You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can you give me some pointers on how to choose what tags to use?

in #writing6 years ago

Good to meet a WWOOF host! :D
I think I understand your dilemma, yeah. It's tricky. #science maybe? #nature seems to be the most popular, relevant from the ones you posted... if 'biomimicry' isn't a tag already maybe you could start it? Guess I'm not really best qualified to offer advice on good tags yet though, having only been here a couple of weeks and not being au fait with your field yet.
It does sound very interesting though.
Luck.

Sort:  

I created the #biomimicry tag and post regularly. Speaking of which, it is time for me to write up my Biomimicry Inspirations. I have been traveling, so I am a little behind.

#science is a good one, as is #biology at times. I wish the tags were a little more organized. This is why I love #steemstem, because they have really good curation to ensure that what you find there is high quality! #nature is filled with everything, including some really low quality stuff and plagiarism. I thought about helping to curate it, but decided instead to work on the biomimicry tag instead. What I think would be even better would be a nature-inspired or nature-based systems tag that covers things like circular economy, cradle-to-cradle, constructed wetlands, bioutilization, etc. in addition to biomimicry. If I knew there were more people interested in these topics, I would do it, but I have yet to find them.

I guess it's that old 'build it and they will come' thing...and maybe exploring where and how the niche interests intersects with wider interests.

If you've got a load of stuff already tagged as biomimcry, maybe make the first tag nature, then biomimicry just to reach more people whose interests are more likely to intersect?

IDK though, I'm only plankton, just starting to figure it out.

Not checked out steemstem yet, will have a look, cheers.

Good suggestions, thank you!

Saw this and thought it might be up your #biomimicry street...or possibly a neighbour...
https://www.re-growth.org/

Nice! Thank you so much. I love that there are so many new urban greenism projects coming into existence. Our cities don't have to be places of food scarcity and concrete, there is plenty of space for the plant world to co-create these spaces. Community gardens are a great way to fill two basic needs in one location: food and community!