You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #19: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #writing6 years ago

Heart bite

She walked every day on that catwalk covered with stones. Her steps sounded melancholy and I followed her, without knowing it, as if my life depended on it.

It was a simple coincidence.

Ignoring the loneliness of that passage of the square, I walked aimlessly, listening to a voice that did not know where it came from.

At each step, the path was shadowed by the long, loaded branches of the trees. Silence invaded every corner and besides my footsteps on the granite, there was not a single noise.

When I had already traveled a long way, a strange sensation invaded me. A soft song attracted me and I discovered a woman sitting at the foot of a tree. She was a strange woman, almost transparent and when her eyes fell on me I felt that they were squeezing my heart. A very deep pain invaded me and I almost lost my breath. With all the strength I got I looked away and all the pain left me. I ran to the Plaza without looking back.

When I asked what was happening there they answered me: boy, that trail is haunted.