STACH Short Story Contest #19: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Hello Everyone, @kingst here with the announcement for the STACH Short Story Contest #19.


What is a Short Story.

A short story is a story with a fully developed theme but significantly shorter and less elaborate than a novel. It makes use of plot, resonance, and other dynamic components to a far greater degree than is typical of an anecdote. You can read it in less than 90 seconds.


Contest Rules:

•Write a Short Story based on the topic that will be given every week.
•Write an Original Short Story (Plagiarism will be flagged and reported).
•The Story must contain no more than 199 words.
•One entry per user.
•Story should be pasted in the comment section below, no links.
•Contestants are permitted to post their stories in an article on their blog, so they also get upvotes from the @stach trail.


Winners Selection.

Winners will be selected based on the topic, story plot, number of words and delivery as determined by the selected Judge. One word above 199, disqualifies the entry.


Contest Topic.

Write a 199 words story based on THE HAUNTED TRAIL.


PRIZE.

FIVE winners will be selected for a share of the 15SBD. The story with the most interaction gets a 1SBD prize from @ejemai.
First Prize: ----------------------4SBD
Second Prize: ------------------3.5SBD
Third Prize: ---------------------3SBD
Fourth Prize: -------------------2.5SBD
Fifth Prize: ----------------------2SBD

Good luck guys!


Sharpen your writing skills and throw in some inspiring short stories. XO!


STACH is a physical Accelerator Hub dedicated to decentralizing the offline by breaking the barriers to accessing the internet like light, internet and conducive working space.

Steem Accelerator Hub... decentralizing the offline!
follow_STACH.gif
STACH is supported by @Sndbox as a Sndcastle project.Stc.JPG

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Joyce was a good friend of mine who opened a new grocery store by the corner of the town. Overtime this store became very popular and attracted the attention of a lot of customers. Soon bizarre things started happening.

I was a live witness to a few of these events on my second visit to her in Cape Town, South Africa. This kept me curious.

Every morning as she unlocked the shop, the first thing she does is to pick up the fruits and vegetables which have been scattered all over the floor. The oddest thing is that the fruits or vegetables are never bruised or damaged in anyway. If they were, she would never put them back. I personally observed there were no marks on them.

I was fed up with the suspense and thus voiced out my curiosity. Joyce explained that this has been happening for the past six years. She reported a black shadowy shape that hovered inside the shop and usually disappeared at human presence which people observed from the glass windows of the shop during the early hours of the night.

That really got me terrified. "Could that be a ghost trial?" I wondered.

Nice one girl. Are you from South Africa?

Thanks dear. I am not really from South Africa but i visit there from time to time. Why do you ask?

I have intentions of visiting SA soon.

I thought i was the only person who has seen ghosts...lol

hahahaha. actually i didnt see the ghosts myself, but i saw the bizarre works of the ghost(s).

Have you eaten from your friend's store before? How did you feel about the food now that you know the vegetables used in cooking were ghost infested?

You know that feeling where you want to kill yourself but you just cant...lolz. That was what it felt like actually. I felt like vomiting all i have eaten from her shop....but you know nah; it isn't possible.

lol. I know that feeling.

Nice one gurl. I stayed in Cape Town for a couple of years too, though didnt have any ghostly encounters there...lol.

Are you in SA at the moment? Thinking of a solid steemit outreach there in affiliation with @stach.

I am not at the moment. But i wouldn't mind taking a trip for such a great proposal you have there... Lets chat privately on discord for further updates.

Have my few cents @missglory. I wish to be a part of your steemit outreach with @prettyrose. You people should carry me along.

Buch of thanks @mrfelix for your few cents. About the meetup proposition from @prettyrose, we are yet to talk, but if it is going to happen, you shall be carried along. Lets steemit!

The University's hospital

When I was studying engineering, my boyfriend and I stayed late at the faculty because we were presenting the final exams. We had to walk to the bus stop, but to get there we had to pass in front of the morgue of the University's Hospital, we walked talking about the exam when we saw far away that an elderly man dressed in a white coat approached to us, his coat was stained with blood. As he approached, he disappeared. My skin bristled and we were very scared so we decided to run to a place where there was more lighting.

It is said that this road in front of the morgue is haunted and in the night you can see ghostly presences that would scare even the bravest ones. Since then, we never again studied until such late hours at night.

The Dark Cottage

Tom woke up animated, had rented an isolated cabin in the mountains, 3 hours from the nearest town.

When Tom came to town to stock up on food and water, the store manager looked at him strangely, when he told him he would stay at the “Bears” cabin. It had been about 5 years since anyone had rented it, since they had found skinned a couple who had rented it.

