Top Tips Thursday (Storytelling)

in #writing7 years ago

The tips I am about to give you will help you create a story that will capture your reader. You will also have a general layout to use.


Image credit

Today's topic: Storytelling

Today's tips are:

To write any good story you will need a few tools. I have read through many different article/lessons on how to write a good story. I have put many of these things to practice and I discovered that some work better than others.

Tip 1: Give the reader something to relate to. This is best done right at the beginning of a book. One of my favourite this is place, setting up and describing a place where both the reader and the characters can relate to.


Image credit

Tips 2: Problem, life is full of problems, so why can't your story also have a problem. This works really well as the reader can relate again to something you are talking about.


Image credit

Tip 3: Now that we have a problem we need a solution to this problem. The best way to put this solution into your story is progress. Progress is where you start with the problem and slowly introduce the solutions to the problem.


Image credit

Tip 4: Climax, there is nothing more important in a story than the climax. If you have a bad climax in your story it destroys it all, no matter how good all the characters are developed or your plot or story line. But make sure that you end your story really well.


Image credit

Tip 5: Tie it all up. Linking everything together is a great idea, it helps your reader not get lost while reading your story. It also makes tying up all the lose ends a lot easier at the end of your story. Never leave any lose ends dangling at the end of any story.

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing pushups, situps and squats for the amount of $$$ (ratio;$1:1) I earn on this post and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. This will be split in equally between all 3. Any not done will carry onto the next day.

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Nice writeup man!! Reminds me of the good old English lessons in school :) The hamburger principle - bun, meat, then bun again :)
Nice to see you using the #teamsouthafrica banner and tag - yeah!!! :D

I really love the banner :)

Glad you like it man!! Fly that flag proudly :)

Nice tips @dragonslayer109. Thanks for this tips.
I have an unfinished problem, but I will follow some who post tips that can fix my problem. thank you @dragonslayer109

I like this post, and I will resteem this post.

@dragonslayer109
Very helpful 👌
Thank you👍
Upvoted

Great suggestions for storytelling..thank you! Upvoted and resteemed!

Great tips! I have a hard time writing.

Thank you for sharing with us! I hope you enjoy the upvote!

Problems or Conflict is key in driving the story forwards!

How are those pushups, situps and squats doing? You must be an iron man now!

The muscles are there, but I also love food. So I can lift things and do things I was never able to. Will need to do some swimming training soon as summer starts ;)

Ah you have summer ahead! Ours is ending. This morning some geese flew over my house and I felt a bit sad. But hey ho. Good to have the muscle! I am hitting the gym a bit more these days, it makes you feel good!

Interesting tips

They are some basic ones, I could do some more tips in depth if needed?

What a great tip. I think now i can be a better storywriter. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for sharing such valuable tips

Hi friends all follow and vote is the post I have. @ Votesteem
I like post.

Very good!

Very helpful, thanks for sharing sir.

Really helpfull post for everyone, specially for the newbies like me. Keep on providing such good stuff.
Thanks for sharing. Please visit my blog

Those tips will come in handy, just starting my blog :) Have a nice day my friend

@dragonslayer109 thank you so much for these tips! Just wrote everything down so I won't forget it when I'm going to write a story. Really....thank you for sharing this :D
Have a great day!

Glad you are going to use them :)

hi my friend
UPVOTED.
very good.
I would be happy if you like to follow me and give your opinion about my posts.
Thanks

And I try not to take someone else's thoughts for advice. My heart is the most important adviser for me.

nice tips!

Good tips , a lot can benefit from .

Ft He defender of my cause, i salute you. This tips from you are so correct. I have bee finding it very difficult making up stories. These tips will be a saviour. I will put them to good use. Thanks for sharing

Thanks. Very useful.

Thanks for the tips. very good.

Educative dear, Please kindly join us we explore STEEMIT AFRICA on https://www.facebook.com/groups/steemitafrica/

This is absolutely amazing! You did a great job with exploring the tips and tricks. Thank you for sharing!

Thanks for this @dragonslayer109 . Nice tips to write but it's not that easy. Specially if you want to give the best that you could write. It's helpful for me , I'll have myself remember this tips.

Nice one. I have also been trying to follow such principles in my storytelling. Tip 1 and 4 are the steps that sometimes seem shaky.

I wrote a story last night and would like your opinion. If you can https://steemit.com/story/@lordmok/sankofa-creative-competition-how-the-tortoise-lost-his-hair

Good tips on storytelling. You really sound like a literature person. You terms remind me of High school.

Thank you, great advice!
All ingenious is simple.

People so often forget such a simple outline because they want to over complicate it. I love this! Simple and relatable is so key. 🔑 Thanks for the reminder!

I am a writer also. You hit the nail on the head on each tip. Thanks.

Nice tips, thank you for sharing them, I am not great at writing stories, this might help me.

That was really helpful! :)

Run as you may! You cannot escape...the Almighty Bunghole!

Thanks for this. I was wondering if you could do one for characterization.

Thank you for your tips.i am so interested in story telling.

Wow ! That was insightful

You are right. These are some very good tips. We all have to take them into account

Thanks for printing the article I live the Africa title it was the first thing to grab me. And your instructions are so clear even a 2yr old can follow. Very informative. And easy to follow.

Great storytelling tips here! I use something similar in my work telling stories for nonprofits: Connection, Character, Conflict, Resolution, and Call to Action. I'll put sharing some of these as things to apply in further stories. Thanks for this article!

@dragonslayer109 Thanx for a very nice post, man! Just keep 'em coming! Following... ;-)