Give me Hive Five : My FEARS on working ABROAD

in #workabroad3 years ago

They said OFW's are the modern heroes. Indeed, they really contribute to our economy and Filipino families in various ways. I admire OFW's for being strong and for the unimaginable sacrifices they make for their families. I think one really needs hard work and aspiration to pursue this path.

Way back, I used to like the idea of working outside the Philippines. The prospect of a new environment, higher pay, and the experience of a different culture looked promising. It came to a point that I even tried to apply as a fruit picker, a factory worker, and an admin staff abroad but I did not pursue my application.

I changed my mind and here are the Hive Five reasons why I'm hesitant to work outside the Philippines:

Unlimited Responsibilities

If you are earning dollars (or any currency aside from PHP), your family and relatives think that you are already rich. It is instantly implied that it becomes your obligation to give money and satisfy everyone's needs (and wants in some cases). Sometimes they don't know the value of your hard-earned money which I think is unfair.

This is very common among Filipino families. Monthly remittances, Balikbayan boxes full of Pasalubong, Child's or Siblings education, payment for utilities, parents medication needs, almost all kinds of expenses are forced upon the shoulders of the family member working abroad!

received_4636916082998152.webp

Feeling miserable

I don't like the feeling of being alone. I grew up in a house where all of us siblings sleep in one room. The thought of sleeping by myself in a foreign country is frightening. Aside from that, I have this morbid fear of feeling like there's a ghost watching me when I'm alone (sounds creepy) in a room so all lights are turned on even when I'm sleeping. Lastly, sometimes I can't move my entire body except for my fingers when I'm sleeping but my mind is awake. I don't know if it's sleep paralysis. They said it's because of too much stress and fatigue. Living alone in a place far away from home, far from the people I love could stress the hell out of me.

received_893569351551408.webp

Racism Behavior or Discrimination

I don't like to speak more about this issue but violence due to racism is very common in any country nowadays! This is one of my fears of living away from the comfort of my own country, surrounded by the people I care about and cares about me. I think our social responsibility is to spread LOVE, RESPECT and EQUALITY. Also, If you value yourself, don't allow anyone to downgrade you.

received_3109128422678086.webp

Overwork:

I heard that some workers abroad have 2 to 3 jobs daily. Sadly, they are working multiple jobs to support the entire needs of their family. They also need to tend to their own needs and cost of living. OFW's inner strengths and mindset is really amazing and admirable!

Personally, I can't do that for my family. It's like teaching them how to become lazy and rely on another person for their needs. They need to understand that life is hard and earning money is not easy. I will help and provide but to a certain limit only.

Recently, I decided to quit my job. I wanted to reward myself and take a break after supporting the studies of my 3 siblings. My only responsibility now is my parents (since I am single), to keep them healthy and live longer.

My only advice is don't abuse your body. We all deserve to rest. Enjoy the fruits of your labor and keep some money for yourself. Be healthy and pamper yourself. At the end of the day, no one will take care of you but yourself.

received_3152549178351398.webp

Language Barrier

It's really hard to express your thoughts and feelings using another language fluently. Though, sooner it's not going to be an issue anymore :) The important is your english is conversational. I already tried it when I have this Australian colleague who can't speak Tagalog and can only understand just a couple of Tagalog words.

Since the management assigned her to me, I have no choice but to bleed my nose daily (LOL thinking of english words make my nose bleed- this is a PINOY joke). You know, (with Manny Pacquiao's accent) I'm trying my best to converse until I became confident talking to her and making jokes all the time to release our stress in the office. I missed her and my Oz accent (char!)

Anyway, she's kind, generous and my daily food and milk tea provider. I usually ate all of her leftover foods haha! (That's why I gained so much weight). I hope to visit her soon somewhere down there.

received_1097537037449666.webp

To my readers and future followers Please don't get me wrong. This is my personal overview and opinion only. As I've said, OFW's are the best and I salute them for being strong and kind-hearted. Who knows, I might work abroad as well and conquer this :) Goodluck and stay safe, kabayan!

All images are from Canva

received_875206413162512.webp

Sort:  

Ako din eh, takot mag work abroad. Takot nga rin ako mag travel outside of the country. Haha. Mahirap na, baka maligaw sa banyagang bansa. Ligawin pa naman ako. But dahil gusto ni Aya mapunta sa snowy country daw, one of these days, I'll have to face that fear.

I know, hindi mo pa nga napupuntahan ang 7107 ph islands eh, tapos llabas kna ng bansa. Hahaha.

7600 na raw ngayon. Iniba na. Di ka updated. ahahahaha

Hahaha kainis, nkkailan pa lang tayo!

Very relatable. I had plans and made some effort to work abroad too but, fortunately, it didn't happen.

Also, magkaibigan nga kayo ni @romeskie, haha. Welcome to hive!

Aside from that, I have this morbid fear of feeling like there's a ghost watching me when I'm alone (sounds creepy) in a room so all lights are turned on even when I'm sleeping.

Thank you for reading story. Maybe my future is here, not meant to work overseas :)

Ayyy yup super friends kami ni @romeskie. Almost 20 years na nga ata.. haha

Wow, such a long-lasting friendship is worth acknowledging :)
Glad Rome has convinced you to joined Hive.

Pinilit nya lang po ako hehehe @romeskie

Congratulations @mutedgeek! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!