Tom listened to the tales of the people, but he paid no attention to him, it was only witches' stories, to scare the children and keep the adults away. Tom was having a great time since he came to the cabin until ...

Tom woke up scared by screams heartbreaking pain, when getting out of bed and open the door he found a trail of blood on the floor, which was heading to the kitchen, Tom followed him and what he saw helo blood a woman skinned, with wide eyes that looked at him imploring the kill.

Tom ran away leaving everything behind him, but the ghost of the woman follows the trail of Tom tormenting him every day ....

Loading...

An old man wearing a long nightshirt would always appear to a little Ryde girl when her family was living in an old small house in Royce Road, once occupied by workers at a nearby hotel.

Tina, now grown up, recalls, "It happened when I was about six or seven. As I was lying in bed, an old man would appear near my wardrobe. It was a child's wardrobe and was probably about four feet in height. The old man, who was misty white colour, appeared to be counting money or dealing cards. The old man never spoke. He didn't seem aware of me at all and I never really saw his face, but I could sense he was friendly and meant no harm."

Elsewhere within same vicinity, Mnady and his wife knew nothing of their daughter's elderly visitor. They did however notice other manifestation which took the form of smells wafting through one particular room.

"We used to get a very sweet smell, like jasmine, which would fill the lounge. It never happened anywhere else and we were at a loss to account for it. It never stopped." "This must definitely be a friendly ghost trail," Mnady concluded.

199 Words

Can deathbed still harbour the spirit of its last occupant? When Dan and Janny brought a bed, in which a relative had died, to their home, it filled the room with what they described as "the smell of death".

Dan, a retired senior technical monitor described the experience as beyond rational explanation. The bed had been lent to Dan's wife, so that her father could be nursed downstairs. Shortly after he died on the bed, they took it back in.

"From then that room smelt of death," Dan said. "Whatever we did, we could not get rid of it. The smell became too bad that my wife, Janny, could not go into the room. We even resorted to taking the bed to another house entirely, but the trail continued"

"I knew it was my dad and would not hurt me, but the smell was oppressive that I even was afraid to stay alone in the house, " Janny confessed.

Janny was fed up! One night she walked upstairs and spoke into the air, "Listen Dad, you are dead, go and rest, we love you and will meet you again. Goodnight Dad, now leave us." That alone saved the situation.

I love your work too. Upvoted! I had a similar experience with my grand father's burial place. Actually he was buried beneath a living room. You can literarily smell death in that room.

Odeyemi continued his journey in search for his love, this time threading softer, unsure of what's next. The night's weather wasn't helpful either. The Fog grew thicker with cold, the bizarre birds' attack left his clothes shredded. His torch fast quenching.

Somewhere from the right, wails rented the air. Odeyemi almost jumped out of his skin. He sneaked to the direction. There he found a man almost his age crouched, crying over a body completely ripped from the torso.

Gruesome! Odeyemi pulled the man away, but as he began to empathize, he suddenly noticed the man had huge fangs. He was the beast!

Odeyemi ran until he got to a path forked. He looked back and found he was no longer chased. On the far left path, an irresistible damsel appeared. Her features volumptous! She beckoned on him. Lust engulfed him. They got to her shed,repugnant, bloody. Unbothered, he undressed hastily. They were both naked, she was on him. He suddenly felt a sharp pain. He looked down and then he saw, she was the beast. In his hot blood, he'd realised, he'd ventured into the hauted trail!

All the best dearie.

I like your story...


The path of shadows

I had never taken this narrow road before, flanked by a thick mountain trying to invade its space, but the constant steps of people do not allow the grass to grow. It’s a long trail of yellow earth, I want to get to the other side, a strange sensation invades my body, I feel as if someone is following me. I turn around to see behind me and I do not see anyone, I accelerate the pace. There is total silence, there’s only the sound that occurs in the ears when nothing causes it outside, white noise. Not even the wind appears in this space that makes it feels more and more unreal.

I hurriedly follow the path, only me and my shadow that I see projected onto the flattened earth, until I suddenly stop at what I’m seeing, another shadow accompanies mine, I look desperate to all sides and I do not see anyone. Horrified, I start to run, I see that the spectrum chases me, I stumble and fall to the ground, I have reached the end of the road.

Heart bite

She walked every day on that catwalk covered with stones. Her steps sounded melancholy and I followed her, without knowing it, as if my life depended on it.

It was a simple coincidence.

Ignoring the loneliness of that passage of the square, I walked aimlessly, listening to a voice that did not know where it came from.

