F*ck That Sh*t! Go After It With a Stick!

in #writing7 years ago

Talking this morning with the Mrs about what exactly is holding me back from posting more on Steemit. I know I have a lot to say, and write about, I’ve said and written loads of interesting shit in the past, I’m damn sure of it. I’ve even got the hardcopy of lots of it.

But there’s the trouble right there - my expectation. I feel like I’ve got to live up to those earlier achievements. But Steem is a blank canvas, no one knows me here, or knows of the other things I’ve done. It’s only me who is waiting, arms folded, for me to do something good.

No one else gives a crap.

Yeah, okay, so I’m talking about getting over myself and getting to work. We can all spend time doing other things waiting for inspiration, but as Jack London once said, “You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a stick.”

Jack London wrote White Fang, in case you didn't know.

So. Here I am. Stick in hand, as it were. :-)

Do I actually have anything interesting to say? Well, looking at my feed it seems that I’m the only person in the world having this problem, but anyway…. Here is my interesting contribution for the day:

Fuck that shit.

I mean, what is the point of worrying so much about whether your next post is going to be any good or be approved by people or whatever, if it means you don’t post at all?

What is the point of trying to work out something really important that you could say in advance of saying it, but then never actually saying anything because you are too busy ‘honing’ it, or whatever it is you are doing instead of posting.

Clearly, Steem is about posting worthwhile content, so it is up to us to put some effort into what we post, some thought, but ultimately the important thing is that we post. I know what I respond to in other people’s posts, it’s that honesty, that bravery, that self-awareness that everyone possesses but not everyone has fully come to terms with - I include myself in this last category.

The bottom line is that there is a hideous monster that will devour all our dreams before they are even born, if we let it. It is the demon of self-doubt, but it is also the demon of pride, it's the demon of whatever you let get in your way. It's yourself, and it's a phantom.

Take a good swing at it and it disappears in smoke, leaving you with the pearl of great price, the princess by your side and a loyal genie capable of transporting you back home before you can say, "It was all in my mind".

Anyways, there it is. I will write something funny next time, perhaps. For now, thank you kindly for bearing with me whilst I work out what the hell it is I have to offer this community and get on with offering it. :-)

Sort:  

Hey man, I look forward to seeing more of your writing - the writing community is pretty cool here - apart from the random fucktards with auto-generated comments. I also just started putting my stuff out and have gotten some great responses - so fucking gun it my friend, nothing to lose :)

Gun it? You got it buddy. Thanks for the encouragement. Very timely and appreciated. All the best to you. :-)

Post some of your thoughts on reality, consciousness and nanobots ;)

Okay. I'll see what I can rustle up. :-)