Improve your Writing (Integrating Quotations)

in #writing7 years ago

Using quotations and paraphrasing, in your writing is a great way to make your statement stronger. They give you more credibility in your writing. Just make sure that you don't use to much as this will kill the tone in your writing.


Image credit

It is extremely important to know how and when to use quotations in your writing, this can lead to a well balanced paper with that evidence you need to support your argument or statement.

When to use Quotations

We using a quotation to support an argument or statement. This gives you authority over whatever you are stating or arguing about in your paper. Make sure they come from a well known place or a highly creditable place.

Do not use a quotation if you are able to state it better in your own words. Paraphrasing or not using the quote at all would be a better option. Make sure to introduce your quotation, there are many different phrases you can use to do this.

Start by introducing the quotation, Tim says... remember that the verb must be in the present tense when introducing the quotation. When quoting directly you must have "quotation marks" around the quotation.

Example:

“Where I Lived, and What I Lived for,” Henry David Thoreau states a purpose: ”I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”

The original source is stated, and the quotation is clear to the reader who is reading it. When stating a direct quote from a person, never state just their first name. Both names must be included.


Image credit

When stating from a site which has no author, state the source just like you would state and article form a newspaper or a magazine. We always state things in the present tense as writing never dies and is considered always there. Meaning that each time you read something it is new. When you quote a historical fact this is the only time you would use the past tense.

A great idea, when quoting, is to summarise or explain the meaning. This gives the reader your understanding and well the reader wants to read your writing so don't just quote.

Never make your reader feel and look like this:

Image credit

A 1 to 3 ratio is a great way to keep yourself in check. 1 of course being the quotation (in line), 3 being your own writing(in lines). This does not mean that your paper is one third quotation, but rather for each line you quote you need to write three lines of writing to explain the quote or show its meaning in your writing.

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing pushups and situps for the amount of $$$ I earn on this post and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. This will be split in half pushups, half situps. As promised I will be doing 54 pushups and 54 situps. Any not done will carry onto the next day.

Sort:  

I can learn more here

Following🐠

came to this post expecting something about "integrating questions"... freudian reading or so

but maybe that's a good lead for another topic?!

Hahaha thank you and yes I am sure there will be a lesson on that.

Great post...learned much...upvoted

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it

You welcome ::)

Cool. More spelling lessons please! haha

I need spelling lessons myself... Thank goodness for word edit

Nice post friend :)
I post a tiny topic related quote on almost every blog post i upload.
Cheers on the good post :)

Cheers and good luck to you too

I'm new in Steemit.
My English writing is really bad.
Wish I can improve it here.
Thanks for your sharing.
It's really useful.

hope you found this one useful :)

Good lessons to improve writing skills!

"You can learn a lot of cool stuff from me", dragonslayer109 said.

Remember the verb must be present tense so it would be : dragonslayer109 says, "You can learn a lot of cool stuff from me"

but that would mean you say it now, not that you said it a few hours back.

It is because you are quoting it from text so if that person had to read the quote for the first time it is as if I had said it again right now. Try not confuse it with direct and indirect speech as that is a different concept to quoting.

Nice read! Great tips for a fellow writer :)

Very good post. Watching and learning!

Great tips! Thanks for sharing.

hopefully useful posts

Cool cool!
Love it!
Truly and really.

Good! Doesn't seem like this is still taught in school. Looking at your $$$, you are going to be very fit very fast.

No, I am going to die X_X

I like this series! This whole series of writing improvement articles is fantastic, and it helps me as well.

I had a chuckle at the thought of having an article that is literally 1/3 quotes.

Hahaha yes that would be a pretty funny article to read. I have read one like that recently and well I stopped after the first page.

Your voting @ gtk610 article is a junk article.
He is receiving a high compensation for less than 2 minutes.
You do not have to watch the Korean community anymore.
The Korean community is loud with your boarding. @ Gtk610 The writings of this person are really bad. Know it.

@Iamkorearaper I don't like negativity on steemit. Firstly people may do as they wish as this is a free platform, so how can any of us judge others writing as junk. There are many people on this platform who like different things, junk to you might not be junk to others .