At each step, the path was shadowed by the long, loaded branches of the trees. Silence invaded every corner and besides my footsteps on the granite, there was not a single noise.

When I had already traveled a long way, a strange sensation invaded me. A soft song attracted me and I discovered a woman sitting at the foot of a tree. She was a strange woman, almost transparent and when her eyes fell on me I felt that they were squeezing my heart. A very deep pain invaded me and I almost lost my breath. With all the strength I got I looked away and all the pain left me. I ran to the Plaza without looking back.

When I asked what was happening there they answered me: boy, that trail is haunted.

The owl

When I was a little girl we lived in a small village surrounded by forests. It was midnight, I was walking back home with my mother from my aunt Mirian's house, on a path through the forest. Then, an owl hovered over us, squawking loudly. My mother quickened her pace, she held my hand tightly, and looked down.

− It's just an animal - I said skeptically.

− Don’t look at her! - she answered without raising her head - She is in that tree.

Without paying attention to what my mother said, I looked up and saw her. The woman was dressed in black robes; she was hidden among the treetops. She had her hair so long and black that she was swinging at the mercy of the wind. She had big eyes and a deep look that almost paralyzed me. The woman began to squawk again, it was like a scream that invoked the evils of the night and then, she went flying.

− Lower your head! - ordered my mother− She is hungry.

The haunted trail

Samantha came home late, I was upset she could go out and come at any time, I had to stay locked up, I was arta, something had to do, one day I decided to investigate about witches and santeros, and found a page where my problems were they would solve, one night with black candles, a red cloth and a picture of her, I would make a prayer to exchange papers, my plan went perfectly, the next day I was ready, at last I would party, when I walked through the streets it was something strange all the avenues were the same, without exit, I stop and I see that one of the bloodied walls said "follow the trail", I did not understand what happened but desperate I followed it I wanted to get to the party, I was so eager, I did not notice the road was not only full of blood, this was accompanied by pieces of body parts, when I am a few centimeters from my destination the head was the final point, surprised, was the samantha, my wish was finally fulfilled, she would not be more bothersome and only I would arrive at midnight.

The Path of Mike

Mike Miller left the school on his way home, went with his friends and his dog and decided to go for a walk in the woods. Walking in the woods his friends played a joke on him and left him minutes later and that was the last time they saw Mike. His family reported him as missing, the dog never returned to mike's house and a few days later Mike was found where the tree is, dead. Somebody killed him and left his body in that place. This made his friends feel guilty and they never walked in that place.

Years later, a similar event occurs with Dilan, another boy who disappears in the same forest, but his body never appeared again. This fact is related to mike's since many people claim to have seen their silhouette in the forest. Today, through the forest only sounds like tears and blows are heard and some people hear the barking of a dog but never find one. Everybody believe that the soul of mike can not rest in peace and walks on the paths of the forest.

by @norkamooran

The Hospital Haunt

Nurse Ivy James had a bizarre encounter with the ghost of one of the hospital's old nurses one night. Ivy had gone upstairs to fetch a bed-pan for a patient from the sluice room, but as she took one off the shelf, a hand shot out and grabbed it back. That hand belonged to a nurse dressed in what looked like a late Victorian nurse's uniform.

For a ghost she was surprisingly too strong, and as Ivy yanked the bed-pan away from her again, the phantom nurse pulled it back. It developed into quite a tug of war. "If anyone had come into the sluice then, they would have had the fright of their lives to see a bed pan floating through the air like that," laughed Ivy.

The experience repeated itself around the hospital subsequently and the hospital authorities resorted to relocating the hospital down town. The haunt even became more terrific upon the relocation to the new site; the ghost nurse graduated from dragging bed pans to dragging pharmaceutical drugs from patient's within the hospital premises. Till date, solutions are still being sort for this horrible haunting trail.

My dog ​​tom forever

Stefanny on a Friday night after an exhausting day of work, comes home to rest and watch a movie in the company of some popcorn and her dog tom, when she hears an overwhelming sound that does not let her concentrate, a leak in the bathroom maybe, but the strange thing was that it was not raining, stefanny tries not to pay attention and keeps watching the movie and caressing his pet, after a few minutes the sound was more and more intense, he had no choice but to stand up, for his amazement his dog tom was hanging and the sound he heard were the drops of blood that fell to the ground, he never knew who caressed that night, without caring every night he went to see him and give him food, tom would be his dog forever.

