WHY DO YOU WANT TO DIE???!!!

in #writer6 years ago

Why do you want to die?.... you've done well with yourself and you're on a very lucrative career path, why would you forgo that to for a lifetime of taking orders and answering Yes sir!!! Yes sir!!! ...This was the question my Brother's friend asked me when I told him I wanted to join the Military.

Growing up as a kid, I had always wanted to wear the uniform as a law enforcer, I wanted to be cop but then as i grew much older and ready to go to college I decided I was going to be a Naval Officer, I lacked the necessary information and knowledge that would have lead me an a path to the Nigerian Defence Academy, Instead I enrolled into the Maritime Academy to study Marine Engineering, being exposed to the lifestyle of a sailor i could not but be discouraged from joining the military, being in the military is less rewarding financially compared to the fortune one would acquire being a sailor but still yet I'll choose the military over any profession.

slim.jpg
My final year in the academy

So what exactly is my point?

Some of us have dedicated our lives to living for others, we put our lives on the line to protect our country, we feel fulfilled only when we save and protect, that is the life we have chosen. though the ranks of many countries Armed Force are filled with people who see joining the military as an escape from unemployment, believe me some of us are there because it is the only thing we have passion for, our governments should appreciate he sacrifice of the brave ones who have answered the clarion call.

Most war veterans and the families of those who died in action are neglected, this should not be the case as they have sacrificed for their country, the country should forever be grateful and see to their needs, wounded soldiers should be well taken care of and rehabilitated to have a life after their discharge, i assume this is not too much to ask from our Government.

We chose to live for other people

GOD BLESS THE MILITARY
GO-ARMY