Downgrated in jobs, but gained so much energy!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

So, inspired by a recent post of @dragonslayer109 about journals, and following my post of 3 months ago about my stressfull job as a callcenter supervisor, I would like to write about what happened next.

It all started when I became so stressed out I needed days off from work. One week was enough to rest, think about life and gain some new energy. However, when I started again, it seemed like I´ve had no days off at all. My stresslevel rised to the level it was before I took days off, within a few hours. That´s when I knew. This job is going to kill me.

I spoke to colleagues, my boyfriend and eventually my manager. We spoke about options and my manager promised to help me find a different job within the company.
Of course, there was always the possibility of going back to being an agent. At first this idea sounded ridiculous to me. Having to deal with angry and unreasonable customers all day... I had already done this for a year, before I became a supervisor. I was so happy I didn´t have to do that anymore. And now, they asked me to voluntarily go back to that? No, thank you!
We started to look for administrative jobs, because that is what I´m actually schooled in. Unfortunately, there weren´t many openings at that time.

Weeks went by, and I slowly began to loose my mind. The migraines came back, and I was cracky towards my boyfriend. Something needed to change, and quickly!
Luckily, my holidays were already planned and we flew home for 2,5 weeks. On the first day of my holidays my manager called. She told me she found a perfect opportunaty for me. It was an agent job, but in a really quiet project. I would have to advise customers rather than handle complaints. I would be the only one for my language and I would have lots of free time. I spoke about it with family and friends at home. Eventually, I only saw the benefits it would bring me. A fixed schedule, the opportunaty to write, read, or do whatever I wanted during work. And if I didn´t like it, I could always ask for a transfer. Why not try it?

Now, I´m in the 3rd week of my new function as an agent in a new project. During the training of 2 weeks, I already noticed that the environment is way more relaxed than the other projects I´ve seen whitin the company. We may take our time to help a customer, quality over quantity. And even then I have lots of spare time.

I can play games, learn Portuguese, read books, read your posts on Steemit, write or even trade in cryptocurrency´s! Everything I used to want to do after work, but never had the energy for, I can now do during work. Now, when I come home from work, I don´t feel like I `have´ to do anything. I have more energy. I even started cooking and working out again, which gives me even more energy. I am happy again!

sometimes-you-have_1452342282.jpg

Sort:  

Nederlandse, jou ga ik volgen. Ik ben op speurtocht naar Nederlanders ;)

Congratulations @bynatasja! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congrats on your new position and thanks for following me! :)

Nedersteemers volgt je en ik zou je graag terug zien in de Lions Legion ;)