The haunted trail


A few kilometers from the house where I lived in my childhood, there is a land that from the 18th century until the middle of 20th century, was occupied by a small building of Franciscan missionaries. It is said that more than 100 religious lived in that building served as shelter, dispensary and church and as time passed in the backyard a crypt was built to bury those who were dying.
In the middle of the 60's, and before some changes that took place in the Catholic Church, including what was called the theology of liberation, the building was demolished and a beautiful playground full of leafy trees was displayed on the ground, swings, slides and rounds. However, it was striking that there was a space in the back of the park that no child wanted to approach and when he did he cried inconsolably for no apparent reason.

columpio-roto_2139642.jpg

Source


In the mid-1980s, when youth gangs resurfaced, the park became infamous for being the scene of several murders and most of the violent events took place precisely in that space that, due to the bad energy that radiated, was called the haunted trail.

The Haunted Trail

Mrs. Florence lived alone on the bank of the forbidden river and never had any visitors.
She has lived there for about 20years now since her husband passed away.


She rarely talks to anyone but herself, atleast that's what the physical eye sees.

Some say she communicates with her dead husband.

While

some others say she just talks to herself to feel less bored.

Whichever story was true, Phillip was prepared to go see for himself why the old lady lived there and was unharmed still even when the place was forbidden.
Phillip told his best friend Austin who warned him about it reminding him that no one has ever gone there except the old lady.


Mrs. Florence came to the village square to get some stuffs from the market. On her way going back, Phillip followed the trail of the lady's flip-flop without telling Austin so he won't talk him out of it.
The next day Phillip was no where to be found, Phillip's parent asked Austin for the whereabout of their son. After 2 weeks, Phillip's dead body was found on the shores of the river.

THE HAUNTED TRAIL
I woke up to the sound of creepy birds chirping loudly across the window, I had told my roommate that I have a terrible suspicion about this room but she kept saying I worry over little things too much.
Maria and I are corp members that just packed into a room after series of fruitless search for an apartment, I noticed the way the landlady smiled mischievously when we handed her the rent, she hastily grabbed it and said to us " you will surely enjoy it here" but Maria won't just observe anything.
"Wake up!" I shook Maria heavily, she sprang out of the bed and asked what could be the problem. I beckoned on her to keep quiet while we tiptoed to the window "seems I heard a sound here" I whispered gently. Maria gave me the disdain look and made to return to bed. Just then, a hand made a trail of blood on the wall and we all screamed and ran out into the dark. Rumours had it that the room has been haunted by the landlady's late daughter since she was neglected by her mother and left to die in pains in there.

"It haunted the great-grandfather, it haunted the grandfather, it haunted the father, now it's after the son."
Nene had an animated look on her face as she told her story.
"It was a time of war, the kings were to lead their army to war.
As custom demanded, King Jaja couldn't go to war without sacrificing to the God of war. He needed to win the support of his people which seemed to be dying out. To win the favor of the gods he beheaded twenty-one eighteen year old virgins.
The spirit of those virgins had haunted the kings family for generations.
Around the time of their eighteenth birthday, the daughters from that family become possessed by the vengeful spirits of the murdered virgins.
On the day they turn eighteen, they're brutally raped and slit on the throat by an unknown individual. This had happened for generations. No daughter of that family had crossed eighteen. Some have tried to escape by travelling abroad, others have been locked indoors for years, with the hope of surviving above eighteen but they all met the same fate.
It was a haunted trail; from one generation to the next.
Who can stop it?"

Cool story, the sins of the fathers catching up with the children

Vengeance through generations. Wow does that really happen? Nice story though

Sounds scary, children suffering for the sins of their ancestors. Your story ehn

Cool story, I loved it, it was kinda spooky

You're a good writer, really haunted story

The Haunted Trail

I held her hands as we walked through the path. We had fun today, so much fun that she didn't want to leave me just yet so I agreed to walk her home and extend our time together.

Look at this beautiful hibiscus 🌺

Becky, my girlfriend exclaimed as she picked it up.


Due to her love for flowers I knew she wouldn't drop it. As we moved on I was shocked for a moment as she tossed it away but almost immediately, she picked up another hibiscus 🌺.

They must come from somewhere, let's go look for the source

Becky said with excitement.


We were getting out of the path to Becky's home but then I decided to let her have her way since she was really excited about it.

She soon got her hands full with hibiscus 🌺 and was really excited but then strange things started happening:

There was blood all over her hands and gradually, the hibiscus flower 🌺 changed to blood
We started hearing loud voices on the dark path

Just then i realized we followed the Haunted trail we never believed from the legend.

