Finding Motivation and Inspiration. Favorite Quotes and Words I Live By.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Today, I wanted to share something with you thats been very important to me:

..Words I ACTIVELY live by..

This is my very personal stash of motivation. A place I regularly turn to find some genuine inspiration.
These are quotes that I have collected over many years:
Scrambling to write them down whenever I hear something that touches me. Frantically jotting what words I can remember (often illegibly) onto some crumpled up napkin.. eventually shoved into a pocket or cupholder.. only to later find its way into the washing machine or mistaken for a piece of trash… These are the quotes that have made it to a computer. (I'm still working on properly crediting the original authors).

...I hope you are able to find some of the same motivation... 

People will forget what you said and forget what you did, but they will never forget how you made them feel. - Maya Angelo 
Whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you are right- Henry Ford
If you have to tell people you are, then you aren't
Use all your talents.  The woods would be a very silent place if no birds sang except those that sang best
Nothing will ever be attempted if all possible objections must be overcome first
Experience is something you don't get until after you need it
Confidence is silent insecurities are loud
Know; that you wouldn't have a desire to do something if you didn't have the ability to fulfill it. 
Doubt kills more dreams than failure ever will 
The only people whom you should try to get even with are those who have helped you -John E Southard
True humility is not thinking less of yourself. It is thinking of yourself less.― C.S. Lewis
Information is not knowledge - Einstein 
Wisdom is not the product of schooling but of the lifelong attempt to acquire it – Albert Einstein
Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all – Aristotle
It takes courage to open doors and wisdom to close them
Don't live the same year 75 times and call that a life
Even if your on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there  
You are NOT the sum of all your worst decisions 
You were born an original.  Don't die a copy 
Sometimes it's best to wear slippers, instead of trying to carpet the world 
If you use others as a vehicle to go through life, you cannot possibly go faster or further than you can convince them to take you
Purpose, like happiness, isn't static. It can be equally as fleeting. 
Sometimes you will never know the value of moment until it becomes a memory.
How you do the small things is how you do everything 
You are not required to set yourself on fire to keep other people warm.
Serenity is not freedom from the storm. Serenity is finding peace amidst the storm. 
Intelligence without ambition is a bird without wings – Salvador Dali
In order to be irreplaceable one must always be different - Coco Chanel
You can never be overdressed or over educated – Oscar Wilde
Be stubborn about your goals and be flexible with your methods
20 years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than the things you did do
A year from now you may wish you had started today
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future
Don't wish it were easier.  Wish you were better 
We either make ourselves miserable or we make ourselves strong the amount of work is the same - Carlos castenada 
A negative mind will never give you a positive life
Do what is right not what is easy
Be careful with your words once they are said they can only be forgiven not forgotten
Try being informed instead of just opinionated
Never argue with a fool onlookers may not be able to tell the difference – Mark Twain
I'm thankful for my struggle because without it I wouldn't have stumbled across my strength-Alex Elle
Surround yourself with the dreamers and the doers, the believers and the fighters. But most of all surround yourself with those who see greatness within you, even when you don't see it in yourself
Let your faith be bigger than your fear
Two roads diverged in a wood and I took the one less traveled by and that has made all the difference – Robert Frost
Whatever the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve – Napoleon house
You miss 100% of the shots you don't take – Wayne Gretzky
Babe Ruth had the most strikeouts AND the most homeruns
Sometimes I'm terrified of my heart; of it's constant hunger for whatever it is that it wants. The way it stops and starts -Edgar Allan Poe 
Do no harm (but take no shit)
When I was five years old my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school they ask me what I wanted to be when I grow up. I wrote down happy. They told me I didn't understand the assignment, and I told them they didn't understand life – John Lennon
How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard – Winnie the Pooh
Rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life – JK Rowling
When looking at a dandelion; some people see a weed, some see a wish
Embrace the glorious mess that you are – Elizabeth Gilbert
Progress NOT perfection
The word listen contains the same letters of the word silent – Alfred Brendel
The bravest thing I ever did was continuing my life when I wanted to die – Juliette Lewis
I'm in love with cities I've never been to and people I've never met
Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion – Muhamed Ali
If you can't explain it to a six-year-old then you don't understand it yourself – Albert Einstein
Find More Of My Photography @ChristieMacD or ChristieMac.com
Sort:  

You have a talent, btw it's that you?
nice :)

It is me! Thanks ;)

Great source of inspiration, thanks for sharing! Run your own race of happiness :D
Have a great day Christie!

Thank you! I hope you have a wonderful and productive day!

Congratulations @christiemac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @christiemac! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @christiemac! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!