Improve your Writing (Revision)

in #writing7 years ago

Whenever you have written something always go back and go through it again. A great way to do this is sleeping on it. When your mind has a time to rest and is fresh it becomes a lot easier to go back and go through the paper.


Image credit

When revising the paper make sure that all the main ideas and structure are perfect. Revising your paper is not like proofreading, here you are not looking at grammar or punctuation, but rather the whole picture. You may want to change some ideas and even a few paragraphs, or even add a few things here and there.


Image credit

When going through the paper, make sure that you are looking for anything that is off topic and does not support your thesis, remove or change these things. You would also want to check if everything is logically in order and that it is all supportive of the main idea.

Check all your transitions you have used in and between paragraphs. Correcting these things will help the reader understand your writing as well as make your writing look more professional.

Make sure to check your language in your paper as well as the information. For example; if you are writing an article on honey for a heath industry you will use different jargon and language compared to writhing a children's story about honey.

Go through your tone and other use of information to check if they match up with your audience. Also make sure that this also captures your reader.

When going through your thesis check that it is well described and supported by your main idea and all your information within your paragraphs.


Image credit

In your conclusion, makes sure that it closes your topic, main idea and your thesis. Some writing requires a few this left hanging and a few loose ends. Make sure that you try to tie up all loose string where possible; most topics that you will write about will require this and you will be able to do this.

A great way to check all these things is by using an outline. Just like you would use and outline to organise your work you can use it to check your work. This is a great idea as you get a summarised view of all your work and then you will be able to see where certain things are lacking. You can now quickly change it on your outline and then in your writing.


Image credit

This is how I felt these past few days and thus I have implemented a few changes.

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing pushups, situps and squats for the amount of $$$ (ratio;$2:1) I earn on this post and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. This will be split in equally between all 3. Any not done will carry onto the next day.

Sort:  

Great post as always man. Liked it :)

Great post as always.. I think most people have their own unique writing style but the key points that you put out are very important to keep..
Cheers for the effort of writing this and much love from me
-Goldie

I agree with your comment @Vangelov . However, @dragonslayer109 posts went further in educating the lost mind in ways to be a better writter. Following you guys for more.

I used postcards for key points when revising and then stuck them all over my home

For revision and revisiting works sometimes I might also go out for a walk or tidy up around house to clear my mind. Revisiting the work with a clear mind can be very effective in landing the piece of work to what it needs to accomplish.

Whatever it is that helps you clear your mind is great, cooking can be a thing I do to clear my mind. As long as your mind is fresh then it is all good.

Nice write up. Will keep this tricks in mind for my next essays. I've also come tot the conclusion that reading books also enhances your vocabulary and writing style in general. Thanks for this post!

That is very true. Reading works wonders for a person.

Pending exercise is appearing like bounty to me!!!!

Revise, revise, revise. That is one of the great mantas you need to recite before, during, and after you write.

Although, I am guilty of multiple counts of not following this. But sometimes, it's good to remind yourself.

Up'd and RS'd.

Sometimes you just feel lazy and don't revise.

And that alone can kill what otherwise could be a great piece of writing.

I really botched a story I re-posted not long back and didn't realize it. I wrote the story in first person and present tense. For the re-post I had to change it to third person and past tense. I did it once through in a hurry to get it out. I failed miserably and all because of maybe one or two words.

Also, have fun doing three hundred squats.

hahahah I have also done so before. So I feel your pain. Well at least its not 300 only about 100.

Excellent Post on Writing ....Writing is a medium of human communication that represents language and emotion...!!!!

Thank you for the tips! Keep up the good work!

Merci pour ton post .
Il est vraiment intéressant et compréhensible ☺

Great post, @dragonslayer109! I took some important info from this article.
Thank you for sharing!

Thats a great piece of advice ...thank you keep posting like this

thank you on the post i have problems writing and uploading pictures when i post they look small :)
Nice post

I use url uploads so I don't know how to help you with this sorry.

Nice advice man. Really helpful

Thanks you so much for the tips, really helpful for new blogger like me.
Upvoted!

Thank you and good luck for all your future posts.