The Haunted Trail

For a while now, after ten in the evening, there were these strange cries that could be heard outside the village, as if children were being gutted. By midnight, the cries sounded as if they were right outside our windows. No one knew who was crying.
A shaman resided outside the village so I went to fetch her. All plea that we leave before dark fell on deaf ears. We ended up leaving when it was dark.
I was on tenterhooks.
In less than twenty minutes, the cries started. Bringing out talismans, she muttered something, and as if on cue, wraiths attacked her. Not waiting to see the aftermath, I took to my heels. Not long after, the cries replaced her screams. I was alone, and in enemy territory.
The village was a couple of minutes away. Chancing a glance backward, I could make out their outline, as they chased me.
Using adrenaline, I barely made it past the village boundary with them close behind but they could not cross over till midnight. The entire trail was covered in their shadows as they cried.
Never again am I taking that path!

THE HAUNTED TRAIL

Ola and Ade were very good friend. They share things in common and also they keep each other secrets. I tell you their friendship was beyond the one of a close brother.

In the land of Aiye-De, it was forbidden to go to the farm every last Friday of the month. Who ever is guilty of this will have to face great consequences and the wrath of the gods or sacrifice will be carried to apeace the gods of the land.

Such day by the villagers believe the god of harvest do make a visit to their farm and bless their hand work by giving them good harvest in return. Ola as a teenager has ask his mom several time the story or misery behind the day but he was unable to get a story that will satisfy his hunger, so one day he decided to visit the farm on the day that the god do visit them.

Ola told Ade about his plan, which Ade tried to stop him, but ola has made up his mind and on that faithful day he visited the farm but he was unable to see any god. Ola return and told Ade it was all lies there are know gods who they believed do visit their farm

Ola began to have mysterious nightmare day after day seeing different creatures chasing after him in the dream. Ola could know longer hold it, but eventually told his mom about what he has done.

The Beautifull Haunted Trail

maxresdefault.jpg
Fuente

It was a familiar walk through the countryside, where there were beautiful landscapes formed by lakes, flowers and a beautiful inn where they will surely stay. The place seemed calm and there was a lot of peace, therefore, the family will enjoys it. Children will start playing, tell their dads than they will go around to see the place, they happy ones and enchanted by the beautiful trail that they had just found and they saw a beautiful house at the end and tell: It's an inn, let's go in! Surprise for them, there was nobody in the place, when suddenly all the doors and windows closed with them inside, trying to escape, they felt very afraid for not being able to leave the place, until one of the brothers in hole went to give, he call others to escape, run fast to tell their parent that happened in that place, the owner of the inn where he stayed, he heard and laughed incessantly, saying to the parents than this is the only inn that exists in the place, but every children imagine terrible story this of that beautiful trail that they have to visit.

THE HAUNTED TRAIL

Long time ago, in the land of kutuje lives an ancient story about the agbada. Agbada is one of the dreaded masquerade in the land of kutuje, because of the great and mysterious charm and magic the masquerade do perform.

Due to the power and authority this masquerade command, know body is allowed to look at it or else such a person will began to have Agbada as a visitor in his house. This law was applicable to both the indigen and visitors of that land. The town-cryer will have to made announcement about a week to the time this masquerade is about to come out to get everyone inform.

Anytime this masquerade is out all commercial activities is suspended and including farming. Everyone will be inside with his or her family.

One faithful day, Chuwku traveled to the town for a long period of time and was returning back to his village. Unfortunately for his the village was in "curfew" of Agbada. He was returning late in the night.

At the junction of the market square, he began to hear the sound of the song of agbada. He was afraid and immediately find a place to hide himself. The was able to arrived at his house that night but that started the misery of his life. Chuwku began to experience different appearing of masquerade in his house and every he goes until the right ritual was been carried out.

The Haunted Trail

Terasi, a lady who lived all her childhood days in a cave located in a forest was one day saw and helped by a hunter.

The hunter felt so sorry and had compassion on her by taking her out of the cave to live among the people of his own community.

To the hunter, he thought he was helping but not knowing he is making the biggest mistake of his life because terasi is not a human being but a vampire. She is just covering her body with human flesh.

The hunter introduced her to everyone in the community and they all welcomed her with peace and love including all the small children.

There are many counts of pregnant women in the community but unknowingly to them all that they are the main target of the vampire.

Terasi takes pleasure in killing and sucking pregnant women's blood because they have the power to produce offsprings. So this gives terasi more power and strength to live longer.

Every morning, five corpses of pregnant women was recorded daily. People wail, cry and mourn daily until a day that a man of God visited the community and chased her out after vision.

Finally, this time I'm catching the new contest at the right moment!

THE HAUNTED TRAIL

OwsS2WT.gif

In the year of 1990 a couple lover of the nature, was on excursion in the Amazonian forest of Venezuela, with his backpack and his store of camping.

