Can you give me some pointers on how to choose what tags to use?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

categories.jpg

How can I tell if a given post is not seen or not good?

Honestly, I often spend more time choosing the tag to use than writing a given posts--and I spend a long time writing my posts!

I think long and hard about the topic of my post and what tags to use, but I often wonder if I am choosing all wrong. With only 5 to choose from, I am never really sure what to use. I usually choose tags that exist based on the subject matter. But the more I look, the more I am starting to thing that others are not using the same criteria I am.

No league or curation support

I am not really a part of any leagues or groups. I know it would probably be better if I did, but I have this mental block on spending my time on Discord, instead preferring to spend my time reading and commenting on individual posts. I have a strong feeling that my decision is not conducive to really growing on Steemit, but until someone sits down with me and really explains all the nitty gritty details about how curation leagues are better, how delegation works, why it is better to give my vote to someone else... I think I will be on my own. (hmm... note to self, does it mean I am getting old that I am being so hard-headed about this?)

Would love to hear suggestions on the best tags to use for my posts which touch on plant intelligence, biomimicry, sustainability, architecture, nature-inspired systems, developing your dream project, ecosystem thinking, urban greenism, human health, connection to nature, and so forth. So far, I have been using things like #dreams #greennews #naturalmedicine #architecture #biomimicry #nature #plants #ecotribe #health #business #earthtribe... are there others that would be better?

Sort:  

Hello @yvesoler, I am also wondering every time when about to publish a new post which tags I should use. I believe it is good to be specific. If you write often about biomimicry, use it for sure. I guess there will be more and more scientists here so it could be very useful for sorting them out. If you write an article which is "forest friendly" you can use our tag #forestfrinedlyfamily. ;) I also use sometimes #conservation. The rest of them you have already named them.

Thanks for the tips! If we keep sharing all our favorites, I think it will make it easier for people to find things.

totally agree with you

I've only been here a fortnight but some of my interests relate to yours. Green News does seem good so far. You might also be interested in #ecotrain. I've also spotted a lot of folk talking about #homesteading, which I don't know much about yet but seems to be an equivalent, 'off griddy', eco-home type of cultcha.

Not sure if there are any on steemit yet, but do you already know about WWOOFING? (Worldwide Opportunities on Organic Farms).

Good luck finding more good tags, I'll look out for your posts.

I follow some #homesteading, and really appreciate what they post, but it is not exactly what I do. I live homesteading when I am home in Damanhur, so I sometimes publish some of the amazing things we have created there and my personal #naturalmedicine recipes. The same would go with WWOOFing. I am responsible for hospitality at my nucleo home at Damanhur, so we often have wwoofers, but again it is not what I personally do.

My posts are either about how to introduce biomimicry into your work or one some new study around plant intelligence or on what I have learned from the plant world in my work or how to integrate nature-inspired systems into cities and development projects. Basically, I focus on what we can learn from the natural world to co-create systems, products, and processes with them. See my dilemma with the tags?

Good to meet a WWOOF host! :D
I think I understand your dilemma, yeah. It's tricky. #science maybe? #nature seems to be the most popular, relevant from the ones you posted... if 'biomimicry' isn't a tag already maybe you could start it? Guess I'm not really best qualified to offer advice on good tags yet though, having only been here a couple of weeks and not being au fait with your field yet.
It does sound very interesting though.
Luck.

I created the #biomimicry tag and post regularly. Speaking of which, it is time for me to write up my Biomimicry Inspirations. I have been traveling, so I am a little behind.

#science is a good one, as is #biology at times. I wish the tags were a little more organized. This is why I love #steemstem, because they have really good curation to ensure that what you find there is high quality! #nature is filled with everything, including some really low quality stuff and plagiarism. I thought about helping to curate it, but decided instead to work on the biomimicry tag instead. What I think would be even better would be a nature-inspired or nature-based systems tag that covers things like circular economy, cradle-to-cradle, constructed wetlands, bioutilization, etc. in addition to biomimicry. If I knew there were more people interested in these topics, I would do it, but I have yet to find them.

I guess it's that old 'build it and they will come' thing...and maybe exploring where and how the niche interests intersects with wider interests.

If you've got a load of stuff already tagged as biomimcry, maybe make the first tag nature, then biomimicry just to reach more people whose interests are more likely to intersect?

IDK though, I'm only plankton, just starting to figure it out.

Not checked out steemstem yet, will have a look, cheers.

Good suggestions, thank you!

Saw this and thought it might be up your #biomimicry street...or possibly a neighbour...
https://www.re-growth.org/

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

With only 5 to chose from, I am never really sure what to use.
It should be to choose instead of to chose.

You are absolutely right! Thank you so much. I will edit it now.

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

With only 5 to chose from, I am never really sure what to use.
It should be to choose instead of to chose.