Informative!
Thanks for sharing this @dragonslayer109

Followed ... and pls do stay in touch.

Thanks for this great advice :)
I guess you will have to do a lot of pushups, situps and squats over the next days ;)

Yes I have a lot to catch up.

This is helpful & inspirational!

I'm terrible at writing so this advice will be extremely useful.
Thanks dragonslayer!

Your advice, ever so valuable. Thanks for sharing, upvoted!

I used your tips and really made a good difference in my earnings
I don't know how can I thank you

I am glad they are helpful.

thank you

Great post always great to get tips from the best

Ohh so than you did this post some time ago , you slept and now you post :P

Many of my posts I have done before, or at least had all the thoughts set out :)

And corrected ........... hehe if i do this will never finish corections :)

Nuffink rong wif mi ritin. Shuff of.

Amazing!

As english is not my first language, I'm always a bit afraid to write something.

I do go back and read what I wrote, mainly to check grammar mistakes.
I know it's not perfect but one thing I've learned, the more I practice the best I will be.
As well I'm always okay when people correct me =)

In the meantime Sorry for any mistakes =)

Yes keep writing, practice makes perfect and the more you write the better you get at it.

This is a well thought out and very helpful post. Thank you for the tips, I'll admit sometimes I get a little too excited about Steemit and click post before really checking my comment or story for errors. It's a sad truth that kids born from the late 1980s on have been served a disadvantage by leaning on a crutch called spellcheck, myself included. But there is hope with advice like this where new Steemians looking to succeed on the platform will find posts like this and learn to post higher quality content themselves, also myself included. I appreciate the post, good luck with the new workout plans, I know you'll be doing a lot but I believe in you.

I was born in the 1990's. I don't know what I would do without spellcheck as my spelling is horrifying.

then you understand exactly what I mean! I am the same way, and I never did good in spelling class in elementary anyway.. even before spellcheck.

It's amazing writ up bro good luck

Great post and very helpful. Thank you:)

great advice ! Will try to apply and improve my blogs . Thank you

good content and i like the intentional error to keep us amused too ;)

Always quality over quantity, nice post. Check out my profile maybe? I'm a newbie and post the most interesting science out there

Well even with your tips, everytime i try to write something with my english, I am almost about:

Hahaha lovely gif

Good tips! Thank you :)

nice post!!!

wow amazing...! i like your Photography and content keep posting stuff like this i followed and upvoted your post and please also upvote and
follow me @wicky because i also have informative posts you will love that,, thanks

logo.jpg

Recommend carrying your writing around with you like a little baby. Put a printed version in your backpack, fold a copy in your purse, and/or set it down in the passengers seat beside you in the car. But, let me tell you why. You'll notice that when you take a break from the writing, put it aside and free your mind that you'll begin to hear and see ideas to add to your paper. You'll hear things on the radio, people talking, phrases and ideas that you may use later. Jot them down and add them in later. Writing is very much like putting a puzzle together. Pulling pieces from here-n-there to make your masterpiece.

I generally have a little note book to put ideas in as they come to me. Often I get a great idea and I tell myself that I will remember it, but if I don't write it down I forget about it.

Excellent, smart, wise idea. Our brains can't remember everything.

Nice writing tips!, i still have a lot to learn!

I think hard work all the time so keep goind on this way you are going to be rich

Have you turned into Superman yet?

Felt about the importance of Organic Structure. Thanks @dragonslayer109. Voted&followed you. :D

Every other person has his own unique writing style and techniques to make his writing interesting. But yeah revision does play an important role in writing.
Thanks for the article though.

Thank you for the info appreciate it.

Great Article, especially the yellow picture, which is 100% True.

Even if your grammar or English isn't that good you can succeed with enough heart, effort and dedication!

You've touched on many of the different types of editing here. I recently wrote a post about them that you might be interested in -- https://steemit.com/writing/@redhens/writing-grit-types-of-editing

If writers follow the tips you've shared here, it'll make a big difference to the quality of their work. Thanks for sharing! I'm always interested in reading what other writers have to say about the craft. 🙂

Congratulations @dragonslayer109
You took 44 place in my Top 100 of posts