In their long journey they decided to take a dark path with courage because they wanted to live the adventure under the light of the moon.

A gust of wind whipped them and when the man got up and looked for his flashlight, he noticed that his girlfriend had disappeared.

Scared he began to run as fast as he could fleeing, he felt that he was being chased and listened paranormal voices that ended in echoes. The road seemed to have no end.

Unfortunately that thing caught him, he was losing consciousness because something was feeding on him so he quickly reacted and as he could he ran away bleeding out again for his life until he reached the town in the middle of the darkness.

His girlfriend never appeared and he unfortunately was no longer the same, red eyes plus hallucinations disturbed him.

It was never known of his existence and since then nobody has dared to walk down that haunted trail becoming this story in a legend.

@dldb1604

James has being on the road for about 4 hours or there about.. All he he really wanted was to go home so bad but this was a new town and it had this ghastly feeling about it. It was 10:00 pm or there about and everywhere he seemed to turn he felt as though a malevolent force followed. 11:30 pm on this road and there was still no sign of anyonenone at all but that feeling... The feeling of haunted eyes watching him, a lingering presence an unseen evil.. Prying, stalking, waiting for the right time to pounce... Like a wild beast waits patiently for its prey.. Taking the most detailed time and effort to prepare for the kill... Suddenly he heard a rustle from behind the bushes.. Unable to take bear the fear and suspense he takes off.. Picking the pace and not dearing to look back for the fear of affirming his suspicion.. The rustling increases to heavy thumps.. Thumps increasing the pace followed by the most terrifying howls and shadowy winged figures..
From out of the shadows a dark winged figure jumps out and pounces on poor James.. Screaming and wailing James wakes up from this frightening dream..
HHAAA What a relief it was all just a dream.. But wait.. Where am I?? Where is this?? Oh no!! This is trail..

The Haunted Trail

“I was shown in a vision a group of witches that hang on our fencing wall,” Chi reported to his Daddy that early morning. “How did you identify what you saw as witches? Perhaps you were experiencing nightmares from tropical malaria attack” the father clarified in low tone loaded with humour. “No Daddy, it was not malaria dreams,” Chi insisted. “The ugly masculine figures with fiery terrifying red eyes were impressed in my mind as witches that have come to attack the family.”

Within few weeks, Chi’s youngest sister became sick with constant fever. All medications that were arranged proved abortive; no treatment was effective. Before long the matter worsened and the need to consult a medical doctor became obvious. This dying baby-Ebube-was quickly taken to the hospital where it was discovered that all blood in her body mysteriously dried up. Urgent blood transfusion was recommended. A pint of blood from the father was quickly administered to her which saved the situation. Later Chi’s revelation was confirmed. A team of demons and witches roamed about in the household with an ugly intention to eliminate life. Grace of God sufficed and the wicked satanic enterprise was averted.

Mmama was a mother of three. Her last baby was just a few months old about the time a ghostly disturbance triggered in her house. Before now she never believed in ghosts or any other form of haunted trails.

Mmama was so terrified by a jealous ghost's obsession with her baby that she turned to the church for help in getting her lovely home rid of this undesirable torment. With a heavy heart she explains to the vicar: "we moved into this house towards the harmattan period precisely and we loved it here at first until on the Christmas Eve that the haunting began. I woke up to find that my baby girl, Chioma, had been removed from her crib and was lying at the bottom of our bed, on my foot. Neither myself nor the father had touched her before this event. This was impossible!"

Mmama was literarily shivering in terror as she narrated her ordeal. Still overwhelmed by the torror, she asked: "do ghosts exist?"

"Yes" the vicar replied. He added, "Fear not the terrors of the night, for the Lord is with you". He went to her home, prayed and blessed it and the haunting ended.

(199 Words)

Bruce stood over the hurriedly covered grave, sweat beaded his brow. The deed was done. He reached for the handkerchief in his breast pocket. He paused for a moment to consider the bloodstains on his cloth, before wiping his brow.
The grave digger took one last look around before turning back the way he had come into the deserted hikers trail. His footsteps hammered loudly into the silence of the forest as he surged on through the forest path.
“Bruuuuce…”
He stiffened. The night was silent, the malevolent tone was evident.
“I will get you Bruuuuuce”
This time he saw her apparition, with blood pouring out of her throat through the place where he had slashed her.
A wave of panic hit Bruce really hard. His heart jumped in his throat, he bolted, hardly feeling his legs as he ran. She was coming for him…

Years after, a lot of local hunters and trail hikers have reported hearing eerie screams of the name “Bruce” ringing through the trail coupled with a few sightings of a spirit woman bleeding from the throat, moving swiftly through the woods. A few of these testifiers went back in to “investigate” and never returned.

