't exist. Employees would start and leave the same week. Did this bother the boss? no.. He got people out there promoting his product, and because they didn't get deals, he didn't pay them. That's what I call free marketing. I wasn't even asked any questions the entire interview, I was simply preached to and given the job, just like 80 other people in that group.

Moral of the story.. If someone is attempting to sell a job to you, its probably not a real job.

What was your worst job interview? comment below :D

Stay tuned for part 2 coming soon !!