Mistakes

in #writing2 years ago

The other day I stumbled across an interesting new study published in the journal Daily Scientific Convictions where researchers gathered data from a representative sample of Americans and concluded with a margin of error of merely 0.45% that it would be a mistake to say it’s not a mistake to make the same mistake over and over again. Naturally, as a firm believer in science and a staunch disliker of mistake-making, I immediately accepted their research findings as fact and have been taking great pains to avoid making the mistake of saying making the same mistake over and over again isn't a mistake. I figure if I’m successful in failing to say something that science has clearly shown to be mistaken then logically it follows that I simply can’t fail to succeed at not making that mistake. Of course, success normally requires a bit of effort; one does not simply not say something mistaken without putting in some work to that end in advance. To expect otherwise would be, appropriately enough, a rather silly mistake and a failure just waiting to succeed. Therefore, I will now spend some time practicing not making the mistake of saying it’s not a mistake to make the same mistake over and over again. Lo:

I’ve decided to pitch my tent right here in the same spot I pitched it last time even though I fully understand that this location is exposed to high winds on a regular basis and there’s a reasonably decent chance that this shabby old pile of poles and fabric will attempt to rip itself apart in the storm tonight while I’m trying to sleep in it just like it attempted to last time I camped here in a storm. This is not a mistake.

Well shit. Now here already you can see why practice is so important. Looks like I walked right into that mistake even though I had some of the best scientific minds on my side and clearly should have seen the mistake coming from a hundred yards away in the dark. Well, such is life, I won't let this failure to fail to say something mistaken get me too far down in the dumps. Behold, I try again:

I've purchased this six-pack of Eddyline Crank Yanker IPA tallboys to keep me company as I drive out of town and into the middle of nowhere looking for a suitable campsite to spend the night at even though I know all six will probably be empty by the time I finally give up on finding anything anywhere remotely close to the level of perfection I require for campsites and pass out in the driver seat in some lonely godforsaken gravel turnout I won't recognize when I wake up in the morning. This is not a mistake.

Dagnabbit would you look at that I've done gone and mistaked all over the place again. It's a lot easier to screw this up than I thought. I guess I'll just have to keep practicing. Watch and weep now:

I've determined once again after much careful thought and consideration that instead of saying something witty and intelligent to the cute barista I see at the coffee shop every day I will instead blurt out something extremely strange and potentially insulting like I always accidentally do even though I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that this is not a recommended method for reliably obtaining a cute girl's phone number. This is not a mistake.

Alright now we're talking. I think I pretty much nailed not making a mistake with that last one. After all you can only fail to succeed so many times before you successfully fail to fail, especially if you're a determined hardworking American who firmly believes in science and not making mistakes like I am and do. Now's probably a good time to wrap up this blog and go have a few beers while driving up to the highest, windiest point I can find to pitch my tent. I should probably also take a shower at some point in the near future and shave off all of my facial hair except for the mustache because if I'm not mistaken I'm pretty sure I've got a really hot date this weekend. Lo and behold, watch and weep.


1 equalize.jpeg


2 equalize.jpeg


※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※

⛰ 🏕 🚙 🍻 😘

※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※


3-31-22. Caveat lector.

Sort:  

This is clearly a terrible mistake.

But I'm not yet sure what this is.

I think you're mistaken but if you were shooting for failure then you've succeeded so good job.

Then I've won! Or did I really mean to fail enough? Life's just so hard to mess up at times.

!PIZZA

I'll drink to whatever that means. !BEER


Hey @meesterboom, here is a little bit of BEER from @brandt for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I'll have to come back to this when I'm less deep into a six pack of hard cider pounders, and see if I can follow it better.

Good luck on your date.

Thanks! Good luck following whatever it was I made the mistake of writing today. !PIZZA

So if I'm not an avid believer in the current scientific world, would it then follow that it would not be a mistake to say it is a mistake to make the same mistake over and over again? Did I just say the same exact thing but in a different order?

Speaking of mistakes, my hubs and I may be intentionally planning to make what most sane people would call a mistake. Involving walking away from our house and businesses; or rather riding away on a motorcycle; to live in a very similar fashion to someone I know, involving deliberate homelessness, a couple backpacks, a tent, some notebooks and pens...when-if-probably when this lunatic journey commences, perhaps we will cross paths :0)

Sounds like you've got a really cool mistake adventure planned! Let me know if you ever make Colorado. I'm still living in the woods but also kind of halfheartedly keeping my eyes peeled for an apartment, if something I can actually afford becomes available. Everything is wicked expensive here now.

Did I just say the same exact thing but in a different order?

I think so, but it's hard to tell. Science is so confusing sometimes.

!PIZZA

Deciding whether or not something is the same mistake over and over is a slippery slope. Who knows what the future holds? Maybe the fifth time you repeated the "mistake" it finally turns out not to be a mistake. In which case not having repeated the potential mistake would have been a mistake. What if you decided to repeat the mistake of seeking the perfect spot, but mistakenly ended up at that really windy spot, and repeated your other mistake of camping there and your tent was ripped to shreds by the wind, but then that barista you see every day just happened to be camping nearby and drove by, saw your plight, and because you had repeatedly made the mistake of blurting out something strange you stuck in her memory and therefore she did not think you were a stranger, so she invited you to stay in her tent. All mistakes would have been both repeated, and become non-mistakes.

Happy camping :)

Damn. You make a compelling argument here. I'm going to screenshot your comment and then read the whole thing directly to her next time I order coffee. This is gonna be so good.

!PIZZA

If she says something that sounds like an odd random phrase, that is probably the code word for her colleagues to call the police. Just FYI ;)

Well things didn't go as planned. She laughed at me like I was insane and just said What are you up to tonight? Here's my number so I immediately left and drove into the mountains to hide because the police were obviously already on their way.

a5.jpg

Sir - there is a black cat between you and your ceiling fan which is clearly a mistake.

!PIZZA

Mistakes were made. I told tito to find a nice meme saying that but you've already seen what he did instead.

Wasn't Eddyline Crank Yanker IPA the beer that got you killed last year? Or am I...mistaking it for some other beer.

You are correct. I don't know why I keep making the mistake of drinking it. !BEER

Are you trying to get me killed??

It got me killed but I'm still here ain't I?

Did somebody just say something? Hello? Helllllooo??


Hey @corvidae, here is a little bit of BEER from @brandt for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
brandt tipped dreemit (x1)
brandt tipped paradoxtma (x1)
@brandt(3/5) tipped @coloneljethro (x1)
meesterboom tipped brandt (x1)
brandt tipped ginnyannette (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!