The Spine of a Good Book

in #writer8 months ago

I’ve recently started sharing some of my favourite covers from the books in my collection. I don’t have as many books as I once did, but there are still around two thousand, so there are plenty to choose from. But going through making my initial selections prompted another thought. Book spines.

Yep, as well as great covers I have numerous books with fantastically decorated spines. These are all hardbacks and most of them seem to come from the later nineteenth or early twentieth centuries.

Macmillan in particular seemed to put a real effort into producing lovely spines on their books between 1900 and 1920 or thereabouts. I have editions of works by Thomas Hardy and Rudyard Kipling that I could stare at for ages with wonderful Art Nouveau spines. JM Dent is another publisher who produced fab spines and I have a set of Bosworth’s Life of Samuel Johnson with fab Arts and Crafts artwork on their spines.

Since we normally spend more time looking at the spines of our books as they sit on our shelves than we do the covers, ought we not be more concerned about tracking down books with great art work on their spines than on the covers?

Just a thought. Let me know what you think.

www.benwesterham.com

Sort:  

Hi and welcome to HIVE!
I love books and old covers. If I had enough room there was always this dream to have a room only for books.
In another post you wrote you write words in those books? I use an old book as my art journal.

for getting more readers here its good to look at the different communities and post directly in a community you are interested in.

Only take care and read the "communities rules" they are different for each one.

Maybe the Hive Collectors Community by @mipiano would suit to your favorite topic.

Greetings from Austria

Hi and thanks for dropping me a line. As a student in Manchester many moons ago I spent part of a day visiting an ordinary suburban house where the elderly couple kept their collection of historically important books. There were books absolutely everywhere except in the bathroom and the kitchen. I heard many years later they had donated their collection to a library due to the fire risk of keeping the books in the house, but what a beautiful sight all those books were.

Youre welcome 🙂
But thats a lot of dust with books everywhere

Hello.
Welcome to Hive.

To confirm your authorship of the content, could you please add the link to your Hive blog in your Twitter profile:

https://twitter.com/benwesterham

Capture.PNG

You can remove this mention, once we confirm the authorship.

Thank you.

More Info: Introducing Identity/Content Verification Reporting & Lookup

Congratulations @benwesterham! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List