Loading...

The secret of the Sierra´s mountain

The mountains of Sierra de Perija in Venezuela (Zulia state) are beautiful but they hide the secret of a ghost that does not rest. The spirit of Rose Blade was trapped in this place after he died tragically while practicing a jump to emptiness.

Rosa was a girl who loved extreme sports, she liked to defy human laws and her passion for vacuum jumps made her make amazing turns. The sport of rose was to jump from a fairly high point of any of the mountain of the place, fall freely and finally open their parachutes to get safely to land, or not. But the young woman died while performing a feat, fell near a waterfall and died instantly.

The mountains of this Sierra contain many amazing history, and from each of them there is a legend. This place is visited by many hikers and tourists; many of them claim to have seen the silhouette of a woman behind the water of the waterfall. On cooler nights, rituals of witchcraft are practiced at specific points of the mountains. Here, are many stories to tell.

by williamjose

I like your story ma'am..... I do...

Haunted trail

Who would ever believe Stanley would end up with a girl like Beth. Gorgeous, intelligent, amazing damsel.
Back at school, she was given the award of the best graduating student.
Stanley on the other hand was a good definition of "a loser". He was fat, clumsy, so not presentable.
Stanley had this low self esteem and always said "Beth likes making all the decisions".
They wanted to get a house and in order to get rid of the fights Beth allowed Stanley to make all the decisions, choose the location and all. Stanley felt like a man for once. He bought the new house and was very happy to show it to his lovely wife.
On a beautiful Saturday he asked Beth to accompany him to the place, she did. While they were going, Beth noticed the house was deserted, she complained but Stanley asked her not to worry. They entered the house and immediately they noticed a weird movement, Beth screamed and Stanley held her tight.
Just before Beth would understand what was happening, a shadow dragged Stanley into the basement she shouted, and ran away but the shadow never stopped haunting her.

The visit to the picturesque church of St. Andrew at Owerri, Imo State turned into a bizarre story for me and my sister Mary. As we wandered through the churchyard with its grey withered tombstones and ancient headstones, we noticed a small group of mourners standing at a newly-dug grave.

Funerals are a common sight in the churchyard, however there was nothing ordinary about this one. First, the mourners were grieving over what happened centuries ago as I tried to eavesdrop into their conversation. More so, the mourners, standing with their heads bowed at the graveside were all dressed in clothing more appropriate to the 1800s. Stranger still, as we entered the church itself, I felt time somehow slipping. It was a weird sensation; I was aware of the interior of the church changing as I stood there. Things seemed to move; the decorations on the wall altered; and I noticed the figure of a priest in long white robes standing at the altar. It was as if someone stepped back in time. I thought I was hallucinating until my sister Mary confirmed having similar sensation.

We were terrified, hurried outside again; THE MOURNERS HAD VANISHED… we ran!

THE HUNTED TRAIL
In the bid for a new beginning Lolita made her way to another city because she has realised there has to be a change in her life but not in this town called Nobil. She got herself a new job, new look and a new wardrobe because now there is a breadth of fresh air in Suntown. Her life picked up gradually as she made new friends. Every time she would be asked out by different guys of notable reputation. She became certain that Suntown was meant for her to forget the past. Jenk was the favourite of all the dates she had had in recent times and they became close and decided to get married. Lolita was so excited that at last she would settle down. Jenk was so in love with Lolita, he was glad to have found a soul mate. Then Jenk came home one day wearing a red T-shirt and it began "the hunted trail" of her past when she was raped by an unknown person wearing that same colour and type of t-shirt. She had vowed to take revenge on that person and now the opportunity has come after waiting in vain in Nobil for a year.

grim-reaper-656083_1920.jpg

       **The Haunted Trail**

We stole into the orchard in the dead of the night; three SS1 one boys looking for a decent mango tree to feast on.
A few minutes through the wet grass that littered the ground, we found the perfect tree.
Abdullahi made a quick stride up the tree
"Wait, I will do the plucking", he said, still meandering up with the help of nothing but the moonlight.

The first fruit fell, then the second and some more; before we heard a large thud.
Abdullahi lay motionless on the floor as it appeared he had landed on his head.
As we tried to get to him, something whisked him away into the bush at the end of the orchard.

Banzo shrieked and gripped my hand tightly. He struggled to speak and when I turned to him, I saw an old looking creature behind him, with scraggly hands over Banzo's mouth.
Before I could reach to help, he snatched him and left with the wind.

