Short Reflections 2 - Shapeshifting Shamans

in #writing6 years ago

At 18, probably like most, I was a fabulous mess.

Probably unlike most, though, my guidance counselor from middle school and I used to hang out. He was an old hippy who'd gone to Standford in the sixties. He would read tarot cards, and I would pretend to be really deep and spiritual and angsty. Le sigh....

Anyways, towards the end of high school my former guidance counselor started telling me about how he'd been going to shamanic ceremonies in Hawaii, and drinking this tea called Ayahuasca that healed you and stuff. He also told me how the shaman was a shapeshifter, and whistled during the ceremony. So of course, I wanted to try it - having no idea of course that ayahuasca is a psychotropic.

The shaman was having another ceremony in southern Oregon soon, and I decided to go with monsieur former guidance counselor. There was a special diet beforehand, and a few older spiritual-type people about, and me, some young, dumb kid who really had no idea what was about to happen. And like an atomic bomb to my consciousness, the ceremony began.

Needless to say, I was totally unprepared: I saw visions of angels incorporating with humans, watched this shaman shift into a wolf and stick his tongue out at me, and a whole universe of beautiful, f*cked up, greatness. I purged darkness and sorrow, saw cool googly eyed alien type things, and had a profound, grand ole time.

I had needed the experience in a way I hadn't even anticipated and didn't understand for quite awhile; the experience showed me unequivocally that there was something, some deeper reality, other than myself.

20170706_125053.jpg

Sort:  

This is very interesting, please feel free to keep sharing your experiences...

cool googly eyed alien type things

heh... oh man... I am seeing those everywhere :)

Don't even need shrooms are anything like it.

Jokes aside, I have to admit, I am deeply curious about an Ayahuasca experience... not sure if I'm ready for that on the other hand. There's so much to explore about ourselves and the universe on so many levels, not sure if it's a good idea to go right to the "core".

I can't imagine ever being ready for Ayahuasca, but it helped push my life down a road I barely knew was there, and was ultimately very healing. I ended up doing three sessions all together within a year or so, but the next two weren't anything like the first. The subsequent sessions were almost normal, surface level; it took me years to understand why - I hadn't really understood the lessons from the first. It probably took me four years before I kinda got what had happened that first night.

Yeah, those kind of "messages" do need to sink in I guess.

I had an incredibly intense acid trip once, probably somebody slipped when applying the sugarcube... well, I'm not going to get into the details but the experience stuck with me for years before it started making sense and could have its effect. Some unspeakable truth that did teach me a lot about my relationship with myself...

but ayahusaca ... I dunno ... somehow feels like i'll have to do that one day many years down the road.