Soothing

in #writing7 years ago


It hurts.

That’s all I can say. Or rather, that’s all I can whimper. It hurts.

I lie back, stretching my legs on the fresh linen sheet that covers my bed. My baked nectarine flesh radiates sunburnt fever that blazes through its coolness in an instant.

He squeezes the gel in a line from the top of my ankle to just below my knee. Cold. Very cold. I like it.

Gentle fingers spread the balm with a delicate touch. My nerves send alerts up my shins, rapid-fire cries of alarming distress, but I clench my teeth together and dismiss them. The aloe needs time to penetrate. To heal.

Once finished, he kisses my forehead and turns off the light before leaving. Cricket songs join with the breeze through my window, carrying the promise of dusk that will temper the day.


Inspired by the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Sunburn provided by the lovely @mariannewest!




@IsleofWrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics


Sort:  
Loading...

We used to have an aloe plant when I was growing up. I loved it. Thanks for the memories. Of that and sunburns. 😁

You are very welcome.

It's a wonderful plant!

Here is to your pens and feels, cheers! :)

Well that's the prettiest way I've ever heard a sunburn described! Great use of emphasis on how cold the gel is and how you liked it! Thanks for another sweet story Ellievallie!

Thank you so much, I nearly felt the cold myself when I wrote it!

I have been there!! Aloe to the rescue!!

So much beauty in a single post! 💚

That was a very good Freewrite, it had that loving personal touch that makes a reader want to say "aww, how sweet!" 👍

Lips of time tell a beautiful rhyme, Rhyme which flows with the waves of the sublime,Sublime which spills gently from the eyes of emotion,Emotion which is fully affected
by high & low tides of the teary ocean @ellievallie god bless

Hey ellie i like your writing style and your this post with a beautiful picture of aloevera and its white gel is really helpful and i have also used it when I was in tracking with my friends , its heals the pain very fast and your post on nature life is very helpful , thanks alot

Thank you!

I'm happy you like both the writing and the plant!

i just clicked on your post and was about to write the comment about soothing my mind and later realised your title is same @ellievallie

Because it is soothing!

Today your prompts are being delivered by a young, spindly legged Gerenuk who has recently moved to the town of Freewrite. (We handed him the bag, told him it was tradition that each new resident upheld, then went to luau!)

Freewrite Day 129 - Fingernail

Delivery accepted, young Gerenuk!

Wow likes your post .. happy reading it .. really amazing ... thanks for sharing on a good day.
I like to read every post you .. I also learn a lot about steemit from every post you. Whether it's writing or photos. Thank you steemians ..
It's an honor for me if you visit my blog..
@imranpase

good post, thanks for sharing, keep it up....

You now that you can increase you payouts fast just using BOTs?

Learn how here! / https://steewit.com/utopian-io/@yabapmatt/steem-bot-tracker-send-bids-directly-from-the-site