I raced back to the dorm, and I nearly fainted when I opened the door only to meet abdullahi and Banzo disembowelling Kabiu our roommate.

Nothing seemed right from there on. Nothing at all.

Haunted Trail

Moving from one place to another is something I so enjoy. I dnt understand why my parents always complained. My mom would start off by saying its so stressful and would want to point out the fact that she'd miss her friends.
Dad did the required and we were ready to move. I was the happiest person on earth at the moment.
Before evening we were done packing our stuff and were headed for our new house.
Who would believe that my dad with all his level of education and exposure would buy a house that has been abandoned for years.
My dad got off the car and asked us to start moving the things into the house. We moved everything, arranged and were almost settled.
Later that night, my mom was doing the dishes when she heard strange sounds from the yard. She was scared but decided to go check it out. She got there saw an old woman crawling. Immediately she screamed and ran into the house. She ran to my dad, told him and we left the house. While we were leaving, I noticed a little girl following us. I never stopped seeing that girl.

THE HAUNTED TRAIL
Blood was all over the living room!
Burex sat close to my dad's corpse and did not even wave his tail at me.
What could be the cause?

As I battled with my tears and the hope of wishing daddy would come back, The police were over the compound and I felt relieved and safe a bit but they wouldn't come in.
Instead they sounded out their trumpet, "Miss Doven! The police are here, come out with your hands above your head, any attempt to escape or cause harm will attract gunshot! "

Then I knew the case was different, I've been framed!
How could the police possibly think I'd murder my own dad?

As they repeatedly sounded that warning, I knew I had to make a fast decision! There was no-one I could rely on for hundred percent commitment without supervision and I could neither supervise from the police cell!
The back door was open, I could find my way out through the fence before they knew it.

As I escaped, Burex was over me like a guard and we ran never looking back, so I decided to haunt the murderer of my Father!

Ngozi otobo, a beautiful young maiden fell in love with nosa and got married to him. Unknown to Ngozi, nosa was a married man with 4kids which he left back there in Benin in search of a greener pasture in Lagos where he met Ngozi. Nosa's wife queen heard about nosa getting married to an igbo woman and decided to come down to Lagos with here 4 children just to make Ngozi's life hell. Queen is a witch and she did all she could to kill nosa and Ngozi's. She also vowed to make the lives of Ngozi's children living hell for them. Queen killed her 5th child Ivie as a sacrifice to destroy Ngozi and her children . She did charms to kill nosa first by dropping a poison in front of his room for him to match and die but unfortunately Ngozi stepped on the charms and fell ill and eventually died.upon ngozi's death, Nosa's took it upon himself to protect himself and ngozi's children by all means possible from queen his first wife They would always fast and pray. A profecy came from a pastor that queen was responsible for the death of Ngozi and that queen is planning to kill two of ngozi's children too. After series of prayers all the evil queen planned was destroyed and she fell ill too and died. The children of queen decided to kill Nosa their father because they believe he killed their mother queen. Another profecy came through a man of God that osawese queen's eldest soon wants to take the life of his father Nosa within a period of 2months after the burial of their mother queen. The battle to save the life of Nosa and ngozi's children is still on.
IMG-20180203-WA0012.jpg
Queen will be buried next week and the countdown begins to two months..............

The princess of ulu ulu atama

The day my dad finds out about us, is the day our misery begin. but for now, i'd rather we appreciate the fact that fortune has smiled on us. I'd rather die in your arms than anywhere else, said Princess ulu.

Now The worse had happened, everyone was at a stand still, awaiting the kings reaction, princess ulu thinks all hell will break lose, her father "The king" had just discovered here secret romance. But to everyone's surprise, he cant seem to hide the joy he feels inside. what are you waiting for!!! said the king, Get a date for the wedding.

Its the D day, the long awaited moment, everyone in the kingdom had gathered for the long awaited ceremony. The gunmaker had prepared a special gun as a gift for the king, which is to be tested at the wedding ceremony.

Now everybody is seated, hopes are high, the king is standing with the gun, to make his first shot. In a slit second, there is silence everywhere, the king had pulled the trigger, only for him to miss and the bullet went directly to the belly of his only daughter.

Ready when you are.

Thanks for the opportunity.... You are the best

Interesting, time to grab my pen, I must leave a haunted trail on my paper tonite. Let's go there

Wao
M already warming up

Interesting article, thanks for sharing

Such a good contest..Just got me excited for a write up.

Is this contest for only Nigerians or it is open to anyone?

Wow this is brilliant

Thanks @stach
M in already

There are 3 pages
Pages