[Habits][Day 10] Happy Valentines Day! Discipline Your Children!

in #writing6 years ago

“The fundamental moral question is now hot to shelter children completely from misadventure and failure, so they never experience any fear or pain, but how to maximize their learning so that useful knowledge may be gained with minimal cost.” - Jordan Peterson

You Hear Me. Discipline Your Children.


Because that’s still the chapter for today’s reading! Haha! 

How have everyone’s valentines been – good?  

On my end I didn’t even remember it was valentines. 

In fact, the only notable day this week is a birthday and Chinese New Year.

There’s just been nobody out there to share valentines with. But that’s alright. 

Good things come with time if I continue to improve myself. 

I’m sure if you continue to improve yourself you can do the same, dear reader. 

Hot tip: Do all your habits in the morning. I’m tired. I don’t want to have caffeine right before bed, but I don’t want to compromise the quality of my work. 

Hot, hot tip: I didn’t have any caffeine.

Stats


Habit: Reading

Date: 14/02/2018

Currently Reading: 12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos

Previously Read: N/A

Pages Read Today (Minimum 10): 15

BOTD

Source

It’s still about making sure your children don’t do anything to make them be disliked. 

Like my previous post, I’ll just be going over the quotes I found interesting and relate them to similar experiences. 

I would say that this post is a shorter read, but on average most of my posts end up being around about 1,000 words.

Chapter 5: Do Not Let Your Children Do Anything That Makes You Dislike Them

Discipline and Punish


“Negative emotions, for all their unpleasantness, protect us. We feel hurt and scared and ashamed and disgusted, so we can avoid damage.” 

This reminds me of another book that I read – I believe it was Emotional Intelligence – that relayed a story of a man who had brain surgery and had a certain part of his brain removed. It was dangerous for him with the absence of emotion. 

Not only that, but there is the story of people who do not feel any pain at all. Even if they don’t feel pain they are still dealing damage to their body. 

We have pain receptors to indicate what is dangerous to our body and when it is time to stop; the more uncomfortable, the worse off it is. 

“We feel more negative about a loss of a given size than we feel good about the same-sized gain. Pain is more potent than pleasure, and anxiety more than hope.”

Just like having a significant loss in your portfolio. Yeah, we may have a certain stock or coin go up by 350%, but that happens all the time! Not this sudden dip by 50%!

“If a child has not been taught to behave properly by the age of four, it will forever be difficult for him or her to make friends. The research literature is quite clear on this. This matters, because peers are the primary source of socialization after the age of four.” 

I believe this is because of how education may be structured-? Correct me if I’m wrong. Because that is around about the time kindergarten starts. 

Not only that but typically speech impediments usually occur around this time. 

The longer it takes for a child to speak the more concerning it is - ? 

You can see how uninformed I am on this topic. 

“Here’s a straightforward initial idea: rules should not be multiplied beyond necessity. Alternatively stated, bad laws drive out respect for good laws. This is the ethical – even legal – equivalent of Occam’s razor, […] the simplest possible hypothesis is preferable. So, don’t encumber children – or their disciplinarians – with too many rules. That path leads to frustration.” 

When I first started out my journey to FI;RE, which was in October 2017, I thought to myself what type of budget and rules should I have? It was difficult. I didn’t know how much I’d be earning, nor did I know how much I’d be spending. 

What were my monthly purchases? What do I have to set aside each week? 

It was too much time and effort to put through a structured, detailed plan. 

So I said to myself, ‘With every pay check I will set aside 50% towards my FI;RE goal.’  

Now I just do it and I’m happy. If I have any major changes, I will make them accordingly, but what I have at my current age and set up is fine.

“You can discipline your children, or you can turn that responsibility over to the harsh, uncaring judgemental world.”


You can keep your work, which you have spent so much time and effort on, or you can post it on any public platform to feel the harsh, uncaring judgmental world.

It reminds me of that meme in regards to watermarks and crediting the proper creators.

“This is my work.”

“Nope. It’s mine now.”

Ah. The frustrations of the creative life, with blatant rip-offs and cheap logo services which can be bought for $5 a pop off at fiverr.

You think that’s cheap content? Look at this! Another day is done!

Thanks for joining this ride! I hope you’ve enjoyed it thus far. 

Tell me what you think of the book at its current stage! What are your thoughts on the quotes given and questions raised?

And don’t forget to follow if you’d like to see more updates and thoughts from me,

C8!

Feel free to check out the